We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heavenly views”
other travelers have booked this property
The Log Cabin is surrounded by Nature
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Log Cabin is surrounded by Nature
Sunset in the lounge The mountain views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
46 reviews
The Log Cabin is surrounded by Nature
Sunset in the lounge
The mountain views
The lounge has big glass doors that open up on all sides
The dining room
The kitchen is well equipped
The pool is private and a sun catch
Panoramic views of the mountains
The main bedroom
The en-suit bath has magnificent views to the mountains
Bathtime is a luxury
The trampoline
Fiery Sunsets
The magnificent deck
How best to while a way the time?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hout Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Ailstewar...
Houston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heavenly views”
Reviewed December 14, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Spent 7 nights at Blackwood Log Cabin with my husband . Absolutely loved it! Colette and Warren always there if you needed them but if you didn't you have total privacy. The views were out of this world. Every day we'd get up and have breakfast on the balcony, I had to force myself away to go out for the day. Always looked forward to returning at night to sit on that balcony and enjoy the evening with a glass of wine.
There is a lovely private pool with a shaded area to chill and read. The house was fab, 2 bedrooms, 1 double with free standing bath and a toilet, and 2nd bedroom was twin with shower room. Both rooms had mountain views.
Would I go back?.... Definitely!!!!

Date of stay: December 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 17, 2016
Thanks for the lovely review Aileen. We loved having you and Stuart to stay. We very much look forward to hosting you again one day.
Best Regards Colette and Warren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
24nicoler
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Place for our Honeymoon ”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We just finished a wonderful week at Blackwood log cabin with Colette and Warren. They have an excellent location if you are looking to stay outside of the hustle and bustle of CapeTown waterfront yet want to be close enough to all the attractions. Their home was a 20-30mim drive to table mountain, Camps bay, Simons town and even closer to the wonderful wineries of Constantia. For us it was a perfect location. We had a car all week and I would say is pretty necessary if you are staying outside the city center and want to experience all CT has to offer. The directions provided to us were great even when we arrived late in the evening. The house itself was stocked with a starter supply of milk, coffee and bread along with spices, soaps and firewood. We didn't have any issues all week and when we did hopes to text with a question mid stay Colette was very prompt. I would recommend the views, location and accommodation of Blackwood to friends and family. Hope to stay again!

Date of stay: June 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2016
Hi Nicole and Alex, thank you for the wonderful review. We really enjoyed having you stay and hearing of your adventures! Braver than us, shark cage diving and more! All the best and until next time. Kind Regards
Colette and Warren.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timutrech...
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best place I have ever stayed in when visiting South Africa”
Reviewed April 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in the cabin (well it more like a villa) with our kids for a week in august 2014 and had an absolutely wonderful time. Waking up in the large bedroom with the fantastic views, having breakfast on the huge terras overlooking the valley and enjoying the swimming pool this place just breaths uniqueness and relaxation! Combine this with the very welcoming attitude of Colette and Warren and the perfect location for visiting both Hout Bay and Cape Town and you simply have the best place to stay!

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The uniqueness of the place and its location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2016
Hello Tim, Thank you for the lovely review. We hope you can make it back to Cape Town soon. Say hello to the family.
Kind Regards
Colette and Warren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maytimegi...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed April 23, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The house was very conveniently situated for our visit to Cape Town with my parents.
My only complaint would be the open plan bathroom, well toilet actually... But that's just us. Luckily we just used the other more private bathroom. I would recommend to family and friends but warn them about the WC

Date of stay: April 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2016
Hello Maytimegirl,

Thank you for the review. Yes, the open plan toilet in the main room is not for everyone but as you mentioned, there is another private toilet to use should you need to. Apart from the bathroom facilities, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards
Colette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah R
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay, lovely find!”
Reviewed April 18, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Stayed at Blackwood Cabin in March 2016 for just under 2 weeks with my family. We visit Cape Town every year and this was such a lovely find. Tend to normally stay in Camps Bay more towards the centre of Cape Town but decided to venture out a little this year and so glad we did! Less windy this side of the mountain and still not far at all to Camps, V&A etc. Very close to Constatia Wine Route :) A must!! The cabin itself is just wonderful, very clean and spacious, pool and balcony area is idyllic. It did get a little too warm at times in the cabin but we survived! The views are incredible too. Colette and Warren were perfect hosts- helped me get down to the start of the Cape Argus bike race, don't know what i would have done without them!! We had family over for a BBQ one day which was nice, Colette and Warren again came up to say hello. Would highly recommend to anyone and would definitely stay again! Thanks Colette :)

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Balcony area
Liked least: The steep drive way!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2016
Hi Hanna, It was great to have an international staying with us and riding The Argus in honor of your South African dad! Thanks for the great review and we hope to see next time around, Argus or no Argus. In the meantime, Take Care, Kind Regards
Colette and Warren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed April 17, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2016
HI Kerry-Jade, Thank you for the lovely review! Hopefully it will not be too long before you get a chance to come back - and hopefully for a little longer next time. Until then ...... Kind Regards
Colette and Warren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaveenaN
Durban
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mediocre and Dirty- Saving Grace the View”
Reviewed March 29, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed at the cabin for 2 nights with our baby. From the pictures and price paid we expected the quality and cleanliness of the place to be around 4 and half stars. We were disappointed. The cabin was not cleaned well and there was dog hairs all over the furniture and carpets. Traveling with a baby and being allergic to dog hairs made this an issue for our stay. Further no housekeeping is offered and we found that the dished and braain utensils were all dirty eg lip stick on wine glasses, and dirty braai tongs made you feel like no care was given between stay and that guests were responsible for maintaining the upkeep of the place. with just two of us and a baby the shower ran cold both in the morning and evening. We stayed at a cheaper priced guest accomo at Century City (The Island Club) and you cannot cmpare the cleaniless comfort and attention to detail.
The only positive was the view.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Unclean
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2016
Hi Marcel,

I am sorry to hear this. I spoke with you numerous times over the period of your stay and each time asked if you were happy and the response each time was that yes, you were. If you had mentioned that anything was dirty, I would gladly and immediately have attended to it. The house is a self catering house and is not advertised as serviced. No dogs are allowed in the house so I am dismayed to hear that there was dog hair anywhere. Regarding the price, the house was priced for a stay for 2 people but yet on the final night, friends stayed over with you, making this even more reasonably priced for four.
I take your comments on board and am very sorry that we weren't given an opportunity to address your complaints.
I will certainly address this with the housekeeper.
Kind Regards Colette and Warren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing