We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amblewood Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Hout Bay Manor(Hout Bay)
$203
$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel(Hout Bay)(Great Value!)
$142
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tintswalo Atlantic(Hout Bay)
$762
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$171
$164
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
$706
$505
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence(Constantia)(Great Value!)
$173
$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Steenberg Hotel(Constantia)
$163
$153
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Last Word Constantia(Constantia)
$249
$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveler rating
163
19
4
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
19
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfantastic viewsvictorian roomguest houseb bprivate balconycape townpool deckat homeperfect hostslocal informationdelightful place to stayweek holidaystayed nightsan excellent baseold friendslovely couplelocation was perfect
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 187 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2010

This was the 2nd visit to Amblewood B&B.
Great place to stay with superb hosts and fansastic views.
Only 20mins from the airport so very easy to find after a long flight.
Already planning to revisit again.
Would not hesitate staying for a 3rd time.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilkleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

We have just returned from a fabulous trip to South Africa and would really recommend this little gem of a place to stay. We booked it at the last minute (literally) when we were staying in Constantia and an hour later were being welcomed warmly (thanks to excellent directions - it is very easy to find). We opted for the suite which has incredible views over Haut Bay. I am sure I spent more time just taking pictures of the view than anything else. It is well placed for travelling around although I would say you need a car as it would be a pain getting taxis everywhere. All in all, this was a wonderful place to spend a few nights - relaxing, large comfy bed, great suite, lovely breakfast looking over the bay and a wonderful welcome from the lovely couple who run this place. We would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonorX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed August 17, 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

We chose this guest house from the Hout Bay website and first went there in 2004.
We have been every year since!
It is such a relaxed atmosphere with Mr and Mrs Kruger (Trevor and June)going out of their way to make one's stay as comfortable and stress free as possible.They are quite happy to drive and pick you up from local restaurants as well as make the booking for you.
The rooms are very comfortable and have all the basic ammenities such as fridge/tea and coffee making facilities,tv etc. Beds are very comfie and are super king size..I'm 6'4" and have plenty of room.
The property has probably one of the best views looking over Hout Bay that you can get.car parking is also no problem.
Finally mustn't forget Temba the Golden Labrador who also makes you feel at home.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiskinCamberleyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2009

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday in South Africa and finished off our last four nights at Amblewood Guest House. We were given recomentation from a SA couple we had met earlier in the week, all I can say is many thanks to them, we had a lovely stay there. Trevor and June made us more than welcome and gave us plenty of advice about where to visit and to eat on an evening and even booked the restaurant for us. Our room was very spacious, clean and nicely decorated, we walked straight out onto the decking where you could find sun loungers and a very nice pool. We spent a full afternoon in the sun by the pool, which we had completely to ourselves. There is a fridge stocked with wine and beer to which you help yourself and make a note of in the 'honesty box'. Breakfast was lovely in a morning sat out by the pool and the views were breathtaking. Would highly recomend and would definately visit again. Chris and Wendy Riley

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews