We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italian as Italian is” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria Luigi - CLOSED

Trattoria Luigi
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Italian as Italian is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Nice restaurant, nothing special, good pizza's, pasta's could be better and certainly more original. A bit old fashion, but good Italian family restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IngridNelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    19
    6
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We'd tried to get into the Kitima on our first evening in Hout Bay, not realising how full it often seems. We ended up at Luigi's. We really enjoyed it. It has a nice, cosy atmosphere, the service was a bit slow but okay. The food was good. I had the grilled calamari which were good. The owner starts to sing every now and again, which was very entertaining. For a casual, uncomplicated easy evening out we would return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ducktrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hout bay
Level Contributor
187 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“new venue same good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Trattoria Luigi has moved a couple of doors to a new venue but the food and service is of the same high quality we have got used (my wife and I go there almost every week). Wish he would introduce some of his old specials like tripe, so we stick to seafood.Haven't been able to sit outside but the courtyard looks inviting for summer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hanns b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Warm, cosy, family atmosphere. Been in Hout Bay for years. Great pizza's but stingy with ngredients.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Been going to Luigi's for years, then stopped for some time. They have now moved next to the Post Office in the Mainstream. Nice location, lovely casual courtyard in the back for casual al fresco dining and a drink. My experience yesterday however: Too many items on menu not available! Only informed after perusing menu for half an hour. Initially I wanted the baked spinach and ricotta canneloni, not available. Opted for angel hair pasta with salmon. Good taste but hardly any salmon pieces in angel hair pasta. (The penne salmone from Primi Piatti in Constantia is far superior, my daughter was disappointed in her pasta too). There were about 4 or 5 dessert items not available, all the ones containing liqueur I noticed (except for the italian kisses, also not available). Ordered Tiramisu as there wasn't much else to choose from except boring ice-cream. A disappointment. No liqueur in dessert at all even though stated on menu as an ingredient. Kids ordered 4 Cola Tonic and Lemonades...definitely not enough Cola Tonic in the lemonade. Lovely, cosy, Italian atmosphere however. The Pizza's are excellent, thin crust, good amount of toppings. Love Luigi's, because of the ambience, I just wish they would be more consistent with their food though, then I would go there often. Service was fine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Woelfchen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Italian lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a wonderful lunch here. The pasta is very tasty and they were able to add in extra meat to accommodate our taste. Calamari starter also very good. The service was great and the whole warm ambience gives a feeling of being in a friend's home in Italy. The only downside was a very rude couple complaining constantly about boring food and poor service which was strange as we had a completely different experience given the same service on the same day - will put this down to different standards but will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank capetownjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Luigi also viewed

 
Hout Bay, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing