We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great accommodation and lovely staff”
Review of The Tarragon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hout Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tarragon
Ranked #3 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great accommodation and lovely staff”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We loved the tarragon, the location was great, the rooms lovely and pool area was fab! The staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for us. The staff cleaned our rooms every day and Mark and Julia were exceptional hosts. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuzzyBeeDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
287
150
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Myself and my husband stayed in The Tarragon March 2014 and we loved every minute if it! Mark, the owner met us on arrival and was extremely helpful. He even drove us down around Hout Bay the first day to show us the area.
We stayed in Saffron which was beautiful. We had friends, 3 other couples who were with us too that week and their cottages were equally lovely.
Our room was serviced everyday by the great staff.
The pool and the view are stunning! Nestled high in the hills above Hout Bay. This may be the only negative if you wanted to be walking distance to the restaurants but it is only 10 minutes drive. Mark recommended an excellent taxi driver called Wyse who brought all of us out each night and collected us.
I would highly recommend The Tarragon, friendly staff, immaculate rooms, beautiful views and lovely touches like fresh flowers and a bottle of Champagne in the fridge on our arrival!
We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nhughes98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerkrade, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is what I did not expect: a lovely house with a stunning view on the surrounding; and what a beautifully kept garden with a comfortable pool. Very friendly staff and helpfull in finding answers on our questions.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Our cottage at The Tarragon was very comfortable and beautifully furnished. It met all of our requirements. Each cottage is very private with its own little sunbathing and BBQ areas affording beautiful views over the valley.
The pool setting is glorious, again with wonderful views - so peaceful and quiet.
The facilities are very good, you can even do your laundry there. The office has a DVD library which was another nice touch.
The staff were lovely and friendly.
To sum up, it felt like a safe, luxurious home for the duration of our stay. We will certainly be staying at The Tarragon again on our next trip to Cape Town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

miles up a steep and winding road is the tarragon, it's at the top of a very nice road with beautiful properties either side. the gates open and there are about 5 cottages with views out across hout bay and beautifully kept gardens.
it feels very peaceful, secluded, has a great pool, and the host mark is a great guy very friendly and knowledgeable. accommodation is spacious, only suggestion would be that the kitchen facilities need modernising but with a backdrop this nice it doenst really matter.
would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

There are few places in the world where I get to really relax and unwind, The Tarragon is now my Number one. There is a tranquility and beauty between the accomodation, views of the valley and the luxurious pool and garden terraces. Having visited Hout Bay since 2004 I'm surprised it took me so long to discover this idealic retreat. My expectations of South Africa get higher each year as every experience becomes 'the best'. This trip we experienced better than best at the Ivy Cottage. Everything you need inside but more importantly a host and team who make you feel welcomed not as customers but as guests. Can't really say anymore about how good The Tarragon is, you're just going to have to visit yourself.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Essex
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

If you are looking for a totally relaxing holiday in Cape town there is no better place to base yourself than the Tarragon.Well equipped cottages around a lovely pool in peaceful gardens on the hillside outside Hout Bay make the ideal location as there is always a lovely breeze blowing through the gardens & keeping you cool at night.From here it is an easy trip in to the attractions of Cape Town.Mark & Julia are great hosts who have always enhanced our stays by their ready help with any problems or information we have needed, which is why it remains our favourite place to wind down above anywhere else we have stayed in Cape Town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob-Howlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
2.6 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
146 reviews
1.6 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pure Guest House
Pure Guest House
#2 of 59 in Hout Bay
162 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 59 in Hout Bay
248 reviews
2.7 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#10 of 59 in Hout Bay
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tarragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tarragon

Property: The Tarragon
Address: 21 Hunters Way, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Tarragon Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing