We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not live up to expectations”
Review of Froggs Leap

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hout Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Froggs Leap
Ranked #25 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 24, 2009

Having read in several places on the internet advertising this property as having magnificent sea-views, we felt duped to find the main bed and breakfast house facing towards the valley. Please see pictures of sea view taken from far end of the verandah of house being the only visible sea view open to guests. I had an email to say that we had a sea view room - and again this was abysmal, to see the sea ( just a little bit of it ) one had to put your cheek at a right angle to the window and look side on to see a glimse of blue. For the camera shot I had my camera on the window at right angles. Apparently we had been upgraded -- as we had paid top price for the room at their rates - I did wonder what exactly the up grade was. To be fair the room opposite ours probably did get a reasonable sea-view but this would be the only one in the main house that did, we certainly did not get what we booked..
This was the most expensive of our B and B stays in South Africa and this review will reflect that, as somewhere cheaper I would not expect to have had the high quality of bed-linnen and furnishings of which Froggs Leap had. What did let the side down was the little things that should not happen -- ie on arrival there was only one tea-bag on the hostess tray which was not replenished the next day along with the milk - we had to ask the owner late afternoon for more tea bags and milk, I was informed that I could get it from the fridge in the kitchen in the main house which was marked private. I found that on opening the 3/4 full milk plastic bottle that this was off so had to open a new one. The house maids should be sufficiently trained by the owners to replenish the refreshment room trays. Other gripes -- to pour hot water from kettle to mug you had to unplug kettle every time as flex did not stretch to cup ( why not have a slightly more expensive ketlle that just lifted off its base). Breakfast was served between 8am and 10am -- we like to pack a lot into a day so went down at just past 8 -- the maids were still doing the finnishing touches to the table ( which we didnt mind as we sat down ) but what did grate was the hostess brusque manner in announcing to us that we were early !!!! as though we should have come down later. She also reprimanded the maids in front of the guests which should have been done in private. One of the maids seemed very nervous just being there. The second morning the more outgoing of the maids came from outside carrying the herbs for breakfast ( chives ) -- in her mouth and into the kitchen. The cushions for our outside balcony chairs were very water stained and as they were placed against the wall in our bedroom did nothing for the overall ambiance of the room. Cheap flat plastic coat hangers instead of wooden ones hung in the open recess for clothes in the bathroom area. Only one bathrobe hung up in need of a companion . The corner bath had straight sides so was very uncomfortable and also it was quite shallow. ( Needed a curved back to relax in -- suggest the owners try it and rethink to put a more comfortable one in - in the future ). Shower had black mold in corners. The pool was green and therefore not ready for use despite good weather.
Good points -- breakfast was a good spread . Hout bay is a gorgeous setting and it is lovely to drive the coastal route to Cape Town. Would I stay here again -- No -- I would hunt around for a place with a view of the bay .

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bruinobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 48 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2009

stayed for 2 nights in January 2009 having been recommended by a relative. would say that having travelled over most of S.Africa this was by far the best B&B, great accommodation, delightful hosts who could not do enough to make your stay the best ever. B & H London

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfaddict9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

Superb food, beautiful rooms tastefully furnished with such attention to detail, views across the bay a bonus. Owners and staff had a genuine concern for the guests. Nowhere else booked a restaurant in advance 'in case we needed it' - we shall return.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twooffour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

Beautiful rooms, beautiful food and beautiful people. Such attention to detail and happy atmosphere made out 2 day stay so wonderful. Just the best !!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mufti9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2007

We had a lovely stay at Froggs Leap, mainly thanks to the hospitality of the owners, Joke and Stewart, and the staff. Our room was located downstairs to the main house and is a very nice room although it didn't have any views. The rooms upstairs had amazing views over Hout Bay and the mountains so when we return, we will be sure to book in advance!

The Guesthouse is very clean and has very nice toiletries. Yoke is an interior designer so the rooms are very stylish, modern and fresh. Hout Bay is an excellent place to stay if you have a car as it's not far from central Cape Town or the Constantia wine route.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kite77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2007

We booked our stay at Froggs Leap via the Portfolio Collection website. Unfortunately there were no reviews via TripAdsvisor so we took a little risk with this one. However the guest house proved to be wonderfully relaxing for our final two nights in SA. We used the time here to travel down the Cape Peninsula and just to relax after a wonderful holiday.
The accommodation and room were perfect for our requirements, with good quality and spacious bedrooms, with separate bathroom and shower room. The room also had a private deck with sun loungers. Downstairs the guests shared a sitting room/breakfast area plus veranda. The owners live in a separate house just down the street.
We were lucky that one of the days we stayed included a Sunday and there is a really good craft market on the village green just down the hill from the guest house - this was one of the best we found in SA, because it wasn't just aimed at tourists it was also for the locals.
What a great find - thoroughly recommended to others, but book ahead they are busy - all the rooms were booked the nights we stayed.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JBorni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
154 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Brightwater Lodge
Brightwater Lodge
#22 of 59 in Hout Bay
51 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Afrique
Villa Afrique
#21 of 59 in Hout Bay
54 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hout Bay View
Hout Bay View
#26 of 59 in Hout Bay
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Froggs Leap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Froggs Leap

Address: 1 Baviaans Close, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Froggs Leap Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing