We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place - but no breakfast!”

Prince Albert Garden Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prince Albert Garden Guest House
Ranked #15 of 20 Prince Albert B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We chose this place from a list at the Tourist Information. To start with they did not have the current price (the Tourist Information's fault) but what was disappointing is that as we had not pre-booked (we arrived at the accommodation around 16.30) the host told us that he would not able to provide us with his (fabled) breakfast. He offered us a discount of SAR100 to compensate but we would rather have had a relaxing start to our day than to trawl the town for food.

Good room off the attractive garden and welcome pool.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank christopher c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Prince Albert Garden Guest House for three nights over the December holidays, and couldn't have been happier with our choice of accommodation. We arrived in the middle of an incredibly hot spell and so made the most of the pool and quiet garden. To call this an oasis sounds cliche, but when you're faced with 44 degree heat and have been around town all morning, it really does feel like one when you return. We stayed in the double room which was spacious, comfortable and kept clean and neat. The aircon was also a welcome comfort. Lastly, but by no means least-ly, Mike is a great host, and whips up a mean breakfast. We would definitely stay here again if we are ever in Prince Albert again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisReidEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Prince Albert Garden Guest House twice now, and both times have been exceptional experiences. Tim and Mike are such wonderfully welcoming hosts, while at the same time being very respectful of your privacy. The guest house is perfectly situated in a quiet area off the main road and the rooms surround a gorgeously landscaped central courtyard with one of the most beautiful pepper trees I have ever seen. The pool was delightful for those hot desert days and there is a wonderful sky-viewing deck on the roof to gaze up at the plethora of stars you will likely see at night thanks to the lack of light pollution in Prince Albert. Tim and Mike were able to point us to some wonderful restaurants in town, all of which were just a short walk from the guest house. The breakfasts they prepared were delicious as well, and they even shared some of the vegetables from their own organic garden with us. The rooms were impeccably cleaned, with comfortable beds and soft cotton percale sheets. To top it all off, the rates were remarkably affordable. I would recommend this place to anyone travelling in the Karoo. I have stayed here with my sister and my mother, but it would be a wonderful romantic getaway as well. I hope to return very soon!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeekandMild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

An older style property tucked away off the main street yet handy for all the town has to offer. Michael and Tim, the current owners, are carefully restoring and upgrading this quiet, courtyard property, with a particular focus when we were staying on the plants and garden. There is a lot of land around the buildings ( for a town property) and rows of vegetables were already thriving.

Once a small health and wellness spa it is a very welcoming place and Tim and Michael do all they can to advise you and make you feel at home without intruding on your privacy. We had asked for recommendations for good places to eat when we had booked and they chose and arranged a couple of great places for both our nights in Prince Albert.

The area can get very hot in the summer but we found the large suite, a good size room with twin beds and light catering facilities(fridge, sink, microwave, kettle with ample supplies of tea and coffee) as well as a seating area, was kept very nicely cool by the quiet air conditioner and twin ceiling fans. In winter there is a stove to keep you cozy. The room was decorated by some of Tim's beautifully executed African-themed drawings.

The small plunge pool was all you needed for cooling off on hot days and the advertised sun/moon deck above our room was great for drinking in the stunning star-scapes in the evening - and for a quiet drink of the alcoholic type!

Breakfasts were served in the house's main dining area and were notable for some excellent coffee as well as super-fresh fruit. We didn't take a cooked breakfast but Michael has long experience as a chef and both of them had run a local restaurant until a short while before we stayed so we expect a full breakfast would not be a disappointment!

Michael and Tim have a small dog but this is a very friendly animal that seems to become quickly comfortable with new people.

The only significant shortcoming we noted was a lack of shelving in the clothes cupboard for those who prefer not to live out of a suitcase but apparently this was already in hand as part of the work being done to prepare for their Tourism Grading Council visit in March 2010. The pictures on the web site are spot on – what you see there is what you get.

Overall a deserved TGCSA 4 star rating and a really relaxing and tranquil place to unwind.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Argyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paprikas_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Albert hotels
0.4 mi away
Mai's Guest Lodge
Mai's Guest Lodge
#3 of 20 in Prince Albert
274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swartberg Hotel
Swartberg Hotel
#9 of 20 in Prince Albert
185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prince Albert Country Stay
Prince Albert Country Stay
#5 of 20 in Prince Albert
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 mi away
Bushman Valley
Bushman Valley
#6 of 14 in Prince Albert
37 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
#4 of 20 in Prince Albert
282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Saxe-Coburg Lodge
Saxe-Coburg Lodge
#7 of 20 in Prince Albert
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Albert Garden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Albert Garden Guest House

Address: 8 Sonskyn Street, Prince Albert Municipality 6930, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Prince Albert Municipality > Prince Albert
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Prince Albert
Price Range: $90 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Prince Albert Garden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing