We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
African Relish Cottages
Ranked #10 of 20 Prince Albert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed in Akkedis cottage, 2 bed, 2 bath. It is on the outskirts of the town, a pleasant 15 minute walk to the centre. The accommodation is by no means luxurious, in fact, apart from the beds which are fine, it is not even comfortable. There are no outdoor comfortable chairs. The fridge door wouldn't close properly and barely kept things cool.The shower is treacherously slippery. The decor is mainly 'shabby chic', i.e. from the local junk shop. There are no loungers at the pool which is at the main office/restaurant. We ate at the restaurant one night, very disappointing. There is excellent quiet air con in the bedrooms and mosquito nets.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol-Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed at one of their cottages for 4 nights & attended a cookery course which was amazing too. Some of the cottages are outside town but we were lucky enough to be in the town, which is beautifully preserved with some lovely architecture. We stayed in Deurdrift 1 & just loved it. Apart from lacking in hangers it was really well appointed & luxurious. Sitting outside looking over the garden, eating food that we had bought in the local farmers market was a delight. The bedroom is spacious, as is the bathroom & the kitchen, although small, has everything you need. We really enjoyed cooking our own meals there. There are lots of lovely places to have breakfast, although you can opt to have breakfast at he restaurant if you prefer. Breakfast was very good & beautifully presented, as were all our meals there. We had a look at the cottage next door & it was equally lovely. The one benefit that we saw was that it has a separate toilet & a larger open plan kitchen/dining room. We would stay in this one next time around. There is a small swimming pool at the main building (restaurant) which was vey welcome as it was very hot while we there. They supply towels so you can go for a quick dip when the heat gets too much. All the staff were great. They looked after so well & nothing was too much trouble. The cookery course was relaxed & fun & we will definitely do another one. Would thoroughly recommend the restaurant, the cookery courses & the accommodation. Loved it!

Room Tip: Go for one of the cottages situated in the town - Deurdrift 1 or 2. Try a cookery course. They are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniaIrishColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 560 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed for two nights in Deurdrift 2 when it was pushing 40 degrees C and we were grateful for the air-con in the bedroom. Along with the attached Deurdrift 1, these are traditional Karoo dwellings with thick walls, wooden floorboards and ceilings with a covered stoep and garden at the back.

Interior design is top-notch with 'Philip Starck 'ghost' chairs, taupe coloured walls and headboard and a sleek V&A bath. The general theme is combining the old with the new. The bedroom and en suite bathroom are really spacious and there's a decent kitchen in the open plan living room.

There's no TV, music system or WiFi, so staying at Deurdrift is all about disconnecting from the wider world and connecting with a slower pace of life.

We chose the breakfast inclusive option and this was served at the African Relish cookery school just around the corner. This is served to the table and includes fruit juice, yoghurt with granola on top, a cooked breakfast, toast and coffee. The cheese omelettes we had the first morning were soft and excellent.

The cookery school has a small swimming pool for use by guests and there's also a wine shop that showcases local and Karoo wines.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Nicely appointed cottage with self catering facilities; we liked the setting so much that we chose to buy breakfast at the supermarket just so that we could enjoy the garden while eating;only thing which would have been nice was an extra bathroom but this is hardly do able; just to make people aware just one bathroom

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We loved our cottage in Prince Albert and also had a chance to check out the one next door, which was equally beautiful. They are old traditional farm homes transformed into elegant vacation accomodations whiles keeping their Karoo roots. The bed was comfy, I loved the deep soaking tub and could have happily spent much longer there. We loved the garden in back with birds to watch and the town of Prince Albert is charming without feeling "touristy". I just wish it wasn't such a long trip from our home in the US or we'd be there often!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dede H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

the cottage was extremely tastefully appointed , with excellent quality linen and towels. a lovely place for a getaway.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jensennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2011

The staff buzzed around us, we lacked for nothing. The location was excellent, with mountain views, ghosts, flora and fauna. I was at African Relish for a cooking course on French Bistro. What a wonderful way to spend a few days, not only with an apron around my waist, but with such hospitable people. I shared a refurbished farmhouse with a friend, it was delightful acccomodation, comfortable with all the home from home amenities. The sunrise greeted me every morning as the cockerals crowed to welcome each fresh day. There was not anything I disliked, it was all superb.

Room Tip: Mountain views and quiet open spaces. 'Akedis cottage' is certainly my choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 49Sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Albert hotels
0.2 mi away
Prince Albert Country Stay
Prince Albert Country Stay
#4 of 20 in Prince Albert
119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Karoo View Cottages
Karoo View Cottages
#1 of 10 in Prince Albert
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Bergkant Lodge
De Bergkant Lodge
#1 of 20 in Prince Albert
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Onse Rus Guest House
Onse Rus Guest House
#5 of 20 in Prince Albert
109 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
#3 of 20 in Prince Albert
270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swartberg Hotel
Swartberg Hotel
#9 of 20 in Prince Albert
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Relish Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Relish Cottages

Property: African Relish Cottages
Address: 34 Church Street, Prince Albert Municipality 6930, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Prince Albert Municipality > Prince Albert
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Prince Albert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — African Relish Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of the African Relish Cooking School these upmarket cottages in Prince Albert are the stand alone houses. The homes are available for rental independently of the school. Three of the cottages have double bedrooms with lounge, kitchen, veranda and gardens while the fourth has all of the above with two bedrooms en suite. A swimming pool and internet facilities are available on the Cooking School premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your African Relish Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing