We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Love, care & attention make this a great place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tarragon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hout Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tarragon
Ranked #3 of 61 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Love, care & attention make this a great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2008

I was expecting a lot, based on all the raving reviews. Let me tell you: my expectations where not met. They were surpassed. Big time. From the moment you enter the gate you think but one thing: "WOW!". And you keep on thinking that for quite a while with every corner you turn.

The Tarragon is in fact a luxury property that has been divided up into several self contained units. Some big, some bigger. I stayed in Jasmine (the smallest or rather least biggest) and it was beautiful. Although the units are all on the same property and more or less part of one structure they feel very private.

You can tell that the owners have a great love for this place. Mark was there to welcome me personally and he is a very nice guy. Remember that if you arrive late you should bring some groceries. The nearest store closes at 8pm (3 min drive) but there is also a large Spar that is open till late (8 min drive).

You do need a car to stay at this property. It is not IN Cape Town, but in Houtbaai, a nice residential community. That makes for a far nicer stay in my opinion. Getting to Cape Town centre takes about 15 minutes. When you arrive you get a nice map pointing out some of the nicer spots in the area. I like this part of the Cape very much. It feels safe, also because The Tarragon is on a secured estate and itself has a big fence around it. Not that I expect you really need it there.

I would recommend the Tarragon also for the business traveller. It is the perfect apartment for when you need to do business in the area for shorter or longer periods. You can entertain guests easily and the wireless internet is fast and free.

Some other plusses:
Wonderful bed, nice powerful shower, TV + DVD player, fully equipped kitchen (with even some basic stuff like oil, salt, pepper etc), perfectly maintained ground, laundry is cheap and perfectly done and well: too much to tell.

Hard to imagine you get all this at a very reasonable price. All in all a perfect find. I would return in a heart beat.

Mark: thank you for being the perfect host!

  • Liked — The feel of the place, the attention to detail, the home-away-from-home sensation
  • Disliked — That it is 12hrs flying from my home, otherwise I would go every weekend.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Henkybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
275
147
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2008

A haven of tranquil beauty in a sleepy little town surrounded by stunning, majestic landscapes.
This is what I came up with when I decided to describe The Tarragon in one little sentence.
Not something very easy to do because our stay there brings back so many thoughts and emotions.

We arrived about 5pm from our exhausting flights from Paris and JNB to be met by a very warm and reassuring Mark. He took the time to show us around and made us feel very welcome. Over the next few days, Mark was always to be found and was excellent on advice for restaurants, hikes, weather… just about anything! But he and Julia were very discreet and it felt like we had the place to our own.
Our four nights there were everything we had hoped and expected: days of discovery and adventure followed by cosy evenings in the beautiful Jasmine room which overlooked the koi pond. At the back were other rooms/suites overlooking the pool and the magical view over the valley.
At the end of each day we returned to our lodging with the very warm feeling that we were going “home” and not just back to some accommodation. A very warm feeling in the pit of one’s stomach…
I could go on and on, but all I can really say is go there yourselves. Meet Mark and Julia, settle into the quiet comfort of The Tarragon and enjoy beautiful Hout Bay and the surroundings. We will certainly be going back there…!

  • Liked — large rooms, views, nature
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank frenchkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2008

We absolutely loved the Tarragon. We found the location perfect for exploring Cape Town and the surrounding area. The accommodation was beautiful; very stylish but also truly relaxing and very comfortable. The owners were absolutely charming and their attention to detail was exceptional. Can't wait to stay there again.

  • Liked — Lovely lovely setting
  • Disliked — Liked everything
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HayleyJ16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2008

We spent a total of 4 nights at the Tarragon on two separate occasions and had a great stay both times. The location is excellent - just inland from Hout Bay means that it's far enough but not too far from Cape Town, and a short drive from Chapmans Peak and the rest of the Cape peninsula. The properties are very tastefully designed, the beds are great and there are good views across the valley from the terraces and the swimming pool / garden. The owners, Mark and Julia, also went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one, starting with champagne in the firdge when we arrived, lending us a local guidebook and recommending various restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesreynolds79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2008

We stayed at one of the Tarragons houses - about 4 miles away from the Tarragon itself. It was simply wonderful. Clean, fresh and very elegant - staff came in every day to tidy up, and always left it spotless - flowers always put in vases on all the tables. We had a simply magical time. First class all round.

  • Liked — Bright, fresh and airy with everything to hand
  • Disliked — that we had to leave it!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Biddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2008

We selected The Tarragon based on its ranking within Trip Advisor and the very positive comments. Sometimes, when a place has been so critically acclaimed your expectations are so high that the reality is a disappointment - this is certainly NOT the case with The Tarragon

From the moment you arrive, you feel very much at home in the tranquil and luxurious surroundings - made even more welcoming by Mark and Julia's warm hospitality. In addition, it is ideally placed for visiting all of the spectacular destinations in and around the Cape

Thoroughly recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LumbyMarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2008

The Tarragon is a wonderful oasis. The apartments are beautifully decorated and have great views.

It is also in a great position. It is close to Hout Bay (fabulous beach), Llandudno (another beautiful beach - go there for world-class sunsets), Camps Bay (fabulous beach and restaurants), Chapman's Peak (out-of-this world views) and Constantia (for great wine, meals and picnics). It's also only 15 minutes from the centre of Cape Town (for some hustle and bustle) and Table Mountain.

Mark and Julia couldn't be more welcoming and full of handy tips and advice. The staff are great and the facilities just what you need for a relaxing break.

There is a downside - leaving......

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSELondoners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
12.5 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
3.7 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
1.6 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 61 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pure Guest House
Pure Guest House
#2 of 61 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 61 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.4 mi away
Intaba Lodge
Intaba Lodge
#6 of 61 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tarragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tarragon

Property: The Tarragon
Address: 21 Hunters Way, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Tarragon Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing