We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fish on the Rocks

Fish on the Rocks
Ranked #14 of 62 Restaurants in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not the best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stopped by Fish on the Rocks for lunch and we ordered the Calamari and chips. Price wise, R38 wasn't too bad, but the calamari was way too tough & oily. I opened the packet and the calamari was just lying there in the oil. A bit disappointing as we had heard such good reviews. The restaurant was quite busy, but the staff seemed to be on their toes and were very friendly. The location is beautiful and we sat outside and enjoyed the sunshine and the fresh sea air.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BrigNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    123
    46
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dodgy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I went by several times and the air literally stinks. I mean who wants to eat fish when the air smells of rotting fish. Sure it might not be the restaurant but I did go round the back and saw some rats!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ILO111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“the best fish and chips....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

If your visiting Hout Bay, and your feeling for some traditional fish and chips- this is the place. rolled in newspaper, just lie in England - and it's great valiue for money. Service is quick, food is good quality, portions are generous. you can sit around the benches avaialble outside, or you can sit on the rocks , looking out to see. The seagulls fly above your head, hoping to catch a nibble.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fiona65_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Beach, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Who can go to Hout Bay and not have fish and chips here. I made the mistake though of having Snoek. Did not realise it is very boney. The hake and calamari were good though. Great location

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank glasgowgirl5060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Seychelles
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good fish and Chips but a straight forward chippy cafe.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stopped here for lunch on a drive from Cape Town along the coast to Fish Hoek bay. The fish and chips we had (cod) was recommended to us by a friend who visited prior to us. Food was good however we were served the food in brown paper bags and traditional newspaper. Looked like everyone was getting the same bags. Service was non existent outside and we had to find our own bench. It's basically a fish and chip shop cafeteria style outside and not a restaurant as we had to also pay up before receiving and waiting for our order. It is by the sea and wind was howling and we were cold so had to find a bench a bit protected around the side of the building. On leaving we were harassed by what appeared to be a homeless person for some spare change, notwithstanding all that admittedly the fish and chips was quite good but I have had better. A good stop if your hungry on the move otherwise nothing special.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SurfersTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish on the Rocks also viewed

 

Been to Fish on the Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing