We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We haven't had better anywhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 20 Prince Albert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“We haven't had better anywhere!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were so looking forward to our short one night stop in Prince Albert. When we arrived at Dennehof we knew immediately one night would not be enough. We stayed for three and would have stayed longer but for a previous arranged engagement back in Knysna! From the enormous bed, luxurious linen, deep hot bath, sweet smelling lavender left on our pillows, well stock fire and quaint little kitchen - delicious wine on offer - we were spoilt! A sumptuous breakfast - farm fresh everything - is laid out each morning under a canopy of trees on a little deck over the "laiwater" stream running from the majestic Swartberg mountains under which we sat all the way through the village of Prince Albert. The vista from this little deck over the Karoo plains in the morning light accompanied by the cacophony of bird song in the back ground sets the scene for yet another perfect warm and sunny spring Karoo day! We loved the little piece of paradise Ria and Lyndsay have on offer at Dennehof and will be back - soon!

Room Tip: we loved the little cottage - big bedroom, lounge and kitchen we were given, however were told the W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaynie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freddiePrinceAlbert, Owner at Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you so much for such a lovely feedback, Lindsay and myself were very pleased when you extend your stay to 3 days and hopefully we will see you next time for 4 days or longer! Ria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    40
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
39
163
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

An excellent stay at this establishment.
Attention to detail was amazing.
Very cold spell and everything from hot water bottles to a fire place are provided.
A delicious breakfast served in the sun on the verandah.
Had dinner at the Gallery Cafe which is highly recommended.
Would definitely stay here again on a return visit.

Room Tip: Go on the internet which gives you a good idea of what the rooms are like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HambaEastLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freddiePrinceAlbert, Owner at Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind compliments-we really do appreciate all the feedback we get.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We arrived at Dennehof in the afternoon and were shown to our room which turned out to be half a house it was soo big, with a fireplace, kitchen equipped with all the necessary things, but with in keeping with the time period when this beautiful house/national monument was refurbished
Stunningly done out by Ria, the owner. Not missing a beat even down to having the history of the area and the house available in the "room" to read. Lovely dogs to greet you, garden out of this world with an abundance of bird life. Excellent breakfast the following day, cooked by the owner with loving care. Such a special place! I will always look back fondly on my experience there..Thank you Ria and Lindsay!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great! Ours was in the main house area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freddiePrinceAlbert, Owner at Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.It was our priveledge to have you stay with us,we like to think of all our guest as family and so very pleased you loved your stay.May you and your family have a fantastic year ahead and hope to see you soon back @ Dennehof!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I stayed in the Wagonshed, which I think is also the honeymoon suite. A little ironic since I was there at the start of my solo road trip, but lovely nontheless.

The Wagonshed is actually a suite consisting of a lounge area, kitchenette, bedroom and en suite bathroom. Really nicely decorated, the word "Wow" went through my head when I saw it for the first time. Leading out from the lounge to a private patio and the lovely outdoor spa bath. That was loads of fun, it you stay there make sure you try it! Candles are supplied.

The bed was very comforable and with extra blankets as it was chilly in the evening. The mosquito net is not just decorative although it does add a romantic feel the the room. There is a lovely mexican fireplace in the lounge although I didn't get to use it, but I imagine it would be really good on those cold Karoo nights. The kitchenette was well stocked so you could have made a light supper if needed and there was a nicely stocked "honesty" bar fridge including some snacks.

The bathroom is fairly compact but works well. Only one at a time I would think if you were sharing.

I found the room a bit light in the morning, the curtains are fairly diaphonous and so I ended up putting some towels or blankets over those nearest to the bed in order to sleep past sunrise. I would have also liked somewhere to hang up some of my clothes as I was staying for more than a night. Other than that all was good.

The breakfast was great, far to much for my smaller appetite, but I tried my best!

The farm itself is well maintained, pretty to walk around and there are some nice quiet areas to sit and read or just enjoy the natural surroundings and various pets who like to come and say hello. An easy walk into Prince Albert itself but just outside of the main area to keep it quiet.

All in all I enjoyed my three nights there, it was a lovely way to start my holiday.

Room Tip: Wagonshed spacious so you can spend some time relaxing without falling over each other. Has a TV if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freddiePrinceAlbert, Owner at Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind compliments, we really do appreciate all the feedback we get.I am pleased to tell you that the curtains has been changed from white to a darker heavier curtain and I am sure the light will stay outside .Although we dont have a cupboard for hanging clothes we made sure we do have enough hanging space now. Thank you once again for your feedback
Have a great year and we do hope to see you back @Dennehof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed at Dennehof for one night returning to Cape Town from Addo inland via Meiringskloof which was a spectacular drive. Dennehof provides very comfortable rooms in keeping with the restored antique gentility of Prince Albert. Short walk or drive into town for dinner. Breakfast taken in the garden was perfect. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Only stayed for 1 night as passing through but would have liked to stay longer. Accomodation full of character with lovely touches ,candles by your bathtub. Excellent breakfast and good reccomendation from owner for dinner.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkBigD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

What a great stay!! BEAUTIFUL relaxed and very friendly and special.That is why we continue to return and return.The hosts deserve the success they obviously are achieving.We will return as satisfied 'friends' Breakfast just outstanding

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Albert hotels
0.3 mi away
De Bergkant Lodge
De Bergkant Lodge
#1 of 20 in Prince Albert
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mai's Guest Lodge
Mai's Guest Lodge
#2 of 20 in Prince Albert
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.9 mi away
Prince Albert Country Stay
Prince Albert Country Stay
#4 of 20 in Prince Albert
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Karoo View Cottages
Karoo View Cottages
#1 of 10 in Prince Albert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.0 mi away
Karoo Lodge
Karoo Lodge
#7 of 20 in Prince Albert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.0 mi away
Swartberg Hotel
Swartberg Hotel
#8 of 20 in Prince Albert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse

Property: Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
Address: 20 De Wit Street | Great Karoo, Prince Albert Municipality 6930, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Prince Albert Municipality > Prince Albert
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Prince Albert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the grandeur of South Africa's unexplored spaces from Prince Albert's oldest homestead, a serene & comfortable base at the foot of the Swartberg Pass. Ria and Lindsay, are your hosts. "We know that your visit to Prince Albert will be a memorable one and we are delighted that you have chosen to stay with us at our historic farmstead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing