We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Agreed, but ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Tourrettes-sur-Loup, France
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Agreed, but ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

My small family and I stayed at this hotel in a room with two balconies (sea view and mountain view for 4 nights) absolutely wonderful. The staff are dedicated to service from check-in to security.
Breakfast was fabulous after a walk along world famous Chapman's Peak Drive, and/or the Hout Bay Beach. A great Gym across the road. Fit and not so fit, running, mountainbiking, cycling up the 'Drive. Dog walkers, horse enthusiasts on the beach. Everywhere the sun, the mountains, the people ...
The restaurant is an institution. Calamari or Portuguese style steak in a hot frying pan - has not equal. The bar - legendary.
There is an old section, and a more desirable new wing, better suited to international travelers.
The City is 20 mins away on excellent scenic roads. The Camps Bay Scene and restaurants, via the serenity of Llandudnou, 15 minutes.
We will stay here again. Hout Bay - superb. "Chappies" - excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    69
    22
    2
    5
See reviews for
42
135
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for a single. When we were looking for the hotel, we struggled to find the hotel as it is not clearly marked outside neither are there any prominent boards that indicate the hotel name. On entering the hotel, the receptionarea is hidden round the corner and cluld thus look to a first timer as though you definetly are in the wrong place.

From here on thinga are much better, the reception is warm amd welcome and everything of the hotel is properly explained. I stayed in a sea facing bedroom, and the bedrooms really are of top standard. Very spacious, and beautiful interior design. The room as a cosy balcony where you can sit and watch sunrise or sunset. The bathroom is absolutely stunning.

The pool is situated on a higher level and gives you the feeling as if you are on top of the mountain with the perfect view of sea and the mountain range further ahead.

The restaurants food is really excellent and I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Of course being in hout bay you are spoiled with beautiful views and beach, and too far from tourist attractions.

Overall I rate this hotel very well and enjoyed my stay there. Would definitely go back there.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank charlenesteyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foz do Iguacu, PR
Level Contributor
189 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Booked the hotel for 4 nights, I'd previously eaten at the hotel restaurant and also watched the rugby in the bar.

On arrival ~ 22:30 we were pretty late but were quickly checked in and shown our rooms. We'd selected sea view rooms and mine was in the new block and had a wonderful view of the bay. The rooms were very large, nicely decorated and had all the facilities required including a nice balcony. The bathrooms were large (bath and separate large shower) and the rooms had a/c and a good sized safe.

I found the hotel very quiet and did not suffer any noise from other residents or the road outside (as long as the balcony doors were shut).

I found John on reception to be very helpful, they kept the bar open for us so we could get some drinks as we'd arrived late. We did meet the "old guy" head waiter which another reviewer mentioned and found him to be fine but he does have a dry sense of humour. Ate at the restaurant for 2 nights and found the food / view and service to be great.

Breakfast was fine, there did not seem to be anything I could not order.

Overall very impressed with the hotel, I would certainly recommend the sea view rooms in the new block. I haven't seen the older rooms so I can't comment on those.

Had a good service from the bar / reception and restaurant.

Only niggle was their wireless service (which was free!) had a poor coverage and I had to move around my room to get a signal and also downstairs it was also a hit and miss affair. I did appreciate the free wireless though but it would be great if they improved it.

Room Tip: Look for a room in the new block, highly recommend the sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneWayorReturnPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chitterne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

A good hotel in general, slightly overpriced though. Mountain views can be very limited so do choose rooms carefully. Room we were in was very large and very comfortable, nothing poor at all. Food was very good and the service was generally good. Some staff were excellent, some a little more average, the reception desk for example could have been a little more upbeat and professional. But the lady who does breakfast is exceptional, as were some of the others.

Definitely recommended but a couple of minor things stop it being an excellent score overall. That said you shouldn't be particularly disappointed at all.

Room Tip: Mountain view may be very limited!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I have so oft been told to go and have a meal on the veranda and watch the sun set.
Finally did so. The view and setting is great, the service is poor and the food quality was so disappointing. Far better venues in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of a week long trip to Cape Town and surrounds.

Location:
- The location is impeccable, with a view of the beach.

Room:
- The room was large, with an excellent view of the beach, very clean, and had a very comfortble bed. The bathroom was a pleasure, with very modern appointments.

Restaurant:
- The restaurant is located in the older part of the hotel, and provides a fairly simple but adequate breakfast, and the dinner was excellent. Sundowners with a view of the beach and surrounding mountains is also an absolute pleasure.

We immediately decided that our next trip to Cape Town would most certainly include a stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 104, which had an excellent view of the beach and Hout Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPeteZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at the Chapmans Peak during the month of June 2013. Getting into the residents parking area when driving towards Cape Town is a "mission impossible" especially if there is lots of traffic. When we arrived, there was nobody at reception to check us in. We waited for a good five minutes.

Despite the teething problems, everything else briefly went smoothly. I like their card system for the lifts going up and for the electricity in the rooms. We got a sea facing room which was big and comfy. The deco was also tasteful. We had wonderful views from the balcony. Walks on the beach and the drive on Chapmans Peak were also a marvel.

We however had an unfortunate incident at dinner with the elderly white male head waiter, who insisted that they were full and could not offer us a table at the restuarant. He stated that there were lots of people in the bar waiting for tables. He did not even offer us the option to wait in the bar or on the deck outside. There were a number of free reserved tables. A young lady came along and when we told them that we were resident at the hotel, everything suddenly changed and we were allocated one of the reserved table. The rest of the reserved tables were never used that night. Neither did any other people come in from the bar for dinner afterwards. The old man's grumpy attitude was unfortunate. We are not too sure what prompted it. The food was lovely though.

Apart from the few hiccups, we really loved the place and enjoyed our stay. If it wasn't for those, we would have definitely rated them higher.

Room Tip: Choose sea facing rooms, preferably on higher floors. Lower rooms can be noisy with the busy road, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRH2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
1.3 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
6.9 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
12.8 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel

Property: Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
Address: 20 Peak Drive, Hout Bay 7405, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the picturesque Chapmans Peak Drive lies Chapmans Peak Hotel, dating back 100 yrs. Family run since 1977. The hotel boasts 22 new rooms and two magnificent penthouse suites, a mere stone's throw from the beach. The hotel is within walking distance of the beach, our local harbour, restaurants, shops, spas and a brand new gym across the road.Calamari at the Chapmans Peak Restaurant was voted "one of top 20 things to do in Cape Town." A perfect spot for watching the sun go down.This combination of stunning location, in-house restaurant, & conference facilities makes this Hout Bay hotel a unique choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing