We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at a bustling local place”
Review of Massimo's

Massimo's
Ranked #2 of 76 Restaurants in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Open every day of the week for lunch & dinner.We make amazing pizza plus daily specials, using only the best, mainly locally sourced ingredients, and the owners are always present to ensure quality & consistency. Check us out on google for more information amazing new vegan menu
Reviewed February 16, 2019

Huge menu. We've had pizzas as well as salads on several occasions during our stay in Hout Bay - all excellent. Pizzas are really lovely, crisp with fresh ingredients. But I must say my chicken caesar salad was my favorite.

Friday and saturday nights this place is crowded. Somehow they squeeze You in but You're in for a hot and busy experience mincing with the locals. They do takeout with equal attention to the food so that's an option if You desire a more quiet experience.

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank hakol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 544 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2019

We as a family had just the best experience, we arrived not expecting much, but Wow!! great evening meal, music, food and wine, not to miss out on the service just so so good. definitely will be back

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JPS6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2019

Three of us went for dinner on Massimo's on a Wednesday night as part of a weekl-long jaunt around the Western Cape following recommendations and TripAdvisor reviews. Hands-down, this was our favorite for ambiance, mostly because of the live music and general joy from the service staff.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank intrepidvoyager01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2019 via mobile

Food took centre stage with the pizza and oxtail ravioli simply superb. But the making of a memorable evening were the singing staff!! Placed our order in the pauses between our waitress Zuki belting out the verse to one of the numbers! The manager led on guitar and vocals but all the staff partook. This is a Wednesday night only thing with other nights just focused on excellent food. Great fun was had - a real gem. Can’t wait to return.

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank G3861BGandrewh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massimos_hb, Owner at Massimo's, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2019

hi Andrew, gosh we're blown away by your kind words! We have been blessed with amazing staff and are so glad our Wednesday music night has grown (organically) into something we all treasure. We recently celebrated 10 years of Massimo's and truly hope it continues. thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again. Massimo & Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2019 via mobile

Went here twice during our stay. Staff very friendly with great laid back atmosphere and reasonably priced Italian food including pizzas cooked before your eyes! Our second visit was on Wednesday evening - music night! The manager sang the waitress sang the customers sang but the star of the show was the young lady from the kitchen with the most beautiful voice! Wish you all well - such a lovely restaurant with the happiest of vibes!

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank christinemU5038WU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massimos_hb, Owner at Massimo's, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2019

hi Christine, we are thrilled that you loved the whole Massimo's experience - you will be pleased to know that Natasha (our line cook) with the great voice; is soon to start voice coaching (sponsored by kind individuals/customers inside and outside of the business) We hope she goes from strength to strength!
regards
Massimo & Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massimo's also viewed

 
Hout Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Massimo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing