We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hout Bay wins :-)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hout Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hout Bay Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Arco
1 review
“Hout Bay wins :-)”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Hi. I spent my last four days in Cape Town...above all in the Hout Bay..just to relax myself.
The Hout Bay BP is very friendly....i feltmyself like at home.
There's a kitchen, you can cook and eat in front of the ocean and of the beach!!!
With the Golden Arrow busses he trip to city center takes no more than 45minutes....but the trip itself worth it.
Yes....if ou don't want to stay in the center that's a good solution.
Regards
Massimo from Italy

Room Tip: That's a dorm room and bigger rooms. All rooms are in front of the beach!!!just on the other si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Massimo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    27
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
29
40
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2012

After a 18km hike from Gardens to Hout Bay we got to Hout Bay Backpackers. R140 per person, per night in peak season was very affordable. We did not spend alot of time in the room at all, because there are so much to do. And it all is walking distance(don't worry, I don't mean 18km). The beach is across the street, harbor is about 400m as is the City Sightseing Bus stop, then another 200m is a small market and the look out restaurant wich is alot of fun when theres a band playing. About 500m after that is the Bay Harbor market, where one can find the perfect suvenieur and also enjoy some great food and swollow it down with a beer or cocktail(tip - wait for the closing sales). Then the town where you could find some shops, pharmacy and yet another market is about 1km away. They have some great contacts at the backpacker aswell, including a taxi service that come pick you up at the packpackers and drop you off anywhere in cape town. I only spend one night with my girlfriend, but have already started to talk my friends in heading back for a weekend. We stayed in the double room, and it is very spacious and has a very classy bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nico D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Wonderfull place right at the beach. Double rooms are very spacious with shower and bath tub. Very safe place to be. Friendly and helpfull people. Bus stop for the red Doubledecker is just a few steps away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxx x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zermatt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed here two nights and had a great room, en suite, and well worth the money.
The friendly owner gave us good advice about where to eat etc. As a base to explore the area south of Cape Town, this was great for us

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

A few months ago I experienced a very disappointing stay at Hout Bay Backpackers, and consequently posted a Tripadvisor review to that effect (28 December 2011). Hout Bay Backpackers immediately responded to our complaint and invited us back to their establishment. Early in October 2012 we took them up on the offer and returned to the Backpackers which had since moved and taken up prime location in Hout Bay with stunning views across the bay. The new double room that we were accommodated in was bigger, with a beautiful modern interior and an absolute joy to stay in. The private ensuite bathroom was huge with a lovely spacious shower and bath. This time, there were no issues with hygiene and cleanliness - which were the main topic of our complaints after our previous stay.
Well done Hout Bay Packpackers - on a gorgeous new establishment, and excellent customer service. We wish you the best of luck with continued success!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrazyCat_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parow North
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I went through with a friend stay stay for a night. The room was great! We shared the twin room. The service is friendly and great. It exceeded my expectations. I would recommend this to anybody. The location and view is also brilliant! Got a large balcony leading from the room with a view straight onto the ocean. Sarah even made arrangement for us showing up late after going to a wedding for the night. I would go back any time even just for a break.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potchefstroom, North-West, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed in the double bed room with it's own bathroom and the facilities is great. What you get for what you pay is amazing!

It is close to Hout bay harbor, walking distance and the view awesome.

Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zelldra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
0.7 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#10 of 58 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Flora Bay Resort
Flora Bay Resort
#6 of 23 in Hout Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hout Bay Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hout Bay Backpackers

Property: Hout Bay Backpackers
Address: Corner of Harbour and, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hout Bay Backpacker Lodge is situated a stone's throw away from Hout Bay Beach with uninterrupted views of beach, habour and the majestic Chapman's Peak. The Lodge is quiet and comfortable, just 20 minutes from Cape Town and on the public transport route. Our hostel suits budget travelers wanting to experience Hout Bay (restaurants, harbour, beach, Seal Island, World of Birds, etc), discerning backpackers requiring a base from which to hike Table Mountain National Park, bike Chapman's Peak, surf Llandudno and travelers interested in township tours and meeting volunteers working on community development projects.The dormitories all have en-suite bathrooms, sleeping a maximum of 6 people per dorm, we also have 4 en suite private rooms and the communal lounge area has DSTV and a large fireplace. Knowledgable staff are on hand to advise and assist in planning a vast range of activities for you, including: surfing, fishing, diving, sailing, hiking trails, top restaurants, wine and township tours, pubs and if that's not enough, there's loads of live entertainment!Loc al volunteer and language courses are also available. Dune's Lodge, Hout Bayis a 3 star lodge run together with Hout Bay Backpackers and comprises of 4 luxury en-suite rooms with DSTV and tea and coffee making facilities. All rooms lead out on to a private wooden deck with views of Hout Bay beach, habour and the majestic Chapman's Peak. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hout Bay Backpackers Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing