We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect place”
Review of Seacliffe Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seacliffe Lodge
Ranked #32 of 58 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Kortenhoef
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“perfect place”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Seacliff Lodge was our last stop of our trip through South Africa and we enjoyed our stay very much thanks to the spacious, comfortable room with balcony and beautiful view and last but not least thanks to the friendly owners and staff. A perfect place to stay more than one night, since all highlights can be visited from there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theo And Marlee... V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    27
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
20
37
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Western, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have stayed in the apartments once before and it was a nice stay . However this time we found in run down in good need of general repairs i.e cracked windows ,cracked toilet seat ,paint peeling I also think it's in good need of a deep clean . No air con only a ceiling fan that was noisy and on it's last legs . No thank you we will be going else where next time

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suegne, Owner at Seacliffe Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your commend on trip adviser.


It would have been nice if you had complained wile you were booked in to the Self catering unit, as then I could have taken care of your complaints



It is sad that you went to the extend of writing on trip adviser to take business away from me as you never discussed it when you where here.

I could have upgraded you to B&B for the self catering rate where I am sure you would have been more happy but you lost out as you never discussed it and felt it better to complain on tripadviser.



Hope the next place you stay at in Hout bay is better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Excellent guesthouse, everybody is very friendly. Big rooms, clean and tidy! , with a stunning view. Perfect location to reach all the attractions!
Suegne is very nice, but the very best optional is Socks, a nice black and white cat, he won't disturb you, but if you want to play with him, he will follow you even in your room!

Room Tip: we stayed at Number 3 view on the small harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 635elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Wow! What an amazing guest house! What incredible hosts! Thank you so much for your absolutely beautiful guest home and the exceptional hospitality. We just loved the rich comfort of your rooms and commend you on the outstanding attention to detail…… it is all so beautiful and we wanted for nothing. The set-up was perfect for our needs…. Thank you for making the accommodation work for us. Thank you for going the extra mile!
Breakfast was delicious and the homely atmosphere was very much enjoyed and appreciated… it really felt like home away from home.
Thank you so much. We had a very fruitful time away and managed to do quite a bit of planning for next year.
We salute you for your level of excellence!
Dalene

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We spent a week at Seacliffe Lodge and were very pleased. Friendly and helpful staff and hosts and the most delicious breakfast, rooms are spotless and very comfortable Ideally situated for visiting local attractions and Cape Town, the free tourist bus stops over the road, much better than driving into Cape Town. Excellent dining in the Lookout Deck a few minutes across the road in the harbour, where seals are regular visitors and love showing off for visitors.. Fantastic fresh fish and very good service. Would definitely stay there again if we return.Thanks for great hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynMT15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A warm welcome awaits you at this B & B. The rooms are excellent and the beds and pillows are soo comfortable. The staff are so very helpful nothing is too much trouble. Great location overlooking harbour great for boat and fishing trips.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed at the Seacliff Lodge for two nights. The management and staff were very helpful to us, gave us a very warm welcome and looked after us extremely well during our stay. The Lodge is very clean and the rooms were extremely clean and comfortable and the breakfast excellent. We had booked to stay for three nights but had to leave early due to the roads being closed for the cycle race and we were concerned we may not be able to get to the airport in time. The manager was very understanding and did not make any charge for the late cancellation but I am sure a lot of hotels would have. If I ever return to Capetown I would be more than happy to stay at the Seacliffe Lodge again. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Villa Afrique
Villa Afrique
#22 of 58 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.9 mi away
Flora Bay Resort
Flora Bay Resort
#6 of 23 in Hout Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#10 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Poseidon Guest House
Poseidon Guest House
#8 of 58 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hout Bay View
Hout Bay View
#27 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacliffe Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacliffe Lodge

Property: Seacliffe Lodge
Address: 2 Seacliffe Road, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Seacliffe Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 4 Star Graded Luxury Guest House with views of the sea, mountains and harbour. All rooms en-suite with bath and shower and all the amenities. Relax at the salt water pool with magnificent mountain and sea views before you. 5 Minute walk to the beach and restaurants. Central to Cape Point & Cape Town (20 minutes away). Self catering units are not graded. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Seacliffe Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacliffe Hotel Hout Bay
Seacliffe Lodge Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing