We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hideaway Heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hout Bay Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hout Bay Hideaway
Ranked #5 of 61 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Hideaway Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

We spent 4 nights at the Hideway, what an apt name, and what a great place. we stayed in the Skylight suite at the rear overlooking the garden and pool with a 2 aspect bacony and very easy access to the beautifully warm pool, a decent size and crystal clear salt water. we frequently sat watching the nectar eaters (birds) perched on the Proteas oblivious to us about 20 feet away
Martin and Sue our hosts were superb, nothing too much trouble and wonderful breakfasts served on the balcony outside our room courtesy of Sue. The Wi fi worked well every where we tried it and the Kitchenette in the room was an absolute godsend for evening snacks if we had had a large breakfast followed by a beautiful lunch (Reccommend "The food Barn" and Chapmans Peak hotel for lunch). Off street secure parking was another bonus and the whole experience exceeded our already high expectations. Thank you again Martin and Sue, we will be back

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sacrebleu_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
111
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

We stayed here for seven nights at the beginning of our holiday (having initially planned on three) and returned again for two nights at the end of our stay. During that time we saw each of the four rooms (including the apartment) and they're all equally inviting & comfortable. The Turkish rugs, the antique furniture, the nicely chosen art make for a stylish and comfortable environment. Indeed everything about the place works exactly the way you might hope were you to run a guesthouse yourself. It's easy and laidback on the surface because behind the scenes real thought and skill have gone into getting it right.

It's nice that your breakfast is served to you on the terrace outside your room & the breakfasts themselves are a treat. The garden and pool are welcoming after you've been out and about all day, and Martin & Sue, the owners have a nice friendly, informative yet professional manner that makes everything gel. We noticed several of the guests there at the same time as us were on their second or third visit.

Location-wise, we hadn't really appreciated just how near everything is & we found the guest house an ideal base from which to explore Cape Town itself, Cape Point, the winelands and so on. In a way I didn't really want to post a review because I don't want to find the Hideaway fully booked the next time we want to return. But that would be selfish ! Hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Virgyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed in the largest room with seaview, very spacious, huge terrace. The street is a cul de sac so very quiet. The bed is very comfortable. Martin and Sue are truely welcoming, nothing will be too much for them to make your stay a perfect one !
We will be back...
Only improvement would be to have WIFI accessible in every room, it doesnt work in the back rooms, ...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrelyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoutBayHideAway, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this review, March 2, 2011
Andrelyon will be pleased to know that the problem we had with WiFi reception has now been rectified and all rooms at The Hout Bay Hideaway now have excellent WiFi reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2010

My friend and I spent our last two nights in South Africa here and loved it. It's in a lovely leafy neighborhood and the owners, Sue and Marty, are a very welcoming and interesting couple (I hope Marty's back is not thrown out after he graciously lugged my heavy bag up a flight of stairs!). Our room was beautiful--I love the artwork--and we had a room with doors that opened out onto the upstairs patio, which had a table and chairs, two comfy Adirondack chairs, and a chair swing. Marty and Sue would lay out a delicious breakfast on the patio (yogurt, fruits, bread, jam, cheese, ham, fabulous freshly squeezed orange juice, muesli, eggs, you name it), which was a great way to start the day. Also nice was the bottle of red wine they gave us for our first night. The room was very clean and elegant, bathroom was nice and big and had fluffy bathrobes, and we had a sort of kitcheonette so we could make coffee (provided, along with milk, thank goodness) right when we got up and also could store any food we might want to have in the room. I like smaller, boutique-y kind of places with elegant and cool, but not sterile, design and this fit the bill.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzWool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

This is a bigish house up a hill behind the bay that has been converted to a guest house. It isn't stately or colonial, but it has been done very well. Everything works, it is clean, and it has been decorated meticulously with a quite effective mix of colonial-style fixtures and furniture, although some things feel more indonesion and even New England than SA! Doesn't matter. It all holds together just fine. We stayed in the appartment that was downstairs at the back of the house. Having a living room suited for the travel cot (which the owners provided).
The owners are English. They were very helpful in everything and knew the area well. I believe they spend half the year here.
Breakfasts were super-abundant. I think that when they whipped the cover off the tray was the first time I ever heard my two year old son say 'wow'! Unfortunately we don't eat much breakfast. But the detail may be appreciated by others.
Hout Bay, by the way, is a great place to stay near Cape Town. The better known bays up the coast are massively overrated and remarkable mainly for being remotely comparable to some med resorts (Camps Bay) and Hong Kong (Clifton). They are closer to Cape Town, of course, if that's important.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AgileLegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

Even before we arrived our hosts had organised competitively priced car hire and delivery for us in a hassle free professional manner. A very warm welcome on arrival at this gem of a house that is truly hidden away yet close enough to local restaurants and shops to walk if required and an excellent base for exploration of Cape Town and the wider Cape. Sue and Martin's interior decoration is to be admired with modern and period art and furniture blended together in a most delightful way giving a natural quality feel throughout. Needless to say the rooms are very well thought out even including a hidden kitchenette housing tea and ground coffee (nice touch) and milk in the fridge. There's also a microwave and sink hidden by doors at your will. One can take breakfast in the room, on the terrace overlooking the pool or in the dining kitchen, our favoured option where you can quiz your hosts and other guests on all things SA. The breakfast is as good as you can expect anywhere the quality and range of choice being exceptional. The team work of our hosts at breakfast is also a pleasant experience to observe particularly the subtleties that maintain the very high standards. The place is spotless, the rooms spacious, the bathroom clean with an excellent power shower, you want for nothing. We have travelled extensively throughout the world (60+ countries) and stayed in all types places from basic to the best available. The best places offer a combination of luxury, coupled to high standards due to the 'people factor'. Hout Bay Hideaway have the perfect combination.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JOHNandJAYNE0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

As experienced travellers,we are used to the finest.Our "Hideaway" experience turned out to be truely 5 star.The knowlegable,kind and generous Martin and Sue do their utmost to make your stay memorable.The "Hideaway" and our views from the terrace are stunning.Interesting antiques and paintings added a special touch.Egyptian cotton sheets on the enormous beds gave us excellent sleep every night. The enormous breakfast was superbly cooked and presented.We originally booked for 17nights and stayed for 26 (World Cup).So many wineries to visit-and Martin and Sue know every one! We loved South Africa,Cape Town and everything and everybody at the "Hideaway"

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
1.6 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.4 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 61 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Amblewood Guest House
Amblewood Guest House
#8 of 61 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
2.0 mi away
Intaba Lodge
Intaba Lodge
#6 of 61 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 61 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hout Bay Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hout Bay Hideaway

Property: The Hout Bay Hideaway
Address: 37 Skaife Street, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hout Bay Hideaway is a peaceful luxurious Guest House overlooking the ocean, mountains and beach of Hout Bay, accommodating a maximum of 9 guests in 4 beautifully furnished rooms. Only a few minutes walk to the restaurants and beach and only a 20 minutes easy drive from the center of Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Hout Bay Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hout Bay Hideaway Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing