We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Hout Bay is with Robert at Riverside”
Review of Riverside Estates

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverside Estates
Ranked #13 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
1 review
“The only place to stay in Hout Bay is with Robert at Riverside”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I took part in the Kundalini teacher training at Riverside in September 2013 and I felt so taken care of and supported by Robert and his staff. The place is just so beautiful. I would recommend this accommodation to everyone. Eating lunch on the back porch of the cottage next to the stream that borders the property--i never wanted to leave. Hello to Jag one of the resident dogs whose head is as big as his heart. Thank you Riverside!

Room Tip: The cottage by the stream. It has a fireplace and private little pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HLeeE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Sat Nam Hanna Lee! Thank you for your beautiful review. I have posted an awesome photo of Jag on FB saying hello to all the yogis. I hope you are settled back in Berlin and planning your next trip to SA. Yogi tea has become a menu item and the cinnamon smell is still lingering. We look forward to your next visit.
Regards
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    69
    16
    4
    9
See reviews for
74
99
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Anyone wanting to stay in a beautiful, tranquil setting when visiting Cape Town, should definitely consider Riverside Estate. Riverside Estate is really amazing. I highly recommend this venue. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fotini B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Good day Fontini,
Many thanks for your review. The vibration of the yogis are still present and the dogs run every now and then to the hall to just make sure you guys aren't still there. Do remember our offer to all friends and family visiting. “It's not life that matters, it's the courage you bring to it.” - Yogi Bhajan. We look forward to your next visit.
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I've been to Cape Town before and loved it but this trip was even more unforgettable as we stayed at the Riverside Estate in Hout Bay--just 25 mins from downtown Cape Town. This boutique hotel provides amazing personal attention to the guests, our large group felt so welcome and cared for. They were able to fulfill each and every request we made from taking my mobile phone to be fixed, taking us into the Hout Bay market, bringing us extra blankets and hot water bottles on chilly nights, the list goes on and on. My family have lived internationally for 20 years and we have stayed in all levels of hotels--this one is a stand-out. Can't wait for another opportunity to visit South Africa again, will definitely be sure to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plumvelvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Lisa,
Many Thanks for your beautiful review. It was great having you and all the other yogis as our guests. The energy still vibrates in the soil - and yogi tea has become a menu item. We will definitely see you and your family on your next visit. Love from the staff.
Regards
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed at the Riverside Estate for a retreat in September 2013. The staff, location, facilities and food were outstanding. I could not recommend this place more highly. Easy distance to Hout Bay too.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Andrew,

Many Thanks for your review. It was truly a honour to host the group. The energy is still present and so the cinnamon smell too. We are looking forward to the next school. Also please come and visit when you are in Cape Town again and experience our summer menu. It was lovely meeting you.

Love and regards from our team.

Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Riverside is most definitely one of those places that ensures that you will return. Rob and his staff were great and our group (10 people) were treated like royalty. Thanks guys. See you soon (hopefully)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charloos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Charl,

Many thanks for the review. It was great having 10 Rugby supporters visiting. The staff are still talking about all the jokes and fun they had with your group. Be sure that on your next visit you are entitled to 10% discount. Greetings to all of the guys.

Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Riverside. The estate is beautiful and tranquil, the staff are friendly and helpful and the place is well run and organised.

I felt well rested on the day of my departure and would return there any time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marinda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Marinda,

It was a pleasure having you at Riverside. In spite of the scary storm you did not even wanted to be moved around to an upper room. You were truly a blessing and tonic to the staff. We look forward in you visiting again.

Many Thanks
Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our first time at Riverside was June 2012 for our wedding night. We stayed in the loft and it was such a lovely experience. Angela and Cobus were very helpful and friendly. We decided to stay again this year for a night in celebration of our first wedding anniversary and we will definitely be coming back every year to celebrate. The honeymoon suite was FABULOUS! Cobus was a STAR , breakfast was really tasty and such a warm experience overall. The little touches of lavender in the room is excellent. The rooms are beautifully decorated and so inviting. We cannot wait to come back again!

Room Tip: The loft was rustic and cosy and the Lotherien (I think it's called) was warm, spacious and perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Lana,

Many Thanks for your review upon your last visit. I am so grateful to know that guests enjoy themselves at our guest house. Cobus and Angela are truly a blessing and find their pleasure in serving guests. Also please know that on your next visit your are entitled to a 10% discount.

Best Regards
Robert Veldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
1.7 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
146 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 59 in Hout Bay
248 reviews
2.6 mi away
Poseidon Guest House
Poseidon Guest House
#8 of 59 in Hout Bay
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cap Serein Guest House
Cap Serein Guest House
#14 of 59 in Hout Bay
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Estates

Property: Riverside Estates
Address: Cnr of Valley & Welbevind Road | Opposite World of Birds, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Estates 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Estates, an elegant guesthouse, function and conference venue, an established haven of tranquillity, friendship, music and joy. We are located in Cape Town's jewel, the beautiful valley of Hout Bay. Our core values include eco-sustainability, the greening of our establishment, the upliftment of our staff and the empowerment of our Hout Bay Community. We invite you to this place of enlightenment, of romance, of guests who become friends. Experience the magic of Riverside Estates today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside Estates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Estates Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing