We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B & B in a Glorious Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 20 Prince Albert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2011

This was the latest of several visits to Dennehof and yet again we were warmly welcomed by Ria and shown to our beautiful room in the old wagon shed. Unusually for summer in Prince Albert, it was a cold evening so we lit the log fire which made the room even more appealing. Dennehof is the oldest building in this "arty" Karoo town and its setting is very special, looking east which is perfect for the morning sun to illuminate the attractive deck where a delicious breakfast is served with the most stunning views of the Swartberg Mountains. Dennehof gets better and better!

Room Tip: Each room has its own character. Ask to see them before deciding which you prefer if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_S1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 275 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2011

Dennehof is truly an oasis in the Karoo. Our stay blew me away. Ria and Lindsay were such fantastic hosts. Our activities and dinners where organised for us. The best way to see the town is on a bicycle, which you can hire from the guest house. What a wonderful experience it was. We stayed in the Wagon Shed which was so beautiful. Breakfast on the deck in the fresh morning air was superb. We were spoilt for choice. I was sorry to say good bye and will most definitely be back in the near future...

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tahnee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Dennehof is beautiful and full of character. Clean and large rooms. Shampoo and shower gel not provided (in both of the rooms we had). The showers are not good - variable temperature. We had to chase our drinks. The breakfast menu was trying too hard - lots of stacks and towers. It was difficult to get a simple poached egg - it came with spinach and onion. The butter came in portions reminiscent of a steak house and the marmalade did not appear or taste home made (these were locally produced at every one of the 4 other B/B's we stayed at). Rita was wonderful and so was the puppy. My room, the wagon shed, was opposite the laundry and the staff made quite a racket early in the morning (as did the dogs barking for their breakfast)

Room Tip: not the wagon shed if you want to sleep in beyond sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evershot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We had a very relaxing time at this wonderful place. Decor is so well thought out. Loved our room and outside bath. Ria and her sister were very gracious hosts.

Room Tip: Room with outside bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Auhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were so pleased to have booked the Dennehof Guest House. The room was not only spacious, it was full of atmosphere. Our favourite was the Wagon Shed room but all the rooms were lovely, comfortable, clean and well-appointed. Ria was a very gracious hostess and was quick to off to launder a soiled shirt and had it ready early the next morning. Breakfast is served in the gardens and is truly an experience not to be rushed. Would we recommend Dennehof to our best friends? Definitely YES! Would we stay at Dennehof again? YES! A wonderful, wonderful B&B. Thank you!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Wagon Shed and lovely the privacy. Make sure you take some bath bubbles so you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamelaJCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

This was the third time that I have stayed at this oasis in the beautiful Karoo, this time with my mom. Ria was a gracious hostess and gave us two rooms, as another was available. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable and the setting with awesome views just perfect.

We had a delicious dinner at the Gallery Restaurant and breakfast was served outside in the morning sun.

Dennehof is honestly worth a visit and this was definately not the last time I will stop over. A drive through the Swartberg Pass is quite an experience as well. Breathtaking views!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaniePot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Lovely place to stay for our honeymoon - nice breakfast and friendlyt people. We stayed in the Wagon Shed with an outside bath - once we washed the ants and leaves away, it made for a memorable bathing experience! There is a very limited choice of places to eat in the evening but the owner had booked us a place just in case we wanted it - and the food was great. We would highly recommend this B&B and Prince Albert as a whole - the Wagon Shed was a great room to pick.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathylou1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Albert hotels
0.3 mi away
De Bergkant Lodge
De Bergkant Lodge
#1 of 20 in Prince Albert
245 reviews
0.9 mi away
Prince Albert Country Stay
Prince Albert Country Stay
#4 of 20 in Prince Albert
123 reviews
0.7 mi away
Onse Rus Guest House
Onse Rus Guest House
#6 of 20 in Prince Albert
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mai's Guest Lodge
Mai's Guest Lodge
#2 of 20 in Prince Albert
260 reviews
1.0 mi away
Swartberg Hotel
Swartberg Hotel
#9 of 20 in Prince Albert
178 reviews
1.3 mi away
Karoo View Cottages
Karoo View Cottages
#1 of 12 in Prince Albert
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse

Address: 20 De Wit Street | Great Karoo, Prince Albert Municipality 6930, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Prince Albert Municipality > Prince Albert
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Prince Albert
Price Range: $82 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the grandeur of South Africa's unexplored spaces from Prince Albert's oldest homestead, a serene & comfortable base at the foot of the Swartberg Pass. Ria and Lindsay, are your hosts. "We know that your visit to Prince Albert will be a memorable one and we are delighted that you have chosen to stay with us at our historic farmstead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing