We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal”
Review of Cafe Photo Albert - CLOSED

Cafe Photo Albert
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cafe Photo Albert combines the experience of a delicious meal, or simply a drink,with the viewing of photos from the area of Prince Albert and all over Africa. The restaurant in the centre of town is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner from Thursday to Sunday. The menus consist of good local fare along with a distinct touch of Switzerland.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Went here for lunch. Delicious homemade lemonade- great burger on good bread with lovely fresh salad! It was very windy, so unfortunately had to sit inside. No background music so the ambiance inside was not to great. A pleasant experience after all!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marguerite T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    30
    30
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The food and presentation are just amazing. The whole place changes atmosphere from lunch to dinner - from casual to a little more formal. Wonderful owners and staff. Excellent value for money

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank RODNEYANDPAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pleasant, outdoor seating”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had a late start on a Saturday night and had not booked. We were greeted by the owner and seated quickly. We found the menu quite limited and my husband opted for 2 starters, rather than a starter and main. The choice was limited and he ordered the butternut soup and beef carpaccio. In such high heat, heavy meat dishes on the main selection did not seem appropriate. The salad I ordered was fresh and crisp but very small and did not represent fair value, even as a starter. My daughter had pasta pesto, which was fair and pretty much what can be expected of such a simple dish.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lovetravel090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Meal of my life”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My girlfriend and I recently ate at Cafe Photo Albert. It was without a doubt the best Karoo lamb I have ever had, the wine was from a local cellar and was amazing. The service was crisp, the owner looked after our table ensuring our candle was lit and replaced, the ambiance was incredible with a variety of soft background music, the meal cost very little and would easily command double in any city. I would recommend this quaint restaurant as the best experience I have had in many years, in fact better than any establishment I have been to in Jhb. The attention to detail is remarkable, the visual aesthetics is great, the setting is really special. But above all, the food was of the best I have ever had - all the ingredients are locally sourced and grown. I would seriously insist that one experiences the brilliance of these Swiss owners in the Karoo!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WaynePokey007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Unfortunate”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Visited this spot over the end of year break, and was expecting a slower pace as it is in a quiet town off the main route. The service was almost non-existent and the food was fair. The location is great in summer as it a breezy shaded porch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Photo Albert also viewed

Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
 
Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing