We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay”
Review of The King's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The King's Place
Ranked #30 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The apartment at the King's place was great and spacious, truly home away from home,superb service and have everything you'll need when on holiday for self catering,and will definately stay there again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 332Meo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Owner at The King's Place, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

We are so pleased that you had a good stay! Look forward to having you stay with us again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 59 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

The accommodation was of a very high standard and the owners were extremely helpful. It provided a tranquil place to stay which was close to Cape Town but also had plenty to keep us occupied right on the doorstep. We really enjoyed the local trip to see the seals; the Sunday craft market and the Bird and Monkey Sanctuary.
The house was well equipped with many thoughtful extras.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 869AmandaJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Owner at The King's Place, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thanks for the lovely review! I'm so pleased you enjoyed our local attractions as well as our accommodation!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The kings Place was great, we stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment / house with the extra bunk beds. Everything was just great. Tennis Court, pool, and kids swing, and horses, and fishpond, all kept the kids busy and in the open air.

The unit is very well equipped with full bathrooms and comprehensive kitchen, and and full satellite tv in the lounge.

The host was very helpful and friendly and the daily cleaning service very good and efficient even helped with clothes washing.

Great venue for a weeks family holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pasop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Owner at The King's Place, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at The King's Place and had a good holiday! Hope to see you all again for another refreshing!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We booked quite late so spent one night in the Pool Room then a further 4 in the Apartment. We must also caveat our comments by saying that we stayed in July so it was Winter. the Pool Room was cold. The Apartment was fine; still a bit cold, as the heater was quite small. However, it was spacious, reasonably well equipped, apart from an ancient fridge,and had lovely views. Kim and Ian were good hosts and their son sorted out the TV for us in an instant. Location was nice and just about the right place for exploring Cape Town and the Cape Region.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiscerningWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Owner at The King's Place, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thanks for the review! We certainly did have a cold and very wet winter which seems to be dragging on. So sorry that you weren't warm enough. We would have gladly given you another heater should you have mentioned it. Thanks for mentioning the fridge in the Apartment as we have replaced it and it looks so much better. Thanks again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The Kings place is an ideal spot to stay if you are visiting Cape Town. Hout Bay is ideally located between Camps Bay and Constantia and it's also only 20 minutes away from the City Bowl. Kirstenbosch gardens and Newlands are also close by.

The rooms are very neat and the kitchen is equipped with all the utensils you need to become the next Jamie Oliver. If you need some assistance, the family and the staff are always there to give you a helping hand.

The view from my room gave me a lovely sight of a great part of the estate.

What I especially liked, was the tranquility of the place. No traffic to disturb you in your sleep.

To summarize, at the Kings place you are in very good hands.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdbbrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Staying at the Kings Place was a wonderful experience. The beautifully equipped and spacious Valley house 1 was tastefully decorated and luxurious. We had a lovely time and thoroughly enjoyed the pool and tennis court.

The location is ideal for a restful holiday, being in a quiet area nestled between the mountains. Yet it is within easy reach of all the great things to do, from the shopping and night life of the city, to swimming with penguins, or just driving around the coast to enjoy the scenery. Not to mention Table mountain, Kirstenbosch Gardens, The Stellenbosch region etc. etc…

Our family had a thoroughly fantastic time and would like to thank the Kings and the staff there for making us so welcome in their accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Owner at The King's Place, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thanks for the lovely review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at THE KING'S PLACE and in beautiful Cape Town! Hope you'll be back soon?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Generous was the word that echoed in my head throughout my marvellous stay at the Kings Place. From the expansive gardens brimming with folliage to the magestic mountains nothing about this venue is minimal. The beautifully furnished rooms are expansive with the best linens and comfortable couches luring you to rest and refresh in style. It is self catering and the well stocked kitchen inspires you to create meals. It is open to the living area and the views beyond.
The facilities available on site kept the family entertained, and the location made touring days a pleasure. Whether we went north or south we were rewarded with a breathtaking destination close enough to provide a days excursion. For the family and I it was a perfect base to cuddle up in, or return home to. Out hosts, Kim and Ian King, were very helpful, friendly and full of good information. We formed friendships and created fond memories that will bring us back.
WELL DONE Kings... you have created a Royal Treat for travellers needing a good blend of comfort and class.

Room Tip: All the suites are wonderful. It depends on your group size only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
159 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
578 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brightwater Lodge
Brightwater Lodge
#24 of 59 in Hout Bay
58 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hout Bay View
Hout Bay View
#26 of 59 in Hout Bay
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Place

Address: Valley Road, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range: $94 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King's Place is a small holding set on 8 acres of prime agricultural land in the lush seaside valley of Hout Bay, Cape Town. We are surrounded by magnificent gardens with views of the back of Table Mountain, the Constantiaberg and the renowned Chapman's Peak. We have 5 self-catering units: 2 one bedroom cottages, 2 x 2 bedroom, 1 x 5 bedroom and an 8 bedroom house. It is the perfect venue for a couple, a family reunion, a small conference or business group or a family getaway. All accommodation at The King's Place is self-catering. It is a luxurious country experience enhanced by carefully selected furnishings and fabrics. Each place has its own entrance and private BBQ area. There are 2 large swimming pools and for the energetic, there is a tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The King's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King's Place Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing