We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of The Tarragon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hout Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tarragon
Ranked #3 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

For our family it was the perfect end to the perfect holiday. The lovely owners met us on arrival giving us all the neccessary information on this wonderful city, maps, attractions, places to eat etc. We then spent the next 4 days trying to fit it all in. The only trouble was when we were out and about we were not using Tarragons great facilities.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JP-SA-M-PREECE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 528 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Tarragon was a perfect destination for our family of 4 from OZ. Located in beautiful Hout Bay, the property is just 15 minutes drive from the centre of Cape Town via a stunning coastal drive. We stayed in Angelica, which had loads of space and comfort, an awesome deck overlooking the mountains and easy access to the swimming pool and landscaped gardens. Mark was always on hand to provide recommendations on local restaurants and attractions and helped us plan our day trips to Cape Point and the wineries, all of which were easily accessible from Hout Bay. There are supermarkets close by for your self-catering needs and we always felt perfectly safe in the area. Make sure you get to the Hout Bay Markets on a Friday night and drive down to Llandudno for one of the most stunning little beaches you will ever see. I have no hesitation in recommending a long stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Munners63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We came back for our third stay recently, arriving just after Christmas and staying for 9 nights.

It's a real pleasure coming back here. Our boys have grown up with this almost as a holiday home. Our youngest, who is now just under 3 and on his second visit wanted to stay forever - even if his parents had to go home!

We stayed in Thyme for the second time (we have also stayed in Ivy and Angelica). We like the fact that Thyme is right next to the Swimming Pool and as the weather was excellent once again, we went swimming most days. It's never busy as the number of cottages is small, but there is just enough interaction with other families to make it perfect for the boys.

The boys also liked "helping" Advocate the Gardener.They particularly liked watering the garden - but I'm sure they were just slowing him down. But as with all the staff here, Advocate was great, he took time to let the children water the plants with him.

Despite being rather disorganised and only requesting babysitting in early December, Mark and Julia were able to get the same (excellent) babysitter for the 3 nights we requested at what is the peak holiday period. They even offered to sit themselves if they couldn't get a babysitter - that is what you call service.

Housekeeping was once again excellent - better than 5 star hotels. The ability to leave a basket of dirty clothes and see them return washed and ironed the next day is just such a good facility when travelling with young children.

The main problem you'll find with The Tarragon is being able to secure the sought after dates - UK school holidays in particular. We booked more than 15 months in advance and still couldn't get the full two weeks. It is of course made worse by the repeat visitors just like us, who change from being a family with children of pre-school age to school age.

The only real negative for us is that the very child orientated restaurant Scarecrows (which was by the local Spar supermarket) has closed since our last trip and not open during the weekdays.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonWB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We (a Dutch family of four, living in Paris now) spent a fantastic three weeks in South Africa and decided to spent our final three days in Taragon. Now we are sorry we did not stay a bit longer...

The location is superb (and safe) and the view of the town and the surrounding mountains from the well equipped house (we had the one for 6 persons), the glorious gardens and the lovely pool is truly magnificent. Mark and Julia are the perfect hosts, who will always tell you what to do in and around Kaapstad and in Houtbaai itself (what a lovely place! With not only a fantastic beach, but also lots of restaurants and a Spar supermarket close to the house). The rest of the staff is just as friendly and professional.
So we decided to make this the place where we want to stay for a week next time we visit South Africa and we cannot wait!!

Ron and Jacqueline van der Veer - Bakker

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonvanderVeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at the Tarragon with our 16 month year old for 9 days over New Year. We really could not rate the Tarragon more highly. We loved it so much we have booked ourselves in for 2 years time! Beautiful place, great staff, superb location.

Room Tip: Angelica is the best of all the rooms (3 bedrooms) Out of the 1 beds, Jasmine is the nicer, no view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have been in The Tarragon already for 3 times. It is a great place to stay; luxurious and comfortable accomodation in a beautifull setting. Mark and his staff provide you with warm hospitality and a pleasant service. A perfect central place to discover the Cape area. Good value for money.

Room Tip: All cottages are of the same quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vera v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

we had a truly superb Christmas -- the family of nine adults and three kids aged six months to four years had a glorious time. the setting was superb, the three villas we took were lovely and the staff really could not have been nicer. we felt secure at all times, nothing was too much trouble for Mark and Julia. it is a perfect base for exploring the area. pool just right, each villa really well planned and you felt you had total privacy. a classy venue which i would unhesitatintly recommend to anyone

Room Tip: we as a large group took the three villas together by the pool. frankly any of them would have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imperialcommander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
2.4 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
156 reviews
1.6 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
564 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riverside Estates
Riverside Estates
#12 of 59 in Hout Bay
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pure Guest House
Pure Guest House
#2 of 59 in Hout Bay
171 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 59 in Hout Bay
255 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Hout Bay Hideaway
The Hout Bay Hideaway
#8 of 59 in Hout Bay
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tarragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tarragon

Address: 21 Hunters Way, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Tarragon Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing