We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Knutsford, Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Beach Hotel”
Reviewed November 8, 2009

We drove to this hotel via the Chapman Peak Drive - stunning views of the bay.
This is a family run hotel who provide great customer service. The location is fabulous - right on the beach. We had a great view of the beach from our bedroom. The restaurant serves the best calamari ever and once the new swimming pool is complete it will be perfect. We would definitely return to this hotel on our next holiday to Cape Town.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    72
    22
    2
    5
See reviews for
44
133
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft Lauderdale
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2009

We stopped here prior to lunch on recommendation of a server in Camp Bay restaurant.
(to whom we owe a great thanks)
What a lovely place and "best calamari" we've ever eaten. Carlos (the owner) showed us around the Hotel and chatted with us. It was a lovely afternoon.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2009

The new rooms are beautiful, spacious, comfortable, modern, with aircon and balconies to enjoy the view. Good food and friendly service. Good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plumstead
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

My wife and I decided just to get away away to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were greeted with a warm welcome, escorted to our room and explained all the gadgets in the room (electricty saving device, romote controls etc). We had a king size bed that from my side I couldn't even hear myself snore. The view from the balcony over Hout Bay was magical, and we sat outside wrapped up in blanket enjoying the sound of the waves. Dinner was in the old wing of the hotel and the seafood and steak were both excellant. We were served by Nick who was always there when we needed him and not when we didn't. After dinner we had a drink and a smoke in the bar, which was busy but not loud, the fireplace was burning and it was a wonderful way to end our meal.

The bathroom has both bath and shower which suited us perfectly and that king size bed was so comfortable zzzzzzz. Breakfast was again in the old wing with a lovely buffet of cold meats, pastries etc and a hot breakfast served by Amos out of the kitchen. Their bacon and cheese omellete was mouthwatering.

We left with a heavy heart, promising ourselves we would find another excuse very soon to return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GazPlumstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2009

I stayed for two nights at Chapman's Peak Beach Hotel in their newly renovated wing in a sea facing room. I am a frequent visitor to South Africa and, more specifically, Hout Bay. The sea facing rooms are designed such that the shower and bathtub overlooks the beach and ocean. The rooms are modern and the beds quite comfortable. The bathrooms offer all the extras that western travelers desire (separate big shower and bathtub, double vanity, heated towel rack). The location is excellent as are the views. These facts combined with the well known calamari in he downstairs restaurant and bar complete with fireplace next door, makes Chapman's Peak Beach Hotel a top destination.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernSkyAdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2009

I'm a Brit who lives in Cape Town and have not stayed at the Hotel, but took my wife for breakfast there. We were early and loitering around on the pavement looking at the beautiful bay and were approached by a rather scruffy, elderly, man who just wanted a chat. He then asked if we would like a coffee and took us up onto the Hotel Terrace. I was a little suspicious as the place was closed. Superb coffee arrived and i asked if the bar was open. He looked crestfallen and explained it was Sunday and that the bar would not be open for a few hours. He disappeared and then reappeared with "his" bottle of "good" brandy. After a tour of the hotel, including the kitchen, i said "are you the boss" and he said "Oh No, i'm the owner". We could not get him to give us a bill but have been back a number of times and then i have paid. Position, position and position if only for breakfast and as i say "if you do not have time, make it !!"

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthAfricaTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

We wish we could have stayed longer at this hotel - the service was exceptional and the rooms were luxurious with wonderful views over Hout Bay. The highlight was watching the sun set over the Bay whilst sipping a chilled glass of white wine before retiring to the restaurant .... and yes, the calamari really is that good! We plan to return next year.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kishmull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
0.3 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
147 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
464 reviews
6.4 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,103 reviews
6.9 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
645 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel

Property: Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
Address: 20 Peak Drive, Hout Bay 7405, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the picturesque Chapmans Peak Drive lies Chapmans Peak Hotel, dating back 100 yrs. Family run since 1977. The hotel boasts 22 new rooms and two magnificent penthouse suites, a mere stone's throw from the beach. The hotel is within walking distance of the beach, our local harbour, restaurants, shops, spas and a brand new gym across the road.Calamari at the Chapmans Peak Restaurant was voted "one of top 20 things to do in Cape Town." A perfect spot for watching the sun go down.This combination of stunning location, in-house restaurant, & conference facilities makes this Hout Bay hotel a unique choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing