We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food and Great Art” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gallery Cafe

Gallery Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cape Town
Level Contributor
167 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Whilst the Gallery Cafe may play 'second fiddle' to the privately owned and run Prince Albert Art Gallery, which should be visited if visiting this lovely oasis in the Karoo, the restaurant is simple but consistantly good

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LewR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    142
    45
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
342 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great food, great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We actually stopped here 3 times during the 72 hours we were in town - for lunch, for coffee, and for dinner. All 3 stops were great. I think they have the best coffee in town - a real treat!

For dinner, the four of us each ordered different mains, and all were great - the stuffed peppers on quinoa, lamb, coq au vin, and the duck pie. Flavours were rich, and foods prepared perfectly.

All weekend, we had great and friendly service - attentive and available without hovering. And appropriately chatty.

Will definitely go back there on our next stop thru PA.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank africanaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Over priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Gallery cafe commands a prime space in the centre of Prince Albert with indoor dining and some tables on the outdoor patio.

The menu is limited but boasts local produce - I had the roast pepper soup which was bitter and under seasoned and followed up with the Karoo lamb shank and seasonal vegetables which was well cooked and tasty but the portion was small.

I found it over priced especially for the small portions.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hotshotCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Popular and enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Food was good, though menu quite small. I like the variation of beautifully cooked vegetables which were served with my meal. Service good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank stillhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuoetting
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“making use of non-existing competition”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We paid 600 Rand for a two course meal each plus bottle of decent red wine. A similar meal did cost us 450 Rand in Hermanus or Oudtshoorn.
Service is basic. Food quality is okay but in connection with price and size of portion well overpriced.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christoph105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gallery Cafe also viewed

Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
 
Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
 
Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
 

Been to Gallery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing