We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice Guest House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amblewood Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Amblewood Guest House
Ranked #8 of 61 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice Guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had a lovely stay at Amblewood Guest House thanks to Trevor and June who are very friendly. The place has a nice terrace and pool and a breathtaking view. The room is spacious and the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
125
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

This guest house is beautifully situated. What counts most are that the hosts are very helpful and extremely friendly. A swim in the nice swimming pool and a self help bar next to it lets you close your day in a civilized manner. The well appointed rooms with large beds let you sleep like in heaven. No wonder that we go back time and time again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank René Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Small Guesthouse in elevated position in a quiet area of Hout Bay. Convenient for local restaurants and the beach. Very friendly and helpful owners who serve an excellent breakfast by the pool.
Convenient for visit to Cape Point via impressive Chapmans Peak Drive and still handy for Cape Town by car or local bus.

Room Tip: First floor rooms with balconies overlook the pool and have fabulous views across the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

having booked a two night stay at the end of our holiday we couldn't have chosen a better place.the views from the bedrooms were wonderful looking over the bay. Excellent hosts who provided a wonderful breakfast each day

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
376 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had a great stay at Amblewood - 2 nights at the start of our holiday in the Inglenook room. The room is huge with its own veranda overlooking the bay. The view was stunning. The bed was large and extremely comfortable leading to excellent nights' sleep. There is every amenity you could need including a large safe, fridge and TV plus a very good bathroom. Breakfast is taken overlooking the bay and is delicious. We had been worried about lack of air-conditioning but the guest house is high up and has a breeze which keeps the temperature moderated and we would never have needed it. There is an honesty bar and delightful area to sit with books by the swimming pool. The drive into town is short and there is a very good choice of restaurants and an excellent beach. What makes a stay here even better is the delightful owners who provide advice on what to do and are amazingly helpful. Amblewood is a really good Guest House and is strongly recommended - we will definitely return..

Room Tip: We loved the Inglenook room for its size and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We just love this place - just stayed for the 6th time and we still love this place.
Its so handy for everything but the best things besides the owners and the dog its only 20 minutes from the airport.
June and trevor welcome you as old friends and its nice and relaxing from the minute you arrive.
This time had a room upstairs which was superb. Great views and just a great start to a 3 week holiday.
See you in December 2014.

Room Tip: All rooms have fantastic views but overall the upstairs ones - take the biscuit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilkleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beds
Level Contributor
131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We saved the best until last and spent the last two days of our trip to SA in Amblewood. It is a haven of peace & tranquility, with beautiful bedrooms, a lovely deck and pool, and magnificent views across the bay. Trevor and June were perfect hosts - friendly, attentive and professional.
We enjoyed long lingering breakfasts on the verandah while chatting with Trevor, and we came back in mid-afternoon each day to make the most of the pool and all that Amblewood has to offer. Wifi internet access was available throughout the house and verandah, which our daughters appreciated! The restaurants and town weren't within safe walking distance unfortunately, but Trevor was always able to offer advice and make bookings for us. Amblewood was one of the highlights of our trip to SA, and we have already recommended it to our friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan-J-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 61 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 61 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#10 of 61 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.6 mi away
Poseidon Guest House
Poseidon Guest House
#9 of 61 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amblewood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amblewood Guest House

Property: Amblewood Guest House
Address: 43 Skaife Street, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amblewood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Amblewood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amblewood Guest House Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing