We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very quiet place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 20 Prince Albert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very quiet place”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Nice place, quiet and clean rooms, great garden where a wonderful breakfast is served.
But the pool is not very tempting, small and grey. As is the gate, quite old style and not very easy to handle.
Luckily we like dogs but their welcome is a little "too much" and I can easily imagine what a panic it might be for someone who is afraid of dogs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank schneiderparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    40
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
40
164
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Staying at Dennehof was great, but the breakfast was truly memorable. Ria is a most welcoming host and made excellent suggestions aboit where to have dinner in town. Breakfast (included in the price) is served under the trees. Go for the Dennehof Stack - quite unique. Can't wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cottage. Includes a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElmarieTshwane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graaff Reinet
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We were impressed by the setup and the appearance of the room. We expected to meet our hosts, but only saw Ria at a distance the day that we left, dealing with a group of people. The staff were friendly, but we truly felt nectlected.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Buiten1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillcrest, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2014

What a wonderful fun quirky place Breakfast served in the garden was a wonderful treat and delicious. Dennehof is slightly out of the main part of Prince Albert, but an easy walk gets you into the main street. The rooms were all different with their own characters, we stayed in the Old Wagon Shed and found it very comfortable and fun to stay in especially the outside bath!! Ria was a warm gracious hostess would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had the most fantastic and memorable stay at Dennehof! Outstanding attention to detail make for a high standard and comfortable stay. Ria is warm & welcoming and goes beyond! Will certainly visit again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Traveller1247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Was the best place to stay to kick off our holiday - lovely 'old style' apartment with kitchen, a big stoep in front of our room and scrumptious breakfasts served on the deck. (We stayed in The Cottage). We will be back to also 'test' the other room options :). Real Karoo hospitality!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Inge d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

away from the garden route a lovely place to relax. clean, rustic, great breakfast, rooms furnished with excellent taste, small pool but lovely.
ask the manager to take you to the top of the mountain and you will have the opportunity to get off with a bike for about 20 km on a beautiful street.
a great experience!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruno s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Albert hotels
0.3 mi away
De Bergkant Lodge
De Bergkant Lodge
#1 of 20 in Prince Albert
219 reviews
0.9 mi away
Prince Albert Country Stay
Prince Albert Country Stay
#4 of 20 in Prince Albert
119 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mai's Guest Lodge
Mai's Guest Lodge
#2 of 20 in Prince Albert
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Karoo View Cottages
Karoo View Cottages
#1 of 10 in Prince Albert
109 reviews
1.0 mi away
Karoo Lodge
Karoo Lodge
#7 of 20 in Prince Albert
127 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travellers Rest Prince Albert
Travellers Rest Prince Albert
#5 of 20 in Prince Albert
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse

Property: Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
Address: 20 De Wit Street | Great Karoo, Prince Albert Municipality 6930, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Prince Albert Municipality > Prince Albert
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Prince Albert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the grandeur of South Africa's unexplored spaces from Prince Albert's oldest homestead, a serene & comfortable base at the foot of the Swartberg Pass. Ria and Lindsay, are your hosts. "We know that your visit to Prince Albert will be a memorable one and we are delighted that you have chosen to stay with us at our historic farmstead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing