We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay”
other travelers have booked this property
The Log Cabin is surrounded by Nature
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Log Cabin is surrounded by Nature
Sunset in the lounge The mountain views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
47 reviews
The Log Cabin is surrounded by Nature
Sunset in the lounge
The mountain views
The lounge has big glass doors that open up on all sides
The dining room
The kitchen is well equipped
The pool is private and a sun catch
Panoramic views of the mountains
The main bedroom
The en-suit bath has magnificent views to the mountains
Bathtime is a luxury
The trampoline
Fiery Sunsets
The magnificent deck
How best to while a way the time?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hout Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
DaveenaN
Durban
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mediocre and Dirty- Saving Grace the View”
Reviewed March 29, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed at the cabin for 2 nights with our baby. From the pictures and price paid we expected the quality and cleanliness of the place to be around 4 and half stars. We were disappointed. The cabin was not cleaned well and there was dog hairs all over the furniture and carpets. Traveling with a baby and being allergic to dog hairs made this an issue for our stay. Further no housekeeping is offered and we found that the dished and braain utensils were all dirty eg lip stick on wine glasses, and dirty braai tongs made you feel like no care was given between stay and that guests were responsible for maintaining the upkeep of the place. with just two of us and a baby the shower ran cold both in the morning and evening. We stayed at a cheaper priced guest accomo at Century City (The Island Club) and you cannot cmpare the cleaniless comfort and attention to detail.
The only positive was the view.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Unclean
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2016
Hi Marcel,

I am sorry to hear this. I spoke with you numerous times over the period of your stay and each time asked if you were happy and the response each time was that yes, you were. If you had mentioned that anything was dirty, I would gladly and immediately have attended to it. The house is a self catering house and is not advertised as serviced. No dogs are allowed in the house so I am dismayed to hear that there was dog hair anywhere. Regarding the price, the house was priced for a stay for 2 people but yet on the final night, friends stayed over with you, making this even more reasonably priced for four.
I take your comments on board and am very sorry that we weren't given an opportunity to address your complaints.
I will certainly address this with the housekeeper.
Kind Regards Colette and Warren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosmofant
Lutjenburg, Germany
1 review
“Great stay”
Reviewed February 23, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This is really a great accomodation. Blackwood Log Cabin is well equipped with everything you need for holiday life! We used our time there for exploring the Western Cape area and CPT. The biggest challenge for us was to find a suitable solution between spending our rare time in this really great house and heading for trips. Particularly we enjoyed the great views, the beautiful nature of the garden and the fantastic hospitality of Colette and Warren. Thank you very much for a great stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Erweitertem Familienkreis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2016
Hi Stefan, How lovely to hear from you. Thanks for the great review. We look forward to your next super active kite surfing holiday. All the best to the family. Regards Colette and Warren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor B
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Secluded spacious self catering with magnificent views”
Reviewed February 18, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We have been coming to the Cape Town area for several years on holiday and have only now discovered this gem which is both secluded and within easy reach of both Cape Town and Constantia to either the east or west of Table Mountain. The views from the deck where we usually had breakfast are spectacular. There is a well maintained Braai on the deck which we used almost every evening. The kitchen/lounge is well equipped with just about everything that you would require including a washing machine....useful if you are staying for some time. The private swimming pool was just below the deck and was well used by us to cool off defore cooking our evening meal. We were two couples and the spacious bedrooms and living room meant there was plenty of space for everybody without feeling cramped. The decor while rustic (which one would expect from the name) was tasteful and in character with the building. Interestingly there were no mosquitos...which we might have expected in forested areas like that of Blackwood Log Cabin. The owners Collette and Warren could not have been more welcoming and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful seclusion and stunning panoramas
Liked least: One bedroom had a loo in it which might bother some people but not us
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2016
Hello Victor, Thank you for your kind words about the house. It was really great to meet the Irish / Canadian team. I hope the rest of your stay in South Africa was as good. We would love to have you back again next time.
All the best and happy Golfing!
Kind Regards
Colette and Warren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill_Bell...
Hillcrest, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Home from home with awesome mountain views”
Reviewed October 3, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

If you want value for money, are looking for self catering accommodation for up to four people, and you want to be impressed then Blackwood Log Cabin is the best place you will find in the entire Cape Town region. There is no intrusion from others to disturb you. The views of the surrounding area is beautiful and it is conveniently situated to be able to get to any of the attractions in the greater area with ease.

The accommodation itself lacks absolutely nothing and is the best that we have ever stayed in. We cannot wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2015
Dear Catherine and Martin, Thank you for your kind words about Blackwood Log Cabin. We are so pleased that you were able to tie the knot in a place that you fell in love with. We look forward to seeing you again in future years and wish you everything of the best on your exciting new journey. Best Regards
Colette and Warren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the deck!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2015
The intrepid African travelers! We loved having you stay and hearing your stories. If you find yourself in the Cape again, we would love to have you back. There will be many a hiker to enjoy the use of your hiking staffs that you donated. Until next time, take care. Best Regards
Colette and Warren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
pud550
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Happiness”
Reviewed August 7, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

what an absolutely stunning place! the cabin is the perfect place to stay when visiting this amazing country, the views are breathtaking. the cabin is in an ideal location, it is private and yet still close enough to all local amenities, we were given a very warm welcome by collette who provided us with all information needed we were then given privacy to enjoy our honeymoon. collette was always available if we needed anything even if just a bit of advice and we felt safe throughout our entire stay. highly recommended!.... we are already planning our next trip to cape town and will definatly be staying here agian!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2015
Shaun and Sarina, Thank you for your kind words. We really enjoyed having you to stay and we look forward to the next time. Take care. Best Regards
Colette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgina...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Incredible place to stay”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

What an amazing place! The views are incredible, the cabin is cozy and everything you could need is provided. Loved the huge Victorian bath in the main bedroom with views over the valley. Close to Hout Bay central and all the sites. Supermarket just down the road for all the essentials. Would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2015
Hello Georgina,

Thank you for your kind words. I am just sorry that we didn't get to meet you. I am pleased you loved the stay. We hope to see you again soon. All the best, Colette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing