We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, as long as you have a car”
Review of Tarragona Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tarragona Lodge
Ranked #11 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, as long as you have a car”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We've been to Cape Town before and stayed in the centre. But this was a much better place to stay, as long as you don't mind driving -and it's an easy city to drive around. We sometimes went into the city (Waterfront etc) and other days enjoyed the beaches, peninsula, wineries etc. We had a big family room, website had said sofa bed but in fact our two young kids (3 and 5) each had a single bed as well as the big bed for my wife and I. Excellent breakfast with cold buffet and cooked items to order, all included. Free wifi too if you want it. There's a nice lounge upstairs too but we didn't use it as we were happy in our room after a day exploring.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidLD12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    21
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
41
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We booked Tarragona after researching about 7 B and B's in Hout Bay where we were attending a wedding. We needed a place for 2 nights and I wanted a little bit of luxury away from home. Our room was absolutely freezing (there was no heating), the shower door didn't close properly and took forever to get hot water, the TV didn't have satellite and on one evening there was not signal at all on the TV. We called reception twice but no-one answered. The breakfast was good and the kitchen staff were very friendly, but no-one else greeted us during our 2 day stay or showed in interest in our stay. It certainly wasn't romantic or special for us. It was clean and functional, but very average.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzikrause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, MD
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

After spending 3 horrible nights in a very noisy hotel in Cape Town, and acquiring a splitting headache, this was just what the doctor ordered. It is a bit remote, about 20 minutes from the immediate city of Cape Town, and 7 minutes from Hout Bay, but it is worth it. You can always get a car, but If you just want to relax and do nothing, this is the place. This lodge is priced very inexpensive, and the rooms are very large with incredible high ceilings. There is no bad view; all 10 rooms face the gardens with beautiful mountain views. You feel as if you are in someone's mansion. It really is beautiful and great for a romantic getaway. Internet is free. Breakfast was so, so, and the wait staff was friendly. Don't try to do your own laundry, they don't allow it because there is no dryer on property. I found out the hard way. There were a few times I felt a little uncomfortable as if i was intruding, but overall everyone left you alone. During the evening, they called a taxi for me to go to Hout Bay for dinner. The food there is good and the ambience is very nice, right on the water.

I highly recommend this place for couples who need to spend quality, peaceful time with each other; individuals who are stressed and need to clear their heads; and those of us who valuable our sleep. This is top on my list and will return again in the near future.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Stayed with my 20 year old son at Tarragona Lodge for the World Cup. Though the England match was terrible, the hotel was a very good find.

At a time of hugely inflated prices in Cape Town, Tarragona represented excellent value. Very comfortable twin room, very clean, with lovely views over the garden and the rear of Table Mountain.

The staff were very friendly, even making us an early afternoon breakfast on the day of arrival. There is an honesty bar where guests can mingle. Breakfast was very good with a good choice of egg dishes each day.

It is about a 20 minute drive into the Centre of Cape Town and very close to the Kischenbosch Gardens, from which you can do a great trek up through Skeleton Gorge to the top of table mountain (circa 5 hours with guide).

I definately recommend this hotel as a comfortable, friendly hotel to stay in the Cape Town area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Korea
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

My friend and I visited South Africa because of the FIFA 2010 World Cup. Tarragona Lodge is in a perfect and quiet location from Hout Bay. We had a very nice stay there and next time I will bring my wife there as it is definitely a romantic spot. I loved the beautiful rooms, wonderful gardens and splendid views. Hout Bay is spectacular and a great spot to visit all that Cape Town has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

On a recent trip to Capetown we stumbled upon this Bed and Breakfast because we wanted a location near the famous garden Kirstenbosch. This b&b, located in Hout Bay, fit the bill perfectly. The rooms are modern with all conveniences. The grounds and public spaces are elegant and peaceful. Breakfast included a full English breakfast or a continental one, your choice. Staff was obliging and hooked us up with a great driver for the days we were there. Highly recommended for those who don't bind being a bit away from the bustle of Capetown but near enough to partake of its pleasures.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaFeTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2009

We enjoyed an excellent introduction to Cape Town and South Africa at Tarragona Lodge. Clifford made us very welcome and we could not fault the accommodation and facilities. A very relaxed stay and easy ambience!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andiseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
2.3 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
146 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Cap Serein Guest House
Cap Serein Guest House
#14 of 59 in Hout Bay
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
544 reviews
1.3 mi away
Victorskloof Lodge
Victorskloof Lodge
#3 of 23 in Hout Bay
17 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hout Bay View
Hout Bay View
#25 of 59 in Hout Bay
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarragona Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarragona Lodge

Property: Tarragona Lodge
Address: P.O.Box 26887 | Hout Bay, Hout Bay 7872, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tarragona Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tarragona Lodge, Four Star luxury accommodation and exclusive wedding venue, situated on the southern slopes of Table Mountain, one of the new 7 Wonders of Nature, in scenic Hout Bay on the Atlantic Seaboard. An ideal conference venue or to host your special event or function. Twenty minutes from the Cape Town City Centre and the very popular V & A Waterfront. Cape Town International Airport is an easy 25 minute drive.Tarragona Lodge is a world away from the hustle and bustle of city life but is very central to all the attractions of the Cape Peninsula. Situated in Hout Bay a working fishing harbour Tarragona is a short drive from Chapman's Peak and Camps Bay. The world renown Kirstenbosch Gardens are a five minute drive away. The World of Birds, the biggest bird park in Africa is on our door step. The Lodge boasts a lovely selection of bird books. Three wine estates are situated just over Constantia neck and we have 6 top class golf courses in close proximity.Tarragona Lodge is an ideal "Boutique Conference Venue". We have successfully hosted numerous corporate conferences, corporate events, corporate functions, team building as well as product launches. The location, architecture and grounds make it an excellent filming venue. Free Wi Fi is available.The ten spacious, well appointed and tastefully furnished suites make up the private accommodation of Tarragona Lodge. All have either a balcony overlooking, or patio opening onto, the lovely indigenous garden, pool and entertainment area. Each spacious unit is equipped with telephones, tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryers, satellite TV and built in safes.Mulligans, the cocktail bar at Tarragona Lodge, provides an excellent venue in which to relax, unwind and enjoy sundowners after a hectic day of "relaxation" in and around the Fairest Cape. During the winter months the Tarragona Lodge open hearth fires add to the allure of the accommodation.Breakfasts are special, a great start to your day, choose from a Continental buffet followed by hot English breakfast. Tarragona Lodge does offer lunch or dinner by arrangement, in addition Hout Bay and the environs are able to offer visitors a large selection of excellent eateries and restaurants to choose from, our helpful staff will gladly recommend some choices.We endeavour to be as Green as possible. Our hot water is via means of a heat pump, all packaging and glass is recycled and organic matter composted.Tarragona is a home from home, lovely spacious garden and children are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Tarragona Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarragona Lodge Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing