We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tarragona Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tarragona Lodge
Ranked #12 of 58 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Couldnt have felt more at home with such a welcoming atmosphere. A stunning lodge but with a very relaxing feel and great service. Set in the mountain with a beautiful terrace, made it difficult not to lounge the day away.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank weswilki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    20
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
38
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Wow! What an immaculate, comfortable, all round, fantastic place to stay! Lilien and Derek are the perfect hosts. They are professional, helpful and are always willing to go the extra mile. The breakfast was fantastic! Not many places serve muffins that are freshly baked that morning. The rooms are spacious and certainly not "past their prime"! Incredible attention was paid to detail and we could not ask for a more comfortable, peaceful environment. We will certainly be returning once again to Tarragona and hopefully make it an annual holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenEras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Made a four night booking online, arrived to be told (during a very busy period in CT) there was no booking. Showed the obnoxious owner Lilian our confirmation only for her to arguing it was a problem with the booking company not themselves an this has happened before so we should have called!?! Took no responsibility. They had a room for 1 night, to spite being 3pm the room still wasn't ready but eventually we settled in and was assured they would help us find some alternative accommodation. This didn't happen. After a long struggled we sorted it ourselves but Lilian insisted she called them.. Our alternative was booked. We called back to give payment details to be advised she hadn't held the room! Back to square one!!!

Accommodation was nice but severely let down by the owners. Publicly telling staff off (AWKWARD) then generally just being patronising. We're two female backpackers (28&26) told the area wasn't really for us and it was a family place.. We just wanted to unwind!!

There was also dogs in the breakfast room & dog poo on the lawn!!!

Also to spite what the website states this is purely a B&B no dinner/lunch options available.

They called us a taxi which had no back window and charged us 3 times what was quoted!!

We left more deflated after 1 night then we did when we arrived and didn't have a room!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank M1ssChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at taragona on a few occasions yet I Am always taken aback by the hospitality and warm welcome I recieve upon my arrival.

The hosts Lilien and Derek are professional,Hospitable and incredibly helpful. The staff are also very welcoming and warm.

One can't help feeling relax when staying at taragona. The rooms are large,beautifully furnished and have extremely comfortable beds... an added bonus is the magnificent view from your balcony or patio(depending on the room).


The breakfast is hearty and caters for all tastes including a hot cooked Breakfast and buffet table filed with fruit and freshly baked muffins.

I throughly enjoyed my stay at taragona and can not wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cailin0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed at Tarragona this past weekend and enjoyed ever minute of it. From the time you walk in you are made to feel welcome and at home. The rooms are large and extremely comfortable, the breakfast is incredible and the overall feel and setting makes it feel like a home away from home. Thank you Lilien and Derek for making my stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have amazing views from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudyy0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Once again I had the pleasure of staying at Tarragona Lodge and as usual I had a wonderful stay. Lilien and Derek are the perfect hosts, they are so welcoming and friendly making me feel right at home. The staff are also really delightful. As for the rooms, I wish I had a bed like that at home. After a long day there is nothing better than to settle down into the large and spacious rooms and relax with the gorgeous views and peaceful settings.

In the mornings there is such an amazing spread for breakfast, from fresh fruit and cheeses to freshly baked muffins and not to forget an incredible cooked breakfast.

Once again thank you Lilien and Derek, I am looking forward to my return in the new year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurentweedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Who want`s to become aquainted with Cape-Town even so he prefers a tranquil rural area embedded in a phantastic landscape has found the ideal lacation within the Tarragona Lodge.
The lodge is tastfully furnished in country stil with a distinguished touch and invited us to relax and feel comfortable.
The hotel operators Lilien and Derek Paxton were very helpful to find the best solution for excursions and trips.
A perfect and tastful breakfast completed the picture of harmony and well-being.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernhard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
2.5 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
3.6 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riverside Estates
Riverside Estates
#13 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.7 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 58 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarragona Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarragona Lodge

Property: Tarragona Lodge
Address: P.O.Box 26887 | Hout Bay, Hout Bay 7872, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tarragona Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tarragona Lodge, Four Star luxury accommodation and exclusive wedding venue, situated on the southern slopes of Table Mountain, one of the new 7 Wonders of Nature, in scenic Hout Bay on the Atlantic Seaboard. An ideal conference venue or to host your special event or function. Twenty minutes from the Cape Town City Centre and the very popular V & A Waterfront. Cape Town International Airport is an easy 25 minute drive.Tarragona Lodge is a world away from the hustle and bustle of city life but is very central to all the attractions of the Cape Peninsula. Situated in Hout Bay a working fishing harbour Tarragona is a short drive from Chapman's Peak and Camps Bay. The world renown Kirstenbosch Gardens are a five minute drive away. The World of Birds, the biggest bird park in Africa is on our door step. The Lodge boasts a lovely selection of bird books. Three wine estates are situated just over Constantia neck and we have 6 top class golf courses in close proximity.Tarragona Lodge is an ideal "Boutique Conference Venue". We have successfully hosted numerous corporate conferences, corporate events, corporate functions, team building as well as product launches. The location, architecture and grounds make it an excellent filming venue. Free Wi Fi is available.The ten spacious, well appointed and tastefully furnished suites make up the private accommodation of Tarragona Lodge. All have either a balcony overlooking, or patio opening onto, the lovely indigenous garden, pool and entertainment area. Each spacious unit is equipped with telephones, tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryers, satellite TV and built in safes.Mulligans, the cocktail bar at Tarragona Lodge, provides an excellent venue in which to relax, unwind and enjoy sundowners after a hectic day of "relaxation" in and around the Fairest Cape. During the winter months the Tarragona Lodge open hearth fires add to the allure of the accommodation.Breakfasts are special, a great start to your day, choose from a Continental buffet followed by hot English breakfast. Tarragona Lodge does offer lunch or dinner by arrangement, in addition Hout Bay and the environs are able to offer visitors a large selection of excellent eateries and restaurants to choose from, our helpful staff will gladly recommend some choices.We endeavour to be as Green as possible. Our hot water is via means of a heat pump, all packaging and glass is recycled and organic matter composted.Tarragona is a home from home, lovely spacious garden and children are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tarragona Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarragona Lodge Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing