We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Absolutely beautiful cabin, in the most amazing...”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travelers have booked this property
The Log Cabin is surrounded by Nature
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Log Cabin is surrounded by Nature
Sunset in the lounge The mountain views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
42 reviews
The Log Cabin is surrounded by Nature
Sunset in the lounge
The mountain views
The lounge has big glass doors that open up on all sides
The dining room
The kitchen is well equipped
The pool is private and a sun catch
Panoramic views of the mountains
The main bedroom
The en-suit bath has magnificent views to the mountains
Bathtime is a luxury
The trampoline
Fiery Sunsets
The magnificent deck
How best to while a way the time?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hout Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
JC2304
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Absolutely beautiful cabin, in the most amazing setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Wow, what an amazing place! We absolutely enjoyed our short break away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Even in the very heart of Winter, this well equiped cabin, with it's breathtaking views of the mountain and valley, beckons you to the large glass sliding doors that leads onto the sun deck.
The pool, trampoline and hammock will definitely be a hit with our kids in Summer! Colette, you have a beautiful place and I would highly recommend Blackwood log cabin to everyone!!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: My short stay
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2013
Thank you Janine, we would be very happy to have you back - winter or summer! Kind Regards
Colette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizzyp273
Sussex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Our second stay and hopefully not our last. Words cannot describe how much we love staying here. Colette and Warren are perfect hosts, always on hand if you need them but they completely respect your privacy and space. For me the greatest joy is opening the bifold doors every morning and sitting on the deck, drinking a coffee whilst reading, watching the light change and listening to the nature. My boyfriend would say jumping in the pool and kicking back with a cold Windhoek!! It's as close to perfection as we have ever found and we are both well travelled. Now we are home all we talk about is when can we return?! A perfect location to anyone wanting to explore Cape Town and all it's beauty without being slap in the middle of the city bowl. It's only 20 minutes away and yet feels like a different place. Thank you for an amazing time and all the happy memories you have given us.

Liz & Alex

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The view of course! Oh and the pool!
Liked least: Bed wasn't the best yet had the best nights sleep there
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2013
HI Liz,

It was great to have you and Alex again. We are humbled by your comments. We look forward to next year if it works out for you. All our very best, Colette and Warren.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gbrash
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

This place is a gem on the mountainside - perfect for trips to Hout Bay, or using it as a base to explore the Cape. The pool is perfect after a hike up Table Mountain, followed by a snooze in the hammock, THEN followed by a relaxing barbeque on the deck. Will absolutely stay there again - it has everything you want in a self-catering cottage, including a great roll top bath where you can look out over the mountains. Will definitely be back.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The spectacular views
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 25, 2013
Dear Greg,

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear that you went hiking on the mountain. It's breathtaking to look at, but magnificent to hike on. We look forward to your next visit. All our very best, Colette and Warren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godmanchester, null, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 for a stay in December 2012
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The Privicy, and location.
Liked least: loved everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 27, 2012
Dear Rudolph, Hannah and Ellis, Thank you for your kinds words. It was an absolute pleasure having you to stay at Blackwood Log Cabin. We hope you will visit again soon and manage to stay for a longer period.
All the best for 2013, Kind Regards
Colette and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Travelfro...
Guildford
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Just back from our third wonderful stay at Blackwood Log Cabin. The only reason I would hesitate to write a glowing review is that it may get so booked up that we cant return! This is the most fantastic location, with friendly helpful owners discretely on hand when needed. Hi Collete and Warren we enjoyed our stay immensely even though the weather was a little cooler than we hoped and we lost wi fi connection but hope you have that sorted now. We need somewhere bigger for our next trip with all the family but unfortunately I think that other houses will seem mundane after Blackwood Log Cabin.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: We love everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 7, 2012
HI David and Ammanda,

Thank you for your review. It is always lovely to have you back at Blackwood and we look forward to your next visit when your party is smaller. We have laid the new internet cable (or rather Warren has) and the cabin is fully back on line. We hope you have a fabulous visit at the end of the year. Until next time..... Regards Colette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location and style of accomodation, and the fabulous shower...
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 7, 2012
Paul and Glynn, thank you for your review. We are happy that you had a restful time and that you enjoyed Blackwood. We hope to see you again in the future. All our very best, Colette and Warren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LeaRice82
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Amazing venue and cabin, but staff really ruined it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

This place is so beautiful and the cabin has such potential. But the staff are shocking. They are more interested in getting their money than anything else. They didn't put any towels in second bath room and brass facilities were dirty and full of coal. There was a massive wine spillage from previous guest and was not cleaned. In Fact dust and hair was stuck in the spill!!! Facilities were broken and mended haphazardly. They only supplied one roll of toilet paper for three days and absolutely nothing extra like tea or sugar. They only gave us one black bag for three days!!! They were unavaliable once they got their money. This place would be 5 star if they could just go that extra mile. At the moment they are relying on their amazing facilities. We travel often and most places include all extras like risks, wood, fire lighters etc. This place did not even tell us we needed this. Who travels with extra black bags and toilet rolls? One I complained they suggested I leave and they would refund me???!!! I have my family with me and no back up accomodation planned. Very unprofessional. But that what makes this place only 3 stars. They need new management then they will seriously make some money cause it's not over priced. There is also a toilet IN the main bedroom. No divider or anything. Very unhygienic!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
1 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The cabin and venue
Liked least: The staff and their complete lack of customer service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2012
Our T&C's are that the accommodation is paid for upfront before arrival. This was clearly communicated to Lea on confirmation and a reminder was sent to her to settle her outstanding amount a few days before she arrived. She disregarded these clear and unambiguous conditions. It took a few e-mails and sms's requesting that she settle her bill. Lea is correct in saying the Barbecue was dirty - unfortunately the stand-in housekeeper had forgotten to clean this. The stand-in housekeeper had also forgotten to put extra towels in the second bedroom. This was my error as I should have checked the stand-in housekeeper's work. Once Lea's parents had notified me of this, I attended to it. Lea sent her complaints via sms and refused to answer my calls to try to chat to her to rectify the problems. The house is a self catering house and toilet paper and black bags are provided on arrival. Tea, coffee, sugar, wood and briquettes are not provided. I could provide this as well, but I try to keep my prices as reasonable as possible - this is evident in the fact that I have pretty much been fully booked for the last 10 years. In those 10 years, we were yet to have an unhappy client. Once it was clear that Lea was unhappy and as she lived in Cape Town and was not from out of town, I offered (but did not suggest) to refund her should she wish to leave. She chose to stay for the weekend. Colette Riley (staff and owner of Blackwood Log Cabin)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$64
/ Night
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing