We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th Stay - Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amblewood Guest House
Ranked #9 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Great place to start a 3 week trip in Western Cape.
Its close to the airport which is great after a long flight, and easy to find.
Trevor and June are great hosts.
Location is superb, on the hillside overlooking Hout Bay, very quiet and relaxing.
Hopefully may see you again at the end of 2012!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilkleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Amblewood Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 164 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2011

We spents here 10 nights and explored Cape Town and the whole area from here. Even Hout Bay is very nice with very good restaurants. The guest house is very nice, perfectly situated up on the hills, with a magnificiant view of Hout Bay. It is a very calm place and Trevor and June are very-very nice people, really give you a perfect service.
Rooms are very nice, have enough space, cleaned every day.
Very good place to be! :o)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blezsuzsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

what a fabulous place; we stayed 6 nights and I highly recommend it for touring the cape and surrounds. the rooms are beautiful with a small balcony/terrace and fantastic views accross Hout Bay, a fridge, tea/coffee facilites, excellent bathrooms, delightful breakfast area, deck and pool. Faultless place and service, very hospitable and friendly hosts who at the same time give you space, very good breakfasts, could imagine staying anywhere else and we found it by accident on trip advisor. we were delighted with our stay.

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely - there are only 5/6 - maybe 3 upstairs with terrace/balcony - downstairs open...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelleralways2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

A wonderful ,and quiet,position overlooking Hout Bay. Excellent hosts and amenities

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room .the views from the balcony are stunning
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Trevor & June make their home so welcoming and there is always a good bit of 'banter' to be had with Trevor when he is not cooking up or serving the delicious breakfasts. Our loft suite was great and the massive bed so very comfie - great for collapsing into after our days out exploring and enjoying the very good and varied restaurants of Hout Bay. It's a great base for exploring CT and the peninsula, with everything within easy driving distance.

Great home, lovely hosts, fab food and grand views across to the harbour and 'Sentinel'. Thanks for a lovely stay folks. Rob & Ang

Room Tip: The Loft Suite is very large, has a great bathroom and a separate lounge leading on to the balcony o...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob_log
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

My wife and I planned a trip to Cape town and went via tripadvisor to get accommodation. That is how we ended up at Amblewood. We spent two nights with June and Trevor, and they made us feel truly welcome from the minute that we arrived. They advised us on activities in the area, as well as where to dine and where not. They even offered to make reservations on our behalf no matter where we wanted to go. They made us feel like long lost friends, and are of the warmest and friendliest people we have ever met. Nothing was too much for them, not even helping me to download pictures from my camera when it was full. Oh, the room! Well that was as great as the hosts. Clean, spacious, with a bar fridge, tv and on suit bathroom. They also have free WiFi for the internet. In short: absolutely superb. Great views! it was with great sadness that we left after the second night. Breakfast is very good and goes together with friendly chatting. the pool is sparkling and you have a superb view of the bay from the pool deck. Our room opened out onto the pool deck and so does the dining room. We will definitely not hesitate to go back. Thanks June and Trevor.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We spent four lovely days at Amblewood before travelling on to Plettenberg Bay. A perfect place to relax after a long flight. Wonderful views of Hout Bay and very peaceful. Trevor and June are a lovely couple and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast each day was excellent .The bedroom we stayed in had a separate seating area which was great to relax in after a day out. We wouldnt hesitate to stay at Amblewood again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelaformby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#10 of 59 in Hout Bay
183 reviews
1.6 mi away
Poseidon Guest House
Poseidon Guest House
#6 of 59 in Hout Bay
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hout Bay Hideaway
The Hout Bay Hideaway
#8 of 59 in Hout Bay
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amblewood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amblewood Guest House

Address: 43 Skaife Street, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range: $99 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amblewood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those visitors looking for the unusual, the warm and the welcoming in bed and breakfasts look no further than Amblewood Guest House. This bed and breakfast offers traditional hospitality and charm. Surrounded by mountains and with a profusion of mature trees and shrubs, Amblewood is a tranquil escape from one's day-to-day routine. Owners, Trevor and June, live on the property and are therefore always on hand. Amblewood’s charm and sense of spaciousness are perfectly blended with a homely, comfortable atmosphere. ALL rooms have unique views of the ocean, Hout Bay harbour, beach and the Sentinel Mountain. Each room is styled in a quirky, original or personal style, which seeks to avoid the box-like, mass-produced feel of the hotel chain. The rooms invite one to come in, relax, put your feet up and sleep well. The emphasis at Amblewood is on relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amblewood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amblewood Guest House Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing