We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly memorable holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hout Bay Hideaway
Ranked #8 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A truly memorable holiday”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were looking for a special, relaxing place to stay over Christmas that would offer a great location slightly away from the main tourist areas of Cape Town and couldn't believe our luck when we discovered the Hout Bay Hideaway - we could not have picked a better guest house. Brit couple Sue and Martin run a stunning house not far from the picturesque coastline and amenities of Hout Bay. The daily breakfast provided on the terrace was a particular highlight and the care and style with which they have furnished the rooms was evident to see immediately. It really felt like a home from home. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this beautiful hideaway to anyone looking for a truly memorable holiday base from which to explore Cape Town and the surrounding area. We are already dreaming of going back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bay View Suite and were thrilled with our choice. There is plenty of space for a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonRosie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear R & C, What a lovely review, have you ever considered a literary career!! Good luck with everything and we hope everything is going to plan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
111
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at this wonderful B&B for the third time. Hout Bay Hideaway is a small and very comfortable guest house in a quiet street that stands out because of the way it is managed by the owners, the style and great attention to detail, and the location which makes it a perfect base for tours around Cape Town. While the rooms are all beautiful and well appointed, the Bay View Suite offers even more space, utmost privacy and a terrace to die for. Breakfasts are delicious (including fresh juice and fruit salad), served on your private veranda. A hidden gem that may easily be one of the best in all of SA.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Hideaway in March!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We have just returned from an incredibly brilliant first trip to Cape Town and environs. We stayed our first seven nights at Houtbay Hideaway which was absolutely great. It is fairly central for access to Table Mountain, the gardens at Kirstenbosch, Twelve apostles - all an easy 15-20 mins at most, travelling through some of the most stunning coastline scenery - and on to Chapman Peak Drive heading down the peninsula for Cape Point and Cape Hope, Simons Town and False Bay. Everyday was an excitement !

Hout Bay itself was so easy to navigate and to park that popping back out for dinner after a long day was a doddle, and with such a good choice of restaurants all within a five minute drive.

This really is a brilliant location and worked so well for us, but what made it all especially great was the hospitality and kindnesses shown to us by Martin and Sue together with sound advice and guidance (not to mention the superlative breakfasts that set us up for the day!). Everything else written about Houtbay Hideaway is absolutely true.

Richard & Hazel

Room Tip: All are comfortable and cosy
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Richard and Hazel,

It really was our pleasure having you stay and we looked forward to your daily updates of your adventures. It was great that you were here to share our exciting news, will keep you posted.

Best wishes

Sue and Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Wow!!! If you are lucky enough to visit Houtbay make sure you stay at this wonderful B&B. It is without doubt one of the best...you couldn't be disappointed. Although it's been said before in other reviews the rooms are beautifully furnished & fitted, breakfast is delivered in style with attention to detail. Sue & Martin are attentive hosts & always available when necessary, so don't miss the opportunity if you are visiting Cape Town.

Sandison

Room Tip: There is know disappointment to any of the rooms,however the 'Bay View Room' gives fantast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for your very kind review, so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Hideaway. Looking forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2013

A small guest house tucked away on a side street with perfectly gracious hosts, Martin & Sue. The large well appointed rooms have all the comforts of a Relais & Chateau property without the pretense. The breakfasts are often served on the veranda and are exceptional. Easily the best accommodations during our two week stay in South Africa.

Room Tip: Room in the front of the guest house has a wonderful bay & mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robusto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It's always satisfying to get a positive review from a fellow hotelier. We've taken a look at your beautiful website and would not hesitate to recommend to anyone visiting the north east of the US to take a look at the Bradley Inn. Have a wonderful Christmas and a successful 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We wouldn't have booked again if we had any doubts that this would be a 5 star stay. We weren't disappointed. Sue and Martin are wonderful hosts and the accommodation is superb. Who would stay in a 5 star hotel when you could stay here? Can't add anything to the loads of positive reviews. Try it. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woolfebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
It was a pleasure as always having you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Many thanks to Martin and Sue... A lovely couple who obviously know what they are doing. This is both a beautiful and a peaceful B&B and is a credit to them. Fabulous rooms, terrific breakfast, nice folk... Thoroughly recommended... If you are going please take along some Henderson's Relish, if you can get it... A Northern sauce that this Yorkshire couple miss! Thank you both again and all the best. Geoff & Maggie

Room Tip: Preferred Sunlight room but all rooms lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unclespoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thanks Geoff and Maggie for the lovely review and also the plug for Hendersons relish. We should have been at the Sheffield Arena when the Arctic Monkeys were playing, they were selling special bottles of the beautiful relish!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
0.5 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
1.6 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
465 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#2 of 4 in Hout Bay
147 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#9 of 59 in Hout Bay
179 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pure Guest House
Pure Guest House
#2 of 59 in Hout Bay
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hout Bay Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hout Bay Hideaway

Property: The Hout Bay Hideaway
Address: 37 Skaife Street, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hout Bay Hideaway is a peaceful luxurious Guest House overlooking the ocean, mountains and beach of Hout Bay, accommodating a maximum of 9 guests in 4 beautifully furnished rooms. Only a few minutes walk to the restaurants and beach and only a 20 minutes easy drive from the center of Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Hout Bay Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hout Bay Hideaway Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing