We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfect and Peaceful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karoo View Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Karoo View Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect and Peaceful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Such a lovely place to stay! lovely location & beautiful village. The service from Richard & Julie was fantastic, they went completely out of their way to help make our stay perfect. The kitchen's are also very well equipped, all the pots, pans and tools that you need to cook up a storm each evening! Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LIZZIEB268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    14
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
43
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Our stay could not have been nicer...

Very helpful with restaurants nearby failing which because it was a Sunday afternoon and things may not have been open they offered, as was promoted, in their in room guide that the guest were welcome to their vegetable patch.

The property had all of the amenities you would expect and more...much much more.

Beautiful views, kind owner and lovely staff. Great stay, worth a few days.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

we dediced to overnight at karoo view, 1 night only, although we were advised to stay 2, what a shame we did not listen! still in the "dorp" but feels like farm, you look onto the mountains and can here the quietness of the "platteland" we had a fire burning as it was cold, we had an oil fin heater, electric blankets, white linen, fully stocked kitchen, very nice little garden that leads along a path to a splash pool for summer, a definate visit and please listen to the owner and stay 2 nights!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yvettealbertse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Me and my friends stayed here for 2 nights from the 27th untill the 29th of April and have really enjoyed our stay.
The owners are very friendly and place is beautiful, very nicely decorated great showers and the best view ever.
Would defenitly recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itsliesbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

Five Star accommodation, and Five Star treatment from the owners. Suites are spacious and contain everything you need for a very comfortable stay. Splash pool and BBQ facilities available - shared by all four suites - which we couldn't use because of bad weather.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Time_Traveller061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prince Albert
12.2 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Karoo Lodge
Karoo Lodge
#4 of 20 in Prince Albert
4.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
#1 of 20 in Prince Albert
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mai's Guest Lodge
Mai's Guest Lodge
#2 of 20 in Prince Albert
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prince Albert Country Stay
Prince Albert Country Stay
#3 of 20 in Prince Albert
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Saxe-Coburg Lodge
Saxe-Coburg Lodge
#6 of 20 in Prince Albert
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karoo View Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karoo View Cottages

Property: Karoo View Cottages
Address: Magrieta Prinsloo Road, Prince Albert 6930, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Prince Albert
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Prince Albert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Karoo View Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious 4 star & superior AA self-catering accommodation at Karoo View Cottages married with all your “home from home" comforts, including health breakfast provisions, free unlimited wifi in public areas, air-conditioners, fireplaces, pools & braai areas, overlook the village of Prince Albert 350m away, with magnificent views of the Swartberg & Karoo plains. Are you dreaming of wide open vistas, spectacular views, peace & tranquility, sun rises, sun sets & clear starry nights, birding, nature, cycling or hiking? If so, Julie & Richard would like to invite you to share & experience their dream which they live every day in the quaint Karoo village of Prince Albert in the Great Karoo. "In the middle of nowhere, close to everywhere." Karoo View Cottages: Kanon No 1, Ferox No 2, Krans No 3 & Striata No 4. Safe, secure parking at your private entrance allows for easy access before you step inside your spacious 72sqm modern open-plan Karoo cottage comprising double volume reed ceilings, Karoo log fireplace, air conditioner, mozzie net, including all your “home from home” comforts. Spacious en-suite bathrooms, large fully equipped kitchens & private entrance. Relax & unwind after your travels with a sun downer on your private stoep or in our stone boma & plunge pool, which is fully stocked for braaing, whilst watching the awesome light changing as the moon rises up over the Swartberg Mountains. We provide lots of “value adds” including, complimentary Bed & Breakfast health supplies, fresh milk from our local dairy, firewood, blitz & daily servicing with loads more. Listen for the call of owls before dawn and wake to the chatter of birds as the sun shows her face & lights up the Robert Gordon Koppie. As the dawn awakens, draw back your curtains, & what a sight to behold awaits you – like no other in our village, your very own unique Karoo View & enjoy your health breakfast supplies before you begin your day. All 4 Cottage kitchens are fully equipped including 4 plate gas hob with electric oven, microwave, large fridge with ample freezer capacity as well as the following for your comfort & convenience: 3 Cereals including home baked muesli & rusks, nescafe coffee, plunger coffee grounds, 5 roses & rooibos tea, white, brown sugar & sweeteners. Fresh milk from our local dairy & filtered water, all of which are replenished daily. Salt, pepper, spray n cook, paper serviettes, paper towel, toothpicks, dish washing detergent, swabs & T towels. Open plan Sleeping, Lounge & Dining areas are spacious with comfortable seating for 6 people including flat screen TV with DSTV & all sports channels. Additional Single EL beds, Std double bed sleeper couch or baby cot & linen are available, including extra pillows, blankets & knee rugs. The following are also supplied in each cottage: 100% Cotton percale bedlinen, bath sheets & hand towels, dressing gowns, mozzie net, mozzie Lotion, Spray & Bathroom Emergency Pack, Olive Shampoo, Conditioner, All in 1 Wash, Liquid Hand Wash, Bath Crystals, Hand & Body Lotion, Room & Linen Mist & Olive Soap. Hair dryer, Loads of Coat hangers. Emergency Lamps, Lanterns, Candles & Lighter, as well as Electronic Safe. During winter electric blankets, basket of firewood, firelighters/blitz & kindling are supplied. Two Cottages have double inter-leading doors providing convenience for families & friends sharing. Additional, safe off street parking is available for trailers, motor bikes, mountain bikes and caravans with plug-in facilities. Boma is equipped with everything you need including 3 private braai areas: Braai Grids, Tongs & lighters, Firewood, Firelighters/blitz & kindling, all of which are replenished daily, as well as ample seating & table, great for bigger groups, including Umbrellas & Pool Lounger, you need only bring swimming towels or ask as we can also supply these. Use of Washing machine, detergent, portable line, iron, iron board & cloths pegs are supplied & Laundry Service available during Low Season. Use of DVD player, Library of beautiful Karoo books & games. Veggie and Herb Organic Tunnel where you are welcome to pick your own salad greens with our compliments, however is season dependent. Welcome His and Hers Gift - Welcome Refreshment - Information Brochure packs. Two cottages are wheelchair friendly with level & easy access from car to inside, large roll in shower with grab rails, fold down seat & hand held shower, grab rails & trigger shower next to the toilet & ramp onto front stoep. We will welcome you for 1 night or more, children welcome & pets by prior arrangement and we offer you free unlimited WiFi, daily servicing at no extra cost, leaving you with lots of time to explore our other delights. Our Karoo View House is fabulous for group bookings & families with 3 en-suite air-conditioned bedrooms & loft, private pool, braai, log fireplaces & spacious living & dining & 2 50sqm stoeps with magnificent views. Enormous open plan kitchen, dining area & lounge with DSTV & all Sports Channels, selection of DVD’s, board games & chess set The open plan layout of the house boasts beautiful double volume natural reed ceilings throughout, thus being cool in summer & warm in winter, mock sash windows providing beautiful views in every direction. Fully equipped open plan Kitchen: 3 Cereals including home baked muesli & rusks, fresh farm milk, 5 roses & rooibos tea, nescafe coffee, filter coffee grounds, white brown sugar & sweetner, salt & pepper, paper serviettes, swabs, T towels Smeg 5 Plate gas stove & electric oven, microwave, kettle, toaster, coffee machine, coffee plunger Large fridge with freezer capacity, ice trays, filtered water on-tap & stand-alone water filter Dishwasher, Washing Machine including all detergents & tablets, clothes pegs, emergency lamps & lanterns, lampolie Crockery, glassware, cutlery, pots, pans, egg boiler, blender, hot tray & loads more Emergency basket, recycle bins Air Conditioner & Hot Art fireplace, providing all your “home from home” comforts for entertaining Bedroom 1: Double bed – can also add additional single beds if required Lounge area in front of large log fireplace Air-con with remote heating & cooling En-suite bathroom with large walk-in “his & hers” shower, double travertine vanities, wall heater, trigger shower, int. shaver point, leads out to private outdoor shower & garden Walk-in dressing room with loads of coat hangers & hair dryer Opens onto north facing stoep with endless views over the Karoo plains Bedroom 2: Sleeps 2 - additional single beds may be added if required due to spaciousness and loft area Double bed – can also add additional single beds if required Single bed in loft Vanity with hair dryer & loads of coat hangers Sitting area in front of log fireplace Air-con with remote heating & cooling En-suite bathroom with shower Leads onto north facing stoep with endless views over the Karoo plains Bedroom No 3: Our Stoep Suite is 50sqm and is self-contained, sleeping either 2 or 3 in an open plan en-suite bedroom with: • Private outside entrance offering a spacious en-suite bedroom with beautiful double volume natural reed ceilings thus being cool in summer & warm in winter, with beautiful views • Double bed & single bed, vanity with hair dryer & loads of coat hanger • Air-con with remote heating & cooling • En-suite fully tiled bathroom with walk-in shower & bath • 50sqm Enclosed stoep, with lounge & dining areas, large sliding glass windows with magical views overlooking the village of Prince Albert and the Swartberg. Including fan & heater • Fully equipped self-catering Kitchenette with fridge, microwave & convection oven, mini oven, double plate cooker, coffee plunger, toaster, egg boiler, Wok, Cobb, Webber braai, crockery, cutlery, glassware, pots & pans, braai grids & tongs • Private braai area & has the use of boma & plunge pool. North Stoep: Measures 50sqm, overlooks the natural Karoo plains for 100km’s, built-in braai, bar area, pool, enclosed private garden, dining area & lounge area. South Stoep: Measures 50sqm, overlooks the village of Prince Albert & the Swartberg, relaxing lounge & dinging area Parking & Security: Safe, secure off street, double carport close to the house, plus additional parking. Property is fully fenced & the house has an alarm with 24 hour armed response The following is provided for your comfort: White poly cotton percale linen, 100% cotton cellular blankets, bed throws, mozzie nets Electric blankets, anti-allergenic duvet & pillow inners, bath sheets, hand towels, swimming towels Bathroom amenities, mozzie spray & lotion, tissues, bathroom emergency pack, hairdryers Basket of firewood, kindling, blitz, lighter, matches, braai grids & tongs Free unlimited Wifi and excellent cell phone reception We will welcome you for 2 nights or more. Children welcome, however unfortunately no pets allowed in our Karoo View house. Our Stoep suite has private outside entrance & is fully self-contained: Double bed & single bed, Vanity with hair dryer & loads of coat hangers • Air-con with remote heating & cooling • En-suite fully tiled bathroom with walk-in shower & bath • 50 sqm enclosed stoep, with lounge, dining areas & large sliding glass windows with magical views overlooking the village of Prince Albert & the Swartberg • Fully equipped self-catering kitchenette with fridge, microwave / convection oven, mini oven, double plate cooker, kettle, coffee plunger, toaster, egg boiler, cobb, Webber braai, crockery, cutlery, glassware, pots & pans, braai grids & tongs • Private braai area & use of plunge pool & boma • Complimentary health breakfast provisions; 2 cereals, home baked muesli & rusks, farm milk from our local dairy, 5 roses & rooibos tea, nescafe coffee, filter coffee grounds, white, brown sugar & sweetners, salt & pepper, serviettes, kitchen paper towel, T Towels, swabs & detergent • Safe, secure covered off street parking, property is fully fenced with alarm system & 24 hour armed response • Free unlimited Wifi & excellent cell phone signal • Children welcome & we will welcome you for 1 night or more. Unfortunately no pets allowed in our Stoep Suite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Karoo View Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing