We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swiss food in the Karoo?”
Review of Cafe Photo Albert - CLOSED

Cafe Photo Albert
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cafe Photo Albert combines the experience of a delicious meal, or simply a drink,with the viewing of photos from the area of Prince Albert and all over Africa. The restaurant in the centre of town is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner from Thursday to Sunday. The menus consist of good local fare along with a distinct touch of Switzerland.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The food was OK, the price not. IMHO I am not sure that this establishment is gonna succeed. Tourists and locals want local specialities and delicacies.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 116 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

We thought that this restaurant, which is Swiss would be a calm haven from the odds-and-ends outside. It certainly looked good, the decor stylish, adorned by superb photos by the owner. After this first impression, all went downhill. Service was slow and somewhat indifferent, the cheese dishes we had stodgy.A big disappointment.

Thank Katherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

A lovely setting on the main road (Church Street) we had an afternoon snack of a very yummy 'Karoo Platter' which was cold/cured meats and local cheeses. Looked at the evening menu and thought it was very pricey compared to the other, equally delicious restaurants around.

Thank Holidays_lover052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Not very good menu and prices ambitious!Owners present but chose to speak only to German speaking clientele.And it was the only time during our holidays when I had to query the bill even though we had only a few items.

Thank ScottishMyszka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine J, Owner at Cafe Photo Albert, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for your review. Comments are always a help to improve our service. Our menus are made with fresh products and we look for the best quality. So we regret that you didn't like it. Our prices are comparable with the other restaurants in the area. As you mentioned we are present every evening and try to talk to all our guests. We don't know which evening you were here but apologize for not having given to you enough attention. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

New owners with son Fabry as chef. We had fillet steak that was cooked to perfection done on fresh veg with a salad to start. The best espresso !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ladilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Photo Albert also viewed

Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
 
Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing