We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late Lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Our innkeeper recommended we try Chapmans Peak Hotel restaurant for either lunch or dinner. In fact she said we MUST go for the calamari. She was right. It is to die for! It was exceptional - never have I had such good calamari. We sat outside and enjoyed the street entertainers that went by and ate ourselves silly. If you like seafood, you really need to give these folks a try. Bon apetite!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HardCurves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
There are newer reviews for Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 249 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Superbly spacious room, modern high quality with balcony and mountain views. Free wifi, very good value in terms of cost per night and full breakfast included.

Restaurant had superb views of Hout Bay and food especially the calamari and fish were splendid and again great value.
Would definitely recommend and return.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MrsOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

What a treat to have discovered this hotel. Recommend for anyone wishing to escape the hectic pace of Cape Town main beach area. Great pool, very friendly staff and delicious food in the restaurant. You may just need to wean yourself off wifi for a few days if not in the new part of the hotel as you can only get wifi in hotel reception area (not in bar / restaurant / pool aera), but then that's not entirely a bad thing on holiday.

Room Tip: No fitness centre of spa that I know of, but stunning pool area
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllyJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

My small family and I stayed at this hotel in a room with two balconies (sea view and mountain view for 4 nights) absolutely wonderful. The staff are dedicated to service from check-in to security.
Breakfast was fabulous after a walk along world famous Chapman's Peak Drive, and/or the Hout Bay Beach. A great Gym across the road. Fit and not so fit, running, mountainbiking, cycling up the 'Drive. Dog walkers, horse enthusiasts on the beach. Everywhere the sun, the mountains, the people ...
The restaurant is an institution. Calamari or Portuguese style steak in a hot frying pan - has not equal. The bar - legendary.
There is an old section, and a more desirable new wing, better suited to international travelers.
The City is 20 mins away on excellent scenic roads. The Camps Bay Scene and restaurants, via the serenity of Llandudnou, 15 minutes.
We will stay here again. Hout Bay - superb. "Chappies" - excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for a single. When we were looking for the hotel, we struggled to find the hotel as it is not clearly marked outside neither are there any prominent boards that indicate the hotel name. On entering the hotel, the receptionarea is hidden round the corner and cluld thus look to a first timer as though you definetly are in the wrong place.

From here on thinga are much better, the reception is warm amd welcome and everything of the hotel is properly explained. I stayed in a sea facing bedroom, and the bedrooms really are of top standard. Very spacious, and beautiful interior design. The room as a cosy balcony where you can sit and watch sunrise or sunset. The bathroom is absolutely stunning.

The pool is situated on a higher level and gives you the feeling as if you are on top of the mountain with the perfect view of sea and the mountain range further ahead.

The restaurants food is really excellent and I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Of course being in hout bay you are spoiled with beautiful views and beach, and too far from tourist attractions.

Overall I rate this hotel very well and enjoyed my stay there. Would definitely go back there.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank charlenesteyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Booked the hotel for 4 nights, I'd previously eaten at the hotel restaurant and also watched the rugby in the bar.

On arrival ~ 22:30 we were pretty late but were quickly checked in and shown our rooms. We'd selected sea view rooms and mine was in the new block and had a wonderful view of the bay. The rooms were very large, nicely decorated and had all the facilities required including a nice balcony. The bathrooms were large (bath and separate large shower) and the rooms had a/c and a good sized safe.

I found the hotel very quiet and did not suffer any noise from other residents or the road outside (as long as the balcony doors were shut).

I found John on reception to be very helpful, they kept the bar open for us so we could get some drinks as we'd arrived late. We did meet the "old guy" head waiter which another reviewer mentioned and found him to be fine but he does have a dry sense of humour. Ate at the restaurant for 2 nights and found the food / view and service to be great.

Breakfast was fine, there did not seem to be anything I could not order.

Overall very impressed with the hotel, I would certainly recommend the sea view rooms in the new block. I haven't seen the older rooms so I can't comment on those.

Had a good service from the bar / reception and restaurant.

Only niggle was their wireless service (which was free!) had a poor coverage and I had to move around my room to get a signal and also downstairs it was also a hit and miss affair. I did appreciate the free wireless though but it would be great if they improved it.

Room Tip: Look for a room in the new block, highly recommend the sea view rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OneWayorReturnPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

A good hotel in general, slightly overpriced though. Mountain views can be very limited so do choose rooms carefully. Room we were in was very large and very comfortable, nothing poor at all. Food was very good and the service was generally good. Some staff were excellent, some a little more average, the reception desk for example could have been a little more upbeat and professional. But the lady who does breakfast is exceptional, as were some of the others.

Definitely recommended but a couple of minor things stop it being an excellent score overall. That said you shouldn't be particularly disappointed at all.

Room Tip: Mountain view may be very limited!!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
0.3 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
150 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
484 reviews
6.4 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,119 reviews
6.9 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
651 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel

Address: 20 Peak Drive, Hout Bay 7405, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Price Range: $97 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the picturesque Chapmans Peak Drive lies Chapmans Peak Hotel, dating back 100 yrs. Family run since 1977. The hotel boasts 22 new rooms and two magnificent penthouse suites, a mere stone's throw from the beach. The hotel is within walking distance of the beach, our local harbour, restaurants, shops, spas and a brand new gym across the road.Calamari at the Chapmans Peak Restaurant was voted "one of top 20 things to do in Cape Town." A perfect spot for watching the sun go down.This combination of stunning location, in-house restaurant, & conference facilities makes this Hout Bay hotel a unique choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing