We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No charm second time around”
Review of Swartberg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swartberg Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Prince Albert B&B and Inns
Springbok, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“No charm second time around”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We were visiting the hotel for the second time as a family but was sad to see the 'personal touch" and warmth gone. Everything was neat and clean and both the rooms and the bathrooms was clean. As we understood the hotel has new owners and most of the touches that made you feel welcome eg the welcome letter the story of the painting etc. was gone. The food was very pricey for the amount of food we received. They expect the children to eat off the adult menu which in our case was a problem because our kids are 5 and 6 years old and by no means capable of eating an adult portion. After having to ask management they agreed to make them a toasted sandwich. I did expect a family friendly hotel to cater for the kids without me having to ask. Everything was ok but I do think it was our last visit (for some time anyway)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mom072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    70
    23
    13
    3
See reviews for
31
77
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
CAPE TOWN
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

This is a rare find in Prince Albert. The town is simply breath taking and the people, food and the accommadation in the Victorian style Hotel was first class. Breakfast served by the pool early morning simply great. Our two bedroomed cottage was set in beautiful gardens - very spacious, and well appointed with whats required.

The Hotel is located on the main street with ample parking in front and behind the Hotel. Be sure to take a leisurely walk through nthe town to see the sites.

Thanks to the staff and management of this Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addo Elephant National Park, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Very nice hotel ,rooms in main building very big and clean but noisy beds.
Service was excellent. Dinner in dining room was very good.Nice little town for stayover.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyriakos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Prince Albert is situated in the most spectacular surroundings in the Groot Karoo and it is an ideal stop-over point for the Cape Town - Johannesberg road, which we often do. It has unfortunately become a bit of a tourist trap. We find the smarter end of the hotel and guest house front rather expensive for what it provides. Possibly the recession is taking a bite, because the owners tend to be a bit too overwhelming. The B + Bs at the cheapest end can, on the other hand, be tacky. The hotel is, as one reviewer put it, rather tired and in need of refurbishment. The hotel is on the market and hopefully a new owner will see to this. But it is pleasant, neutral, adequate. Breakfast and lunch on the stoep is lovely, but we would not recommend dinner in the dining room. Note too that the outside buildings in winter are bitterly cold.

Room Tip: Do not book the outisde units during the winter. The main road can be very noisy with lorries and ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alpha69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mzuzu, Malawi
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Went to the Karoo for my birthday and stayed at the Swartland Hotel. The service was really good and the people went out of their way to make it as comfortable as possible. The rooms were nicely done in crisp, white linen although the bathroom needs some updating. Really enjoyed the names of the different cottages at the back of the hotel and the garden was a treat. So tranquil and peaceful. Sitting on the 'stoep' watching the locals and visitors is a real treat while eating their delicious food.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stunningchick69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burgess hill
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

The rooms seem to be mostly out the back of the hotel, in individual ‘huts’, which can accommodate four people, so they are good value for money. They were clean, if a little old fashioned, the bathrooms in particular could do with some updating. The neighbouring cockerels seem to wake up at 3 am! Breakfast in the hotel coffee shop was outstanding, with a wonderful selection of baked goodies.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oakroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Albert hotels
0.6 mi away
De Bergkant Lodge
De Bergkant Lodge
#1 of 20 in Prince Albert
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prince Albert Country Stay
Prince Albert Country Stay
#4 of 20 in Prince Albert
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mai's Guest Lodge
Mai's Guest Lodge
#2 of 20 in Prince Albert
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Karoo View Cottages
Karoo View Cottages
#1 of 10 in Prince Albert
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Onse Rus Guest House
Onse Rus Guest House
#5 of 20 in Prince Albert
109 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
#3 of 20 in Prince Albert
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swartberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swartberg Hotel

Property: Swartberg Hotel
Address: 77 Kerk Street, Prince Albert Municipality 6930, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Prince Albert Municipality > Prince Albert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Prince Albert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swartberg Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swartberg Hotel is a charming three star (TGCSA) Victorian hotel, situated in the heart of our quaint Karoo village, Prince Albert. Established as a hotel in 1864, the Swartberg is now one of 19 national monuments in the village, and is still the only hotel in Prince Albert today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Swartberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing