We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned charm and the best of modern quality”
Review of Swartberg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swartberg Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Prince Albert B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old fashioned charm and the best of modern quality”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have just returned to the Swartberg Hotel for the third time. It was always charming although sometimes rather eccentric. From my first stay I loved it. Each time I return I find it has improved.
Now under new, hands on, very discriminating owners, the large airy rooms have top quality bed-linen and many other modern and tasteful improvements which enhance the comfort without in anyway detracting from its dreamy charm.
I will go back................

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham edward w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    69
    23
    13
    3
See reviews for
31
77
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We booked at the historic Swartberg Hotel in Prins Albert and was quite sceptical after reading some of the reviews. We were pleasantly surprised! What a charming hotel. It is currently under new management and our stay was great. The decor was calm and unobtrusive, the linen crisp and brand new and the rooms spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corlien P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
191 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

What a surprise , we stopped over to see what this town was all about and was pleasantly surprised , Our stay in the hotel was very comfortable , but get the garden cottages they are spacious and well fitted , then go on the ghost tour , this is enlightening , ending the day with a meal in the hotel. The food is good but the package will cost you + R1700 per couple,
Try going over the Swartberg pass the next morning coming back via Meiringspoort -Beautiful

Room Tip: The cottages in the garden are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pietuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyldesley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

There's historic ...and then there's dated !!!! This hotel is both !!!! Lovely building in need of some TLC. Very friendly staff , room was rather shabby , but clean . Breakfast in coffee shop next door was just adequate ( fresh orange juice in carton !!!!) , evening meal poor quality . Staff try had but not sure they really know what is expected in a good quality up to date hotel . This could be an excellent hotel , but needs to raise its standards ....I think it is very insular .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderers56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Old world charm with excellent service. Our group of 11 stayed over one Saturday (also watching a very disappointing rugby test) and left heavy heartedly after an enjoyable stay. Dinner was great, especially the oxtail. Breakfast on the open verandah also very pleasant, although the service not up to standard. Good food though. Their rooms are very comfortable, clean and well appointed with most rooms' bathrooms having undergone a complete facelift. The hotel is very conveniently situated in the middle of the village main street, with all to see within easy walking distance. What I liked the most was the warm ambiance of the place. What I did not like was the narrow, steep staircase in the front of the hotel leading to the 1st floor rooms. The staircase at the rear was much wider and not as steep. They also have very nice rooms in a garden setting to the rear of the hotel. A pleasant stay to be recommended.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms a must for elderly persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marius L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at Saxe-coberg which is always the best place to stay when visiting Prince Albert. For Dinner I had booked a Table for a party of family from Cape Town who have never been to Prince Albert. To show them the old fashioned true Country Style Cuisine, I chose the Swartberg Hotel for this special occassion. All was well organised by the receptionist, a 10/10 to her, thank you!! When our guests had arrived, we chatted and I had noticed a sudden change in the plating of dinners comming from the kitchen. What I call "Pretty" Food. I was a bit taken back as this is not true Karoo style, it is the City Slicker that is used to this and wants to get away from it up here! Well when our plates came, they were miniscual portions (we are not big eaters, but we were all hungry when we were finished). Where did the old platings of "'n bord kos" go? Where I would normally have a plate of Oxtail and not finish it, I was served with three pieces in a side dish plate! Its not the price that comes into the equation here, just the true old fashioned food that we expect when in the Karoo. We spoke to the Owners husband, who took note, but certainly did not seem fazed one bit! Will we be back, maybe to see whether they have changed back to what people want....maybe, hopefully! Please Wolf, get the old charm back again....

Room Tip: Make sure these are not starter portions!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirgitB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna
2 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We arrived late afternoon in Prince Albert and took a stroll through town looking for a quick bite. Most places were already closed and we came across the Swartberg Hotel with its delightful charm and warm small-town ambiance. The staff were very friendly and we enjoyed some great burgers and ice cold beer - a real life saver! I definitely recommend the hotel and look forward staying there on our next visit to one of our favourite towns!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeneLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prince Albert
11.8 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prince Albert Country Stay
Prince Albert Country Stay
#3 of 20 in Prince Albert
119 reviews
0.6 mi away
De Bergkant Lodge
De Bergkant Lodge
#1 of 20 in Prince Albert
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mai's Guest Lodge
Mai's Guest Lodge
#2 of 20 in Prince Albert
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Karoo View Cottages
Karoo View Cottages
#1 of 10 in Prince Albert
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Onse Rus Guest House
Onse Rus Guest House
#5 of 20 in Prince Albert
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swartberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swartberg Hotel

Property: Swartberg Hotel
Address: 77 Kerk Street, Prince Albert Municipality 6930, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Prince Albert Municipality > Prince Albert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Prince Albert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Swartberg Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swartberg Hotel is a charming three star (TGCSA) Victorian hotel, situated in the heart of our quaint Karoo village, Prince Albert. Established as a hotel in 1864, the Swartberg is now one of 19 national monuments in the village, and is still the only hotel in Prince Albert today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Swartberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing