We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to hide away and relax”
Review of The Tarragon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hout Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tarragon
Ranked #3 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to hide away and relax”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We only spent one night at the Tarragon and we booked because of the big pool, where we wanted to spend our last day of the holiday relaxing before a long flight. It was a great choice - particularly because lots of pools in south africa are tiny and this was a proper sized one! Our kids loved it. The apartment was huge and comfortable and good value. Mark was keen to help with anything we needed. The hotel has the most complex security system we encountered in south africa, with lazer beam alarms on the bedroom doors which had the converse effect of making me feel a little less secure than other places. But thoroughly recommended as a sanctuary from the city sightseeing with beautiful views and a warm welcome.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
287
150
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Tarragon and in the same cottage too. There is so much to like here that we are going back next year. The cottages are very comfortable, our one bedroom one had a separate kitchen and shower room and bedroom with spacious lounge area. Mark and the staff are so helpful, the cottages are immaculate, the grounds are beautifully kept and the nightwatchman gave us a lighter for the barbecue. There is a lovely view across the valley, the pool is first class - the baby of the family staying in a cottage by the pool adored it! It's easy to get to most of the tourist atttractions in the Cape. Actually I'm not sure why I'm not keeping it a secret but then again, everyone else likes it too...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We returned to The Tarragon a year after our first visit as we had such a fantastic time.

The location is perfect, far enough from the city to be relaxing and yet near enough (easy 25-30 min drive) to explore. Hout Bay is a great area with lots of places to eat and the beaches are within easy reach.

The rooms are fantastic and offer everything you could want. We stayed in Angelica - which was superb with a great terrace.

This is a great place and is one of the best places we have stayed anywhere in the world, and that includes 5 star hotels and resorts.

Perfect!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustinP186390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed at The Tarragon (in 'Thyme') for 5 nights in Feb. The location of this cottage right by the pool was perfect for being able to dip in and out and let the older kids play safely, constantly in our sight. The veranda looks straight out onto the garden and the great view of the mountains beyond - a perfect setting for an evening BBQ under the stars! Even though The Tarragon was full whilst we were there, the positioning of the cottages makes you feel like you have private, uninterrupted space to yourselves, whilst the communal areas are great for meeting new friends - especially for the kids . Mark and his team are that great combination of helpful, friendly and efficient, which makes you feel like you are really being looked after. Having stayed in numerous B&Bs and self-catering cottages around the cape - this one really does have it all.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The Tarragon provides excellent self catering facilities, all spacious and well equipped apartments.The gardens and heated swimming pool are first class and there is a view across the valley to the mountains. Mark and his crew are extremely helpful, cheerful and nothing is too much trouble. The situation is good for trips out around the Cape.

Room Tip: We stayed in Saffron which is very suitable for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinny49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed at the Tarragon for two nights in February with our 2-year-old. We stayed in the Jasmine appartment.

We had spent 4 nights at a very nice boutique hotel in Sea Point before, but the Tarragon was much better suited for us - as a family base for our trips into Cape Towns surroundings.

Jasmine is very spacious with a well-equipped kitchen and beautiful terrace. It also feels quite secluded and you have lots of privacy, so a temper attack of your little ones won't draw any stares.

Children are very welcome at the Tarragon and the self-catering makes it easy to keep them happy. Mark & Julia also had good tips for child-friendly restaurants for us.

There's a very nice and quite warm pool available where you can meet the other families staying there (at least three while we were there). There's also a playground we lacked the time to check out.

Mark & Julia are very friendly and helpful and the same goes for the staff.

Definitely recommend staying there while you explore Cape Town and vicinity!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taumee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Mark and his team are the most warm, down to earth, efficient and helpful hosts ever! Add to that living spaces that work and a stunning environment. It's like being at home with all the treats and luxuries all the time. Anna, Greg, Oliver and Pertti.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
443 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
146 reviews
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
544 reviews
Pure Guest House
#2 of 59 in Hout Bay
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tarragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tarragon

Property: The Tarragon
Address: 21 Hunters Way, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Tarragon Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing