We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Place”
Review of Riverside Estates

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverside Estates
Ranked #13 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
“A Charming Place”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

It took us a while to find your place since it was dark. When we arrived we were intrigued by the warm reception, the noble old sphere and architecture and in the morning by the wonderful garden and the spacious pool. I think next time we spend some more time at R.E.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Frank,
Many Thanks for your review above. Hout Bay has no street lights and this makes it difficult to see at night. Luckily we have the huge light box with our name on the street side. It makes us proud to prove to our guests that they are important and to make them feel a home away from home. Please take note on your next visit to Riverside Estates you are entitled to a loyalty discounted rate, simply email reservations. We are wishing you and your family a blessed 2014 and look forward in seeing you again.
Best Regards, Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    69
    16
    4
    9
See reviews for
74
99
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2014

An overall feeling of a byegone era - warm, welcoming, rich in detail. Set in imaculate gardens with two pools, the Cape-Dutch architecture was enchanting. The staff were friendly and caring. The room was spacious, comfortably decorated and clean with a very comfortable bed. The red open-top tour bus stops outside the gate and the surrounding suburb was enchanting for my morning jog with mountains all around and lovely old trees in abundance. The breakfasts were excellent and the in-house meals we enjoyed as part of our conference were outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Rob,

Many Thanks for your review on our guest house. It was a pleasure hosting the group. The mind mapping method of conferencing is very exciting. We are ready for the next group and cannot wait to see the response after being used to old boring conferences. We are looking forward to your next visit and to meet your wife. All of the best to you and your family.
Regards Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muizenberg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This was the most relaxing experience I had in years. The service was excellent. The staff was most accomodating, friendly and respectful. Its a place that I would recommend to any of my friends and family members who is looking for serenity and just simply wanting to chill. The room/s were beautifully layed out, omplementing the surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shamilah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Shamilah, Many Thanks for your beautiful review. There is something about our little paradise nestled between the two mountains and the the ravine that makes it tranquil. We really appreciate your kind words and look forward to your next chilling out session. Please know that you are entitled to a loyalty discount, simply email Angela at reception. Best regards
Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

There was such a warm welcome in the hotel, I was pleased right away. Tim was giving me some good advice what to do/where to go and I had such a great time and enjoyed each place he recommended a lot - fantastic days.
The whole team was very kind, the breakfast is great, I liked the charme of the old buildings. It's a good place to relax! Unfortunately I had not enough time for enjoying the nice garden with the pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Alexis,
Many Thanks for your review on our little paradise. It is our aim to keep guests satisfied and it is so inspiring to us having this feedback. On your next visit you are entitled to a discounted rate and hopefully can fit in 1 or 2 more days to lounge in the sun next to the pool.
Best regards, Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Lovely quiet and restful place, beautiful drive to get there, friendly and helpful service exceptional, homely atmosphere makes it feel like home away from home. Wouldn't hesitate to return some day....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Good day Cherryl Anne,
Thank you for your beautiful review on our guest house. A blessed 2014 to you and your family. On your next visit to Riverside, please mail Angela at reception as our return guests receives a loyalty discounted rate.
Best regards, Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2014

What a special spot! Beautifully maintained rooms and gardens, the owner could not have been more helpful, friendly and interested in making our stay as comfortable as possible. Big thumbs up for the breakfasts too! The perfect weekend getaway - and check out Hout Bay market over a weekend too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Allie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hi Allie,
Many Thanks for your great review on Riverside. We really are blessed to stay and work in this paradise and it is fulfilling to hear that our guests are satisfied. This is why we are here. A blessed 2014 for you and your family. On your next visit you are entitled to a loyalty discounted rate. Simply email Angela at reception.
Best regards, Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The warm welcome by Angela set the tone for our weekend stay. Riverside Estates has very friendy accomodating staff (and dogs), beautiful gardens, sparkling pools, comfortable rooms and good breakfast.It would have been great had there been a halaal option.Hopefully next time...We had a memorable and absolutely relaxing stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hi Munira,
Many thanks for your awesome review above. Angela is definitely a great hostess and very caring. The dogs misses you too. You have a lovely family and with your next visit we will have a halaal option for you. Also remember with your next visit that you are entitled to a loyalty discounted rate.
Best regards
Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
1.7 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
146 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 59 in Hout Bay
248 reviews
2.6 mi away
Poseidon Guest House
Poseidon Guest House
#8 of 59 in Hout Bay
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cap Serein Guest House
Cap Serein Guest House
#14 of 59 in Hout Bay
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Estates

Property: Riverside Estates
Address: Cnr of Valley & Welbevind Road | Opposite World of Birds, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Estates 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Estates, an elegant guesthouse, function and conference venue, an established haven of tranquillity, friendship, music and joy. We are located in Cape Town's jewel, the beautiful valley of Hout Bay. Our core values include eco-sustainability, the greening of our establishment, the upliftment of our staff and the empowerment of our Hout Bay Community. We invite you to this place of enlightenment, of romance, of guests who become friends. Experience the magic of Riverside Estates today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riverside Estates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Estates Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing