We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of Intaba Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Intaba Lodge
Ranked #7 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Intaba Lodge is very well situated on the outskirts of Hout Bay and only a short, easy drive to attractions such as Chapman’s Peak Drive, Kirstenbosch Gardens, Constantia, Camps Bay and, of course, Cape Town itself. We stayed in the Veranda Suite for four nights and found it spacious and well-appointed. The breakfasts were delicious. Valérie and Pierre-Marie made us most welcome and were very helpful in suggesting things to do. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    20
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
54
79
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

To advise to families - Green environment and stunning landscape - Real value for money - Easy to drive to Cape Town , botanic Garden.....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HemaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The first time we came, it was just the two of us and we loved it. We stayed in the Rock studio, which is verry spacious and cosy. The second time we came (which already tells you we enjoyed our stay) with our then 2 year old son - it was just as good. We stayed in the Rock studio again, but this times used the lovely lounge upstairs a lot in the evenings. We returned again in December 2011 and were just as happy with the hospitality and the beautiful environment (you really hear the birds singing and the views of the mountains and the gardens are very pretty). This time we stayed in the tree cottage. The tree cottage is home away! We just loved it. And our - now 3 year old - son told told Valerie and Pierre-Marrie that we will return again soon. Which I'm sure we will!!! We can really, really recommend the Intaba lodge to anybody - with and without children. It is a special place with a very personal touch!!
Gaby, Markus and Lasse

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GABY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Staying at the Intaba Lodge was a real pleasure. The combination of a nice location and good rooms / a wonderful garden cottage provide already a good basis for a good holiday. However, what made our stay truly enjoyable was the outstanding hospitality of the owners. They had been wonderfully caring (especially towards our 13 month old sun) and this made our holiday very special. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The garden cottage is a very good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OPN_Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

It was my husband's 50th birthday and he wanted to visit Cape Town. As with all large cities, there are numerous places to stay - I chose Intaba Lodge and found a jewel of a place located in Hout Bay only a short easy drive to Cape Town central. We were welcomed and looked after splendidly by friendly, considerate and helpful hosts Valerie & Pierre-Marie, where nothing was too much trouble. The lodge is set in beautiful well maintained & secure grounds and offers stunning views of the mountains. We stayed in the 'Rock Studio' a spacious and extremely comfortable suite, we felt at home. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast (Pierre-Marie's scrambled eggs are divine) each morning served on the terrace overlooking the grounds and mountains - bliss, pure bliss. Valerie & Pierre-Marie contributed hugely to making our visit a very special and memorable holiday, we can't thank them enough and highly recommend Intaba Lodge. Lesley & John Carter, Shropshire, United Kingdom

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Valerie and Pierre-Marie are just the perfect hosts for a stay in the Cape region, at their wonderful lodge, and so helpful in recommending places to go, things to see, restaurants etc.
The views from the terrace, where a full and classy breakfast is taken each morning, are just stunning. The rooms are all lovely and well equipped, and the lodge has both antiques and tasteful local craft items lovingly scattered around.
The location is perfect - just a short drive from the fishing village of Hout Bay, close to the picturesque Constantia wine route, and you won't get fed up with the coastal drive to Cape Town itself, which is 20 minutes of breathtaking scenery, taking in the Twelve Apostles along the way.
This is THE place to stay when visiting the Cape! (as I've found on numerous occasions already).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shutupvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We wanted to start our South African holiday with a few days around the Cape Town area but did not really want to stay within Cape Town itself. Looking at Trip Advisor reviews we quickly discovered Intaba Lodge and thought it looked like the ideal place for some peace and quiet after travelling from the UK but still within very easy reach of the sights of Cape Town. We could not have been happier with our decision. We stayed in the Garden Suite adjacent to the main building and were pleased with our choice. Breakfast on the veranda of the main house was a delight; the food was excellent and the views spectacular - it certainly felt very different to Derbyshire! Peirre-Marie and Valerie were very pleasant hosts with just the right level of attentiveness and helpfulness. Would we choose to go there again if we were in that area of South Africa - definitely.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
1.9 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#2 of 4 in Hout Bay
148 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pure Guest House
Pure Guest House
#2 of 59 in Hout Bay
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 59 in Hout Bay
249 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverside Estates
Riverside Estates
#12 of 59 in Hout Bay
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Intaba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Intaba Lodge

Property: Intaba Lodge
Address: 25 Park Avenue, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intaba Lodge, with its stunning mountain views, is set high above the magnificent Hout Bay valley, looking towards Constantia. This colonial Victorian-style house is set in an extensive lush garden which is home to a host of bird life. Enjoy this natural setting with its rocks and indigenous flora whilst sitting on the spacious veranda or ambling along the garden footpaths. You will find this romantic and serene environment the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Intaba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intaba Lodge Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing