We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family outing”
Review of Snoekies

Snoekies
Ranked #17 of 63 Restaurants in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Family outing”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The food at Snoekies is always excellent. You can't beat their fish anywhere. As usual, the resturant is a bit chaotic with different parts of the order being ready at different points (fish & chips first, prawns take longer & we almost forgot to collect desert). Overall it's a great experience. The one in Hout Bay that we visited has now closed in the seating area so it's better in poor weather. I've had several bad experiences with the one in Bothasig, but the others I've been to are all good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    67
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Worsed ever”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Visited Snoekies today.they were buay as expected and we decided on take away on the beach. We order the prawn,hake and chips and also the calamari and chips.Qorsed food every.Everything was drenched with oil.The chips tasted and smelled like old burned chips.The calamari was like eatibg a tyre.Prawns had spice on it but was overwhelmed with old burned oil.The hake was not too bad. Couldnt go back as a huge row of cars and our little one was hungry.Should've gone to Marinars Warf,the other people on the beach food looked much healthier. Everytime I go to Snoekies I seem the get the bad end of the stick.

see photo of the prawn,hake and chips combo.Tell me if that looks good...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jaconiemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Worth the Drive to Hout Bay!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

A friend from South Africa recommended this local seafood joint in Hout Bay. For those familiar with the Food Network show “Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives,” this seems like a perfect spot for Guy to visit. Hout Bay is gorgeous and the view alone is worth the 30-45 minute drive from Cape Town. Snoekis is situated right on the docks with ships in port and fisherman everywhere. It certainly adds to the atmosphere. If doing the Chapman’s Peak drive, this place is a must! We went right as it opened and were the only customers. We feasted on snoeki (our first time eating this fish), hake, calamari and prawns along with chips. Our 20 month old daughter devoured the calamari and later dug into the hake. The price was really cheap too. We had a wonderful experience and would highly recommend both the experience and the food!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krugersdorp
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Living up to its reputation”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We recently had a meal at Snoekies and really enjoyed it. The fish was fresh and nicely fried. The calamari was spectacular. What else can one say? This establishment does not advertise itself as a so-called gourmet restaurant - they do good, wholesome fish-and-chips for a living and they do it well. The decor is basic but in keeping with the atmosphere. There was a short queue and the ladies working in the back ensured that the wait was not long. All in all, good value for money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jankirsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenasia, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Freshly prepared... Every minute of the day!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Heard about Snoekies from a friend. Took the family there while on holiday. Snoekies was on our route through Hout Bay and on to Champans Peak. The restaurant reminds one of an old time lunch room, just benches and tables. No fancy decor, just plain old basics... Stood in a short queue, had to wait about 5 minutes ( I believe they get really busy times and the wait can go upto 30 minutes). Ordered the prawns, Snoek and a family platter which has hake, calamari, crumbed prawns and chips and a few soft drinks. The hake was completely boneless. The Snoek had bones. The meals were all well done and superb. The only thing is there was just too much of French fries with all the meals. Overall a good experience. Will go back for sure...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AzTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snoekies also viewed

 

Been to Snoekies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing