We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mai puts a smile on one's dial”
Review of Mai's Guest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mai's Guest Lodge
Ranked #2 of 20 Prince Albert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mai puts a smile on one's dial”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Having spent time at Mai's this past weekend, I am again reminded of the wonderful time I spent there during the 2010 World Cup recuperating from a procedure that was done on my right ankle. Not only was I made comfortable and propped up in front of the television while the rest of my party went of exploring the rest of what P/A has to offer but there was no shortage of beer in hand. And even though the teams I supported were knocked out quite early in the tournament I hardly noticed with all the pampering that I received! My only complaint being that other than Wendy who only greets one at the door or in her window if you are lucky enough to catch her in a jovial mood, all the other cats ignored my advances and ran away as soon we arrived, as an animal lover I feel jaded but that is their choice! This weekend again the heartfelt welcome and attention we received has been a boost to our morale and has given us time to put things in perspective as my family recently suffered a tragedy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demonies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    43
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
124
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shifnal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Mai is a great host and the place has history but 12(neutered) feral cats staring at you at breakfast is not a welcome site, they also think that they have first choice of the sunbeds around the pool
Our experience of breakfast is not in line with other reviews as it was neither superb or amazing

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Mai was really welcoming and her place is fantastic.
She knows how to tell a good story, and also what to do in the area. Great sense of humour, and very hospitable.
The breakfast was superb in the morning, using fresh ingredients and was very tasty.
Price was reasonable, and matched the area. Nothing else to say apart from it would have been nice to stay an extra day or two.

Room Tip: four rooms - all are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazza323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Mai welcomes you in a very friendly, warm hearted way.
Her house is beautifully decorated with bits and pieces that have history. Just like the house itself.
Despite the age of the lovely house it is very clean and has great showers, beds, heating/aircon etc.

The breakfast is amazing.

There is not a lot to do in Prince Albert but nevertheless, we loved Mai and her place so much, we wished we could have stayed longer...
A stay at her place gives you happiness and inner peace.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mieze1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Mai is a delight, a really friendly host. She is really welcoming and gave us grerat pointers about things to see and do in Prince Albert. Our room was spacious and well equipped with a good wi-fi connection. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbaymary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umhlanga Rocks
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Mai's is perfectly situated for a memorable visit to the delightful town of Prince Albert. The guest house is warm and inviting with great charm. Mai is an exceptional hostess and her house manages to combine old world charm with modern practicalities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgc711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Mai welcomed us on arrival, gave us good advice about sightseeing and restaurants in the town, and personally prepared a tasty breakfast which was served in a garden setting. Overall a very pleasant stay and a place I would recommend without hesitation

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rveeaytch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Albert hotels
0.7 mi away
De Bergkant Lodge
De Bergkant Lodge
#1 of 20 in Prince Albert
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prince Albert Country Stay
Prince Albert Country Stay
#4 of 20 in Prince Albert
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
#3 of 20 in Prince Albert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Onse Rus Guest House
Onse Rus Guest House
#5 of 20 in Prince Albert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Karoo View Cottages
Karoo View Cottages
#1 of 10 in Prince Albert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Karoo Lodge
Karoo Lodge
#7 of 20 in Prince Albert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai's Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai's Guest Lodge

Property: Mai's Guest Lodge
Address: 81 Church Street, Prince Albert Municipality 6930, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Prince Albert Municipality > Prince Albert
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Prince Albert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mai’s Guest Lodge offers four comfortable, air-conditioned, double bedrooms, each with a bathroom-en-suite (with shower). Three rooms have an additional single bed and the family room has bunk beds. Mai serves a hearty, cooked breakfast on the terrace or in the sunny dining room. There's a comfortable lounge, shady patios, a sheltered swimming pool and the peace of a village lifestyle. Mai’s has a three star rating from the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mai's Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing