We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, beuatifully run”
Review of Mai's Guest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mai's Guest Lodge
Ranked #2 of 20 Prince Albert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2011

We stayed here for one night only. it is comfortable, hospitable. Mai quite a character who one immediately warms to.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
There are newer reviews for Mai's Guest Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 257 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2011

All the personal care you could hope for. Mai is a wonderfull host and gives personal care in detail. The same Irish Hospitality we have had in Ireland in July of 2011 transferred to South Africa in the small town of Prins Albert! Being a South African born and bred, it says something when we do not book and stay with our fellow "South Africans" in their guesthouses while on tour! Do I need to say more?

Mai's breakfast is a Fully Cooked English meal

Room Tip: All the rooms seems the same. Mai loves cats, so, if you do not like cats, either stay away or learn...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BokkieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed at Mai's for one night only and could have easily stayed longer. Mai is such a lovely warm person and a real genuine character. She gave us a choice of bedrooms which were all lovely but we chose the annexe which had its own entrance and patio doors which led on to the pool area. This outdoor area was so peaceful and a lovely place just to relax. Mai has put out a selection sun loungers and seating around the patio and pool area to ensure that it accomodates all guest.

Mai's breakfast was lovely and it is the only place in South Africa that I have been served perfectly cooked poached eggs. Everything was freshly cooked and tasted delicious. The room was well equiped and Mai even provided a jug of fresh milk in the fridge for our tea and coffee - this made such a change from other guesthouse where you are provided with either powdered milk or individual cartons of long life milk. Mai also left a box of home made biscuits for us in the room. It is these little touches that make Mai's so special and of course her wonderful personality.

This was our second visit to Prince Albert but our first stay at Mai's and it was wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mags48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed at Mai's during our first ever visit to Prince Albert. Mai's vibrance and excellent attention to customer satisfaction will make me drive up to Prince Albert every weekend. She is such a wonderful person and made our stay extremely special. The rooms were excellently equipped and we could not fault anything. The breakfast every morning was wonderful and made to perfection. We will most definitely be back and we will recommend this place to everyone we know. Thanks for the most amazing weekend Mai.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guestservicesCGGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Mai is a wonderful, fun host who can not do enough for her guests, her rooms are spotless, tastefully furnished and her breakfast is mouth watering.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerryst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We chanced upon Mai's when we arrived in Prince Albert looking for a room for the night, and i'm so pleased that we did! Mai is so welcoming and friendly and makes you feel completely at home - she's like your Aunty! The rooms are all beautifully turned out and furnished really nicely and we were so pleased to have electric blankets as it was chilly. Couldn't have asked for a nicer breakfast the following morning (ask for the herbed scrambled eggs - amazing!) and Mai also recommended a great place for dinner at The Gallery. Overall, we loved our time in Prince Albert and will definitely be back and DEFINITELY stay at Mai's again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coppermonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Mai made us very welcome. She's a lovely lady and went out of her way to arrange dinner for us, which we had at The Gallery Cafe (very good food at reasonable prices).
Her breakfast was good and plentiful and we spent a very restful night.
You've got to like cats though
Fortunately we love 'em!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Normanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Albert hotels
0.7 mi away
De Bergkant Lodge
De Bergkant Lodge
#1 of 20 in Prince Albert
226 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
#3 of 20 in Prince Albert
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prince Albert Country Stay
Prince Albert Country Stay
#4 of 20 in Prince Albert
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Swartberg Hotel
Swartberg Hotel
#8 of 20 in Prince Albert
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Karoo View Cottages
Karoo View Cottages
#1 of 11 in Prince Albert
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
African Relish Cottages
African Relish Cottages
#10 of 20 in Prince Albert
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai's Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai's Guest Lodge

Address: 81 Church Street, Prince Albert Municipality 6930, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Prince Albert Municipality > Prince Albert
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Prince Albert
Price Range: $75 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mai’s Guest Lodge offers four comfortable, air-conditioned, double bedrooms, each with a bathroom-en-suite (with shower). Three rooms have an additional single bed and the family room has bunk beds. Mai serves a hearty, cooked breakfast on the terrace or in the sunny dining room. There's a comfortable lounge, shady patios, a sheltered swimming pool and the peace of a village lifestyle. Mai’s has a three star rating from the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Mai's Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing