We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location for a wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside Estates

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riverside Estates
Ranked #13 of 61 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location for a wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

Having recently visited Riverside I feel that it is just the perfect venue for a wedding. It’s approx. 20 min out off Cape Town but really feels like another world. The main building is a beautiful white, well maintained Cape Dutch Building. There is a pool and a little pavillion in the beautiful lush garden. The staff are so friendly and helpfull and I would feel very comfortable arranging my wedding at Riverside.
So if you are planning to get married – Riverside Estates is definitly an option....

Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nora8005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Nora,
Many thanks for your kind words in October 2010. Although 3 and a half years later and well into 2014, we would like to take the opportunity to wish you and your family a blessed 2014. I am sure you are married by now, if not, please come and see how we have brought along changes to make Riverside one of the most beautiful wedding venues. Also on your next visit you are entitled to a discounted rate, simply quote our conversation. Best Regards
Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    69
    15
    4
    9
See reviews for
73
97
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

The gardens by the main house are gorgeous and my children loved watching and playing with all the beautiful butterflies.
The staff are very friendly and helpful
It was my birthday weekend and I felt very spoilt and totally relaxed in the beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank corinne003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Corinne,
Many thanks for your kind word in 2010 about Riverside. Although way into 2014 we would like to take the opportunity to wish you and your family a blessed 2014. We have since you have been here, made a number of changes which enhances the overall experience. We have acquired new mattresses, moved our restaurant ect. Please know that on your next visit you are entitled to a discounted rate. Simply refer to our conversation. Best Regards
Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

This is our second stay at Riverside. What a wonderfull retreat! The rooms are roomy and beautifully decorated. The staff are very competent and friendly. Chris, Johan, and all the staff are wonderful hosts. I absolutely loved breakfast. We attended a wedding at Riverside. We fell in love with the place and the atmosphere and my daughter has booked Riverside Estates for her wedding in Jan 2012. We cannot wait to introduce Riverside Estates to our future Scottish in laws. The open top bus runs from just outside the gate to Cape Town. There is also no shortage of high quality restaurants in the area. A visit to South Africa wil not be the same without a stay at Riverside Estates.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hpret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Hpret,
Many Thanks for your kind words in 2010. Although way into 2014 we at riverside would like the opportunity and wish you and your family a blessed 2014. Chis and Johan sadly left Riverside in 2011 back to their hometown. Please know that whenever visiting Cape Town again you are entitled to a discounted rate, simply quote our conversation.
Best regards
Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTown
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

We held our annual conference at Riverside Estates and found it to be ideal for our needs.
The location is excellent - just 20 minutes from our office which are situated in the Centre of Cape Town.
The staff were friendly and went out of their way to offer outstanding service.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aimcapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Aim,
Many thanks for your kind words about our conferencing in 2010. Please take not that we have conference special this season of less 10%. Please contact our reservations team and refer to trip Advisor. We wish you and your family a blessed 2014. Best regards Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pringle Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

Wonderfully peaceful. Love waking up to the sound of birds. The views from my room were spectacular. I'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Pierre,
Many Thanks for your short review in 2010. I would like to take this opportunity and wish you and your family a blessed 2014. please take note that on your next visit to Riverside Estates, you are entitled to a loyalty discounted rate, simply email reservations and refer to Trip Advisor. We are looking forward in seeing you again. Best regards. Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

The services at Riverside Estate is excellent, the food brilliant and the location is perfect. !!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DewaldCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Dewald,
Many Thanks for your kind words in 2010. We at Riverside want to wish you and your family a blessed 2014. please take note that on your next visit, that you are entitled to a loyalty discounted rate, simple email reservations. Best Regards. Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pretoria
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

This was my seventh stay at Riverside Estates and as usual they make me feel as if nothing too difficult could not be done for me. This is a must for any visitor to Cape Town. You are on the doorstep of World of Birds. The Cape Town tour bus route start right outside the gates of Riverside estates. What a way to start a visit to Cape town !

The rooms are elegantly furnished, the swimming pool could not be more beautiful and the view from there (as well as from the room) is spectacular. Monica, Chris, Johan, Monica(2nd) Susan etc are the most magnificent hosts, with nothing being too much trouble and welcoming us into their guest house. It is a true oasis for the body and soul.

The level of service is unbelievable and everything is done without you having to ask..
All that is done as a matter of fact. So friendly. Lovely lounge and breakfast area with outdoor deck. Welcoming host made good recommendations and bookings for eating and routes.
Really a class of its own. I highly recommend this Guest house for people looking for a luxury stay that welcomes families.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommiepta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Tommie,
Many thanks for your review in October 2010. We would like to take this opportunity and wish you and your family a blessed 2014. Please take note that on your next visit to Riverside that you are entitled to loyalty discounted rate, simply email reservations. Best Regards
Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
2.0 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tarragona Lodge
Tarragona Lodge
#12 of 61 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 61 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.7 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 61 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cap Serein Guest House
Cap Serein Guest House
#14 of 61 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Estates

Property: Riverside Estates
Address: Cnr of Valley & Welbevind Road | Opposite World of Birds, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Estates 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Estates, an elegant guesthouse, function and conference venue, an established haven of tranquillity, friendship, music and joy. We are located in Cape Town's jewel, the beautiful valley of Hout Bay. Our core values include eco-sustainability, the greening of our establishment, the upliftment of our staff and the empowerment of our Hout Bay Community. We invite you to this place of enlightenment, of romance, of guests who become friends. Experience the magic of Riverside Estates today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Riverside Estates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Estates Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing