We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The setting overlooking the Hout Bay harbour is superb and the food delicious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lookout Deck Hout Bay Restaurant, Bar & Sushi

The Lookout Deck Hout Bay Restaurant, Bar & Sushi
Ranked #8 of 62 Restaurants in Hout Bay
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Sushi, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Lookout Deck Hout Bay arguably boasts one of the best views in the Western Cape. Situated on the water's edge in the Hout Bay harbour, the restaurant boasts breathtaking mountain and ocean views.The restaurant has an extensive menu including: premier seafood, freshly caught line fish from the local fisherman, live Cape rock lobster, succulent LM prawns, juicy black tiger prawns, fresh steamed black mussels, as well as the finest cuts of A-grade meat. There's a great selection of appetizing salads, wood-fired pizzas and hearty breakfasts.Japan meets Hout Bay with a new Sushi Bar on the deck. Wasabi greets Sashimi with Maki & California rolls and more on the side!The Oyster Bar continues to draw cheers with Champagne accompanying chucked live oysters.The bar stocks local and international beers, including Amstel, Stella and Castle Lite on tap. The wine list reflects the wine growing regions of the Cape.Enjoy sensational sundowners and cocktails whilst listening to local live music on selected evenings.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
265 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“The setting overlooking the Hout Bay harbour is superb and the food delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

The restaurant is situated at the Yacht Club overlooking the Harbour in Hout Bay. The meal, especially one of the fish courses is always tops. There is the usual choice of chips, potato wedges etc and also a small side plate of vegetables, We were three and the only minor complaint we had was that the vegetable dish was adequate for one person but certainly not for three.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    252
    89
    41
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great food, location and atmosphere with a great band. Must be a top place the SA cricket captain was celerbrating his birthday with his family and friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not wildly impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Was here for lunch. Ordered mussels, none in stock (this is a working harbor with a fish shop 500 m down the road). Ordered prawns, barely cooked, not the best I have had... and very expensive compared to the V&A (makes you think...) 380 grams of prawns cost more than 1kg at Quay Four??? Rice was soggy and quite frankly inedible.
View is wonderful.... but food not that great.
But it is a tourist attraction...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SJD2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constantia, South Africa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Poor lobster”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Because of our South African friend we decided to sit on the covered decks. Though there where electrical heaters it was but cold, our own fault we could have sit inside. But that was less cosy. As a starter we ordered sushi. The rice was very dry and the amount of mayonnaise they use was over the top. It took away the taste of the salmon and crab inside. Not a big success. As a main I ordered the lobster. Another bad choice. Or the cook doesn't know how to prepare shusi and lobster. I don't know what they did with it but it tasted like nothing. The nice taste of lobster was completely gone. The experience of my friend was better so you might stay of the lobster and sushi.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Music but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We happened upon the Lookout Deck one Sunday afternoon. The setting was a beautiful view of the bay and the fishing boats and we were surprised and impressed by the band playing "American Oldies". Unfortunately, that is where the positive experience ends. Our waiter was rude with no personality. We watched as other wait staff greeted their customers with smiles and readily answered their questions. Our waiter was rarely visible. The menu was varied but several items we tried to order were not available or they had "just run out". Once we did order, the service was slow, the salad was standing in water and the entree order was not correct. We are typically pretty easy going customers and after spending a week in the Cape Town area, there are other restaurants that are far superior to this one. It is too bad that such a wonderful view and good music is wasted on poor service and mediocre food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank southrngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon R, General Manager at The Lookout Deck Hout Bay Restaurant, Bar & Sushi, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
I am very concerned to hear about your poor dining experience at our restaurant in July. I appreciate you taking time out to give us your feedback.
From your comments you mentioned that our other waiters greeted customers with smiles and readily answered their questions, well this is definitely how our staff have been trained, and as you witnessed, this is our standard of service, not how you were served by one specific waiter, I would like to apologise for the poor service you received.

Our Menu is very varied, as we like to cater for all tastes. We strive to serve only the freshest seafood products available, and as a result there are unfortunately times that we are unable to source these fresh products, it's also down to supply and demand, and at times we may sell out of one or two items, but with over 50 other menu items, our patrons will always find something to please their tastes.

I thank you for your feedback, and would like to assure you that all your concerns have been addressed, we will endeavour to ensure that all our staff are knowledgeable, friendly, efficient and courteous, and we wish that on your next visit to Cape Town you give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lookout Deck Hout Bay Restaurant, Bar & Sushi also viewed

 
Hout Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to The Lookout Deck Hout Bay Restaurant, Bar & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing