We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tarragon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hout Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tarragon
Save
You added The Tarragon to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 61 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zeist, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at The Tarragon! Perfect spacious, well decorated house, stunning views and a perfect spot to explore Cape Town and the winelands. Beautiful garden, great swimming pool and a very friendly host. We highly recommend this place!!!

Room Tip: We stayed at the cottage Angelica which was perfect for a family of 5 or 6 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AstridvanV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTarragon, Owner at The Tarragon, responded to this review, December 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments,we hope to see you again at The Tarragon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
254
141
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed in The Tarragon whilst on a business/ pleasure trip. We experienced two of the accommodations - Jasmine and Angelica.

Jasmine - clean, spacious, great little outdoor space.
Angelica - just stunning! Perfect for a small group of family or friends. Large outdoor area with amazing views.

We had access to a laundry room which was very useful. The Internet (or lack of it) was a problem at the time but I do think this was a temporary issue and the owners reimbursed us for this inconvenience.

Location - the property is in a secure 'estate'. We had no worries about our safety, but don't let your guard down because of this.

We didn't use the pool or garden because the weather was cold, but it was all very well maintained and beautiful.

Overall we were super happy and would not hesitate to recommend The Tarragon and wild certainly stay there again if back in the area.

Room Tip: Angelica - just stunning! Perfect for a small group of family or friends. Large outdoor area with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sjdoum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mervilla, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Hout bay is clearly one of the best place to stay when you are visiting Cape town area with a family and "The Tarragon" just makes our stay in cape town unforgettable. It's a really fantastic place.
Mark and Julia are great hosts and can advise you for everything, restaurants and attractions and can even fix things for you such as a visit in Hout bay township (and it's a really appreciated thing since we are french and it's not that easy to fix things by ourselves). They even let us stay in the biggest cottage available named "Angelica" while we have asked for a smaller one. We really appreciated this way to manage cottages.
We really deeply recommend this cottage.
Jean-françois and Muriel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Tarragon is a rather unusual vacation experience. The setting is spectacular -- right at the base of Table Mountain in a very affluent community. The properties around it are obviously owned by very well off people. The Tarragon itself is a spectacular property that is very secure. The rooms are actually fully equipped apartments, with a bedroom, living room, kitchen, eating area and very nice bath. The grounds are immaculate and have a very nice pool. Transportation can be limited, so you are best advised to either rent a car, or use the driver that the proprietor recommends. His name is Wise, and he speaks perfect English and is a true gentleman. Wise took us everywhere: the waterfront, the Botanical gardens, a winery, even around the Cape of Good Hope. He is a true gem.

The one thing I would recommend, if you don't have a car, is bring a backpack. There is a grocery store that is about a 25 minute walk, but the return is all uphill.

I would definitely come again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CAPTJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

In terms of locality, the beautiful views of Cape Town and security of the area this was the best choice I made. The cottage we stayed in (Angelica) was the most suitable cottage and we shared it as 3 couples and it was the most convinient cottage. The sitting room (lounge) is big enough and the dinning table; as well as there are adequate in the kitchen and house (WiFi etc).

Room Tip: If you are a family please choose Angelica as it is meant for and suitable for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nobom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We like to spoil ourselves a bit at the end of our holidays... our last stop in South Africa was at The Tarragon which was perfect! It's located a quiet area with lots of trees and a beautiful garden with ponds and pool, but also still near the "must go" places Cape Town, Table Mountain Cableway, Cape Peninsula and Chapman's Peak Drive. The spacious cottage was very comfortable with tasteful decorations and there's a large selection of DVD movies to choose from. We enjoyed cooking some of our meals on the large barbeque - the supermarket nearby is of very good quality. Thanks to the whole team who works hard to make our stay a real pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Inge K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We have seen a lot of nice places all over the world. Even in CT we spent a lot
of weeks enjoying the wonderful surounding. Hout Bay actually could touch our main
interest because meanwhile we are feeling a bit like coming home if coming again.
Guesthouse we saw many, any actually we also saw many advises on different platforms.

Lucky we that we finally found one more reason to go to Hout Bay again and again. We stayed in Tarragon Guesthouse and honestly speaking, we could not believe what we every day
enjoyed; pure and lovely feeling, quite and calm but close to beach and restaurants. We stayed
there at least 10 days and hardly we willing to move out after our vacation. If someone is looking for relaxing time in paradise, he should not miss the Tarragaon Guesthouse. The people are easy and helpful and the accomodation with the huge quite property you won't believe!!!
Looking for real Nr. 1 ? We now the place in Hout Bay :-)
by the way, hout bay beach offers a nice beach facing GYM, really good!

Room Tip: we stays in small room in front of the KOI-basin, very nice !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thomas d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
3.7 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
4.3 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 13 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
2.0 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#2 of 4 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
1.6 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 61 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tarragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tarragon

Property: The Tarragon
Address: 21 Hunters Way, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Tarragon Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing