We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed - avoid the duck”
Review of Asia Bay

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Asia Bay
Ranked #51 of 76 Restaurants in Hout Bay
Restaurant details
Reviewed February 24, 2015

It was our first night in Hout Bay so we went for an easy take away, Asia Bay was nearby. We like Crispy Duck with Pancakes, so ordered this and a few mains. The Crispy Duck & Pancakes was very poor, it was strange, you couldn't pull it apart to make the pancakes - crispy duck should pull apart using a couple of forks, this was far too tough to do that. The wok/stir fry based mains we ordered were a bit better and at least edible - but don't go near the duck section! Maybe they are better at sushi?

Date of visit: January 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EngSwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 13 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2015

A restaurant and take away situated on Hout Bay serving Chinese, Japanese & Thai cuisine.
Deciding to get away from camps bay the next resort takes us to Hout Bay, a 20 minutes drive away from camps bay, situated near the beach is a square full of eateries lots of choice, but we decided to try some Chinese cuisine, so the Asia bay was our choice, being greeted by a mandarin speaking owner was pleasant, trying to converse in our broken mandarin we got an idea of how,what the restaurant came about.
The owner said they basically cater for mainly locals and some holiday makers, so they don't do authentic cuisine, as you can't get certain ingredients.
Fine we do not expect to get decent Chinese food off the Beaton track, but the food was quite good fresh pak choi in garlic, stir fry vegetable noodles seasoned very nicely, a lobster type congee (Chinese rice porridge) with lobster bits and spring onions, better than some places in Hong Kong, We also ordered a sushi/sashimi platters which was fresh and well presented, I think due to the oriental chefs!
So well recommended good stuff!

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Festive_chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2014

We bought takeaways - but will defintely try a sit down on our next visit to Hout Bay. The Sushi was good. The beef with rice noodle was delicious and generous portion so 2 people could have this.

Date of visit: November 2014
Thank ecsonza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Best sushi in Hout Bay - sit down or takeaway. Standard Chinese and Thai dishes are also very good. Good value for money - we have been regular customers for years.

Thank DennisF1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

I've been eating here for many years. It's my comfort food on a sunday evening or if im feeling rather lazy I order takeout. The pad thai and sweet and sour pork are good (order no veg with the sweet and sour). The spring rolls are a little oily but still tasty and ask for sweet chilli sauce to be served with it. The staff are friendly and on the ball. Its not fine dining though, so dont get confused. :)

Thank Tilly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asia Bay also viewed

 

Been to Asia Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing