We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back”
Review of The Tarragon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hout Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tarragon
Ranked #3 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Mark and Julia were amazing hosts, and their team were so friendly and helpful. The rooms were excellent and the pool area perfect for relaxing during the day. Thanks Mark and Julia for the advice regarding where to visit and your fantastic hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank petek98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
287
150
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

For the second time we have had 10 magical days staying at the Tarragon, this time in the Angelica. Accommodation and scenery could not be bettered anywhere. Mark and Julie made us so welcome, and you could not improve this property in any way. It is in the ideal location to see all the recommended sites around Cape Town, ie the winelands, Robben Island, the local markets and harbour, and Cape Town itself. Would certainly recommend this accomodation to anyone, the views from the rooms and the balcony were spectacular, and the gardens and pool were an added bonus. We hope to go again!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We returned yesterday from having the most amazing holiday of a lifetime in the Angelica Lodge at The Tarragon. The accommodation is beautifully furnished and equipped, and the views from the bedrooms and the balcony were beyond belief. I cannot recommend this highly enough, it is secluded and private, the gardens, pool and Koi Carp ponds are beautiful. The cottages were services daily by lovely friendly staff and the gardens are immaculate and full beautiful flowers and plants. Mark and Julia the owners communicated excellently both before and after we arrived and couldn't have been more helpful, especially when my Dad accidentally locked us out of the safe with our passorts inside just before we left! They arranged for us to have a tour of the township of Imizamo Yethu which was a particular highlight to me (especially the children at the pre-school singing for us). This is an excellent base for exploring the whole cape with Cape Town only a 25 mins stunning drive away. We went to Robben Island, drove the picturesque Chapman's Peak road and paddled in both the Atlantic and Indian Oceans, we went to the Cape of Good Hope and Cape Point, did a day safari at Fairy Glen, took the cable car to the top of table mountain, went to Kirstenbosch gardens, saw the penguins at Boulders Bay and enjoyed the markets, restaurants and shopping at the Waterfront. All easily accessible from the Tarragon and the driving was a pleasure. We were asked to give any suggestions to improve the accommodation and service for future guests, now even after 24 hours to think I can still not think of any... It is truly perfect and my only hope is that we can return again one day :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nemyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Tarragon was a fantastic retreat away from our home in Gauteng. The build up to our daughter's wedding day was made such a joy as we realized her choice in The Tarragon was more than we could have ever dreamed.
We spent quality time together, enjoying the luxurious accommodation and the spectacular mountain views of the surrounding Hout Bay area. Our hosts, Mark and Julie, made us feel so welcome and ensured all our special needs were met.
Their personal, yet professional, touch made the wedding day so special. We were privaleged to be able to have such a dream venue for all the pre - wedding activities and this made it a wonderful and memorable time of our lives.
Whenever we are back in Cape Town, we will definitely be returning to the Tarragon for another stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houthalen, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Very luxury cottages with magnificent views!
We stayed for 15 days at the Tarragon. It was a very pleasant stay with all the luxury/comfort you need. Great king-size beds, big bath-rooms, BBQ facilities, nice kitchen, WIFI… everything that you can imagine and also every-day cleaning from the friendly staff. All the cottages have a own private terrace with great views to the mountains. The Tarragon is very well situated for visiting Cape Town, Kirstenbosch, Cape Point, Houtbay, Chapmans Peak, Table Mountain, Llandudno beach, Boulders beach, Camps bay,…
Everyone was very friendly and helpful during our stay.
If you are looking for a stay in Houtbay, The Tarragon is the place to be!

Fam. Thomassen (Belgium)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kurt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I really do recommend staying at The Tarragon. It was an amazing experience settling in a few days before my bid day(wedding) and high up on the mountain with a stunning view of Hout Bay. Surrounded by plenty of greenery and with the sound of a little stream/Kio pond next to our cottage made it even more peaceful. The cottage had everything we needed and more. Personal touches were made and received a warm welcome and farewell on the way to the chapel. It was a perfect place to getaway and to have that privacy and to be amongst nature. I chose The Tarragon to get away from all the hustle and bustle before my big day and stayed with my family for the last time as a Miss so the venue was perfect for us to bond as a family again and also to get ready with my bridesmaids on the wedding day. Plenty of room and space for all of us and even had a photoshoot done at The Tarragon as the grounds are so romantic and perfect backdrops for the photographer. A big thank you to Mark and his family again for accommodating us and making my wedding day so special.

Room Tip: The best cottage is the 3 bedroom cottage. It had a huge balcony but all of the cottages have a balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Candice V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed at the Tarragon for 2 nights in March 2012 and our only regret is that we didn´t stay longer. As the smaller cottages had all been booked already Mark and Julia very kindly upgraded us to the large Angelica cottage for the first night. We felt like kings in this huge and beautifully decorated cottage and especially enjoyed the large terrace. The second night we stayed in the Saffron cottage, which was smaller but also beautiful and very cosy. The terrace for this cottage is set back a little further from the gardens / pool which provided perfect privacy. The gardens, which are immaculately kept provided a haven of tranquility with lots of nice little corners and amazing views towards Hout Bay. Mark and Julia are the perfect hosts – never intruding but always on hand if you have any questions / need help organizing anything such as dinner reservations or a visit to the Township Imizamo Yethu (“our struggle”) at Hout Bay (we highly recommend it!). Thanks again to Mark, Julia and the friendly staff for making our stay just perfect. With such a beautiful and relaxing place to stay it was a struggle to drag ourselves away and get out and explore the surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
2.6 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
3.7 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
465 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pure Guest House
Pure Guest House
#2 of 59 in Hout Bay
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
544 reviews
3.7 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
2.7 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#9 of 59 in Hout Bay
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tarragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tarragon

Property: The Tarragon
Address: 21 Hunters Way, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Tarragon Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing