We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location; friendly people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hout Bay Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here for several nights and planning on coming back soon after a tour in the winelands. Can't beat the location (right downtown/on the harbour of Hout Bay), the view (again, right on the harbour) and the people. Owner Sarah is always super helpful and looking out for the guests. Plus you can't beat this place for value.

Room Tip: The higher your room is the better views you'll have. Sounds obvious but with a terrific view li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 150 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at Hout Bay Backpackers for 8 days and we were very impressed. We have stayed at a lot of Backpackers in the country and not one of them could compare to this one. The views are amazing, the rooms are in an excellent condition, and Sarah was extremely helpful, friendly and very informative! The beach is across the street and there are some very nice restaurants as well as a grocery store within walking distance. The setup of the rooms are very nice, as a couple we were in a room with a double bed and 3 single beds, with an on suite bathroom. Very clean and spacious. The deck has some absolutely breath-taking views and there is a communal kitchen with cooking facilities and fridges. Definitely the best backpackers we have ever stayed in!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shalane_Trouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Im sitting looking out across the bay , probably one of the most prime views of the Hout Bay harbour, from an unexpected place- a backpackers.
A 5 star hotel would kill for this panorama.
The water in the bay looks like a giant bath tub its so still today, and the towering cliffs in the background are so perfect they are almost like a movie set, possibly for something like Gullivers travels as the overall feeling of looking out onto the dinky boats in the bay and the massive mountains, is an interesting sense of scale and im just waiting for Gulliver to land his giant foot in the bay and send a Tsunami to the shore.
This venue provides the perfect setting for someone such as me -studying sailing and travel writing, its a safe haven to rest in at night on crisp white clean linen , which brings a sense of hotel to backpacking bunk rooms.
The communal lounge is simple but cosy, and spacious, and with that incredible backdrop the dstv and facilities such as board games and internet, are hardly needed
There was often a real family feeling to the evening get togethers around the telly , where dinner is eaten - although a lovely stoep with tables and chairs is also available.

The bathrooms are spacious,clean and well kept, and provided many a great hot shower after a long lazy sunset walk along the sandy beach - which is literally 3 minutes walk across the road

This is like a little B and B by the sea, with the view of an Attenborough wildlife movie - and i highly recommened staying here on your trip to Cape Town.
Caroline von Broembsen

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolineBCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Hi. I spent my last four days in Cape Town...above all in the Hout Bay..just to relax myself.
The Hout Bay BP is very friendly....i feltmyself like at home.
There's a kitchen, you can cook and eat in front of the ocean and of the beach!!!
With the Golden Arrow busses he trip to city center takes no more than 45minutes....but the trip itself worth it.
Yes....if ou don't want to stay in the center that's a good solution.
Regards
Massimo from Italy

Room Tip: That's a dorm room and bigger rooms. All rooms are in front of the beach!!!just on the other si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Massimo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

After a 18km hike from Gardens to Hout Bay we got to Hout Bay Backpackers. R140 per person, per night in peak season was very affordable. We did not spend alot of time in the room at all, because there are so much to do. And it all is walking distance(don't worry, I don't mean 18km). The beach is across the street, harbor is about 400m as is the City Sightseing Bus stop, then another 200m is a small market and the look out restaurant wich is alot of fun when theres a band playing. About 500m after that is the Bay Harbor market, where one can find the perfect suvenieur and also enjoy some great food and swollow it down with a beer or cocktail(tip - wait for the closing sales). Then the town where you could find some shops, pharmacy and yet another market is about 1km away. They have some great contacts at the backpacker aswell, including a taxi service that come pick you up at the packpackers and drop you off anywhere in cape town. I only spend one night with my girlfriend, but have already started to talk my friends in heading back for a weekend. We stayed in the double room, and it is very spacious and has a very classy bathroom.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nico D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Wonderfull place right at the beach. Double rooms are very spacious with shower and bath tub. Very safe place to be. Friendly and helpfull people. Bus stop for the red Doubledecker is just a few steps away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxx x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed here two nights and had a great room, en suite, and well worth the money.
The friendly owner gave us good advice about where to eat etc. As a base to explore the area south of Cape Town, this was great for us

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
503 reviews
1.5 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hout Bay View
Hout Bay View
#27 of 59 in Hout Bay
108 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cap Serein Guest House
Cap Serein Guest House
#14 of 59 in Hout Bay
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hout Bay Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hout Bay Backpackers

Address: Corner of Harbour and, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Hout Bay
Price Range: $34 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hout Bay Backpacker Lodge is situated a stone's throw away from Hout Bay Beach with uninterrupted views of beach, habour and the majestic Chapman's Peak. The Lodge is quiet and comfortable, just 20 minutes from Cape Town and on the public transport route. Our hostel suits budget travelers wanting to experience Hout Bay (restaurants, harbour, beach, Seal Island, World of Birds, etc), discerning backpackers requiring a base from which to hike Table Mountain National Park, bike Chapman's Peak, surf Llandudno and travelers interested in township tours and meeting volunteers working on community development projects.The dormitories all have en-suite bathrooms, sleeping a maximum of 6 people per dorm, we also have 4 en suite private rooms and the communal lounge area has DSTV and a large fireplace. Knowledgable staff are on hand to advise and assist in planning a vast range of activities for you, including: surfing, fishing, diving, sailing, hiking trails, top restaurants, wine and township tours, pubs and if that's not enough, there's loads of live entertainment!Loc al volunteer and language courses are also available. Dune's Lodge, Hout Bayis a 3 star lodge run together with Hout Bay Backpackers and comprises of 4 luxury en-suite rooms with DSTV and tea and coffee making facilities. All rooms lead out on to a private wooden deck with views of Hout Bay beach, habour and the majestic Chapman's Peak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hout Bay Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hout Bay Backpackers Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing