We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks better from outside”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Photo Albert - CLOSED

Cafe Photo Albert
Cuisines: Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cafe Photo Albert combines the experience of a delicious meal, or simply a drink,with the viewing of photos from the area of Prince Albert and all over Africa. The restaurant in the centre of town is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner from Thursday to Sunday. The menus consist of good local fare along with a distinct touch of Switzerland.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Looks better from outside”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

I had Chicken pie, with salad. The chicken pie was a real disappointment, as it is usually superb in South Africa. I found my pie was mostly thick lumpy sauce with chicken skin and some chicken meat. Usually chicken pie is full of meat with a little sauce and thin pastry. The pastry was good, but could not eat the filling, and the salad was also good. Should have just ordered salad. Could not face coffee here after the pie so moved on to somewhere else for tea and coffee.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank viewsforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomyPrinceAlbert, Owner at Cafe Photo Albert, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Over the years, Cafe Albert's chicken pie has become almost iconic with many repeats and customers visiting us specifically for our pies. It is most regrettable that the one you ordered somehow slipped through our quality control check. It is a pity that nothing was said at the time, when we could have rectified the situation. However, there is no excuse and we would very much like to try and make it up to you with a free meal anytime you are next in Prince Albert. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    31
    30
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good for breakfast And lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Very good sAndwiches and hamburgers. Very nice spot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karldieboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good toasted sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Good service, good toasted sandwiches, pity one cannot get a beer or a glass of wine.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank 20141125dvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
192 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Loved the watermelon and bacon salad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

This cosy cafe in the main street serves the best waterMelon, bacon and chili saus salad. It is so good we took pictures and make it at home. No copyright is charged by the friendly owner.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Monique_en_Arjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must in Prince Albert - if open”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Very good, simple food, well cooked. Whether you go for breakfast, lunch or dinner, you are guaranteed an excellent meal with very friendly and attentive service. Fine open-air dining. William the owner and chef is an excellent and very welcoming host. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank arabarchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Photo Albert also viewed

Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
 
Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing