We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amblewood Guest House
Ranked #9 of 58 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A room with a view”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

A wonderful ,and quiet,position overlooking Hout Bay. Excellent hosts and amenities

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room .the views from the balcony are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
126
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingswinford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Trevor & June make their home so welcoming and there is always a good bit of 'banter' to be had with Trevor when he is not cooking up or serving the delicious breakfasts. Our loft suite was great and the massive bed so very comfie - great for collapsing into after our days out exploring and enjoying the very good and varied restaurants of Hout Bay. It's a great base for exploring CT and the peninsula, with everything within easy driving distance.

Great home, lovely hosts, fab food and grand views across to the harbour and 'Sentinel'. Thanks for a lovely stay folks. Rob & Ang

Room Tip: The Loft Suite is very large, has a great bathroom and a separate lounge leading on to the balcony o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob_log
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2011

My wife and I planned a trip to Cape town and went via tripadvisor to get accommodation. That is how we ended up at Amblewood. We spent two nights with June and Trevor, and they made us feel truly welcome from the minute that we arrived. They advised us on activities in the area, as well as where to dine and where not. They even offered to make reservations on our behalf no matter where we wanted to go. They made us feel like long lost friends, and are of the warmest and friendliest people we have ever met. Nothing was too much for them, not even helping me to download pictures from my camera when it was full. Oh, the room! Well that was as great as the hosts. Clean, spacious, with a bar fridge, tv and on suit bathroom. They also have free WiFi for the internet. In short: absolutely superb. Great views! it was with great sadness that we left after the second night. Breakfast is very good and goes together with friendly chatting. the pool is sparkling and you have a superb view of the bay from the pool deck. Our room opened out onto the pool deck and so does the dining room. We will definitely not hesitate to go back. Thanks June and Trevor.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We spent four lovely days at Amblewood before travelling on to Plettenberg Bay. A perfect place to relax after a long flight. Wonderful views of Hout Bay and very peaceful. Trevor and June are a lovely couple and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast each day was excellent .The bedroom we stayed in had a separate seating area which was great to relax in after a day out. We wouldnt hesitate to stay at Amblewood again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelaformby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We had been recommended this guest house and it lived up to all our expectations. The owners provided the happy balance of being friendly but not intrusive. Full of information and help when one wanted advice re our travel plans. Perfect location – peaceful with stunning views. Stylish rooms

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolSymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2011

.arrived at amblewood for our 1st stop on our south african trip, and what a pleasant guest house, a friendly welcome from trevor and we settled into our comfortable, spacious family suite, and what a view to hout bay from our balcony, stunning....
trevor and june are one of the most genuine couple you will ever meet, helpful with advice if needed, they made our stay very enjoyable, serving up an excellent breakfast each morning. we would have no hesitation in coming back to this lovely guest house.
our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jobell862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Datchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Stayed here towards the end of summer. Wonderful relaxation and lovely to talk to Trevor and June who are the most hospitable and friendly hosts who can advise on good days out and trips.

The views are stunning, the rooms comfortable. Amblewood is the perfect base for Cape Town, the wine lands and all local points of interest.

We unwound! A great 3 nights, we should have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Try to spot it whilst walking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lutra8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
1.6 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 58 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#10 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.6 mi away
Poseidon Guest House
Poseidon Guest House
#8 of 58 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amblewood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amblewood Guest House

Property: Amblewood Guest House
Address: 43 Skaife Street, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amblewood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Amblewood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amblewood Guest House Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing