We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family outing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverside Boutique Hotel
Ranked #12 of 60 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The admin is the best I ever encountered with all the guesthouses we've stayed. They were so understanding when I needed to change the booking 3 times. The staff are super friendly and very helpful and make you feel like a star guest!
The breakfast was very nice and even though my girls were a bit 'busy' at times, they made it so special for them too with flowers and treats. And I had the best croissants I even tasted in my life!!!
The whole guesthouse and self-catering units are very beautiful and peaceful. I also loved the dogs that run around the grounds!
This is definitely a place I will recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: The self-catering cottages are ideal for a family stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

Hello Jolene,

Thank you very much for your review. Our reservation department is definitely having an increase! It is uplifting to us all when guests appreciate the service and an inspiration to work even harder. Please remember on your return visit you are entitled to a 10% discount. It was a pleasure for us to have you here.

Best Regards
The Riverside Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 255 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed at Riverside Estates for our anniversary, and had a great night away. We stayed in the honeymoon suite, which is huge and has a lovely bath. The decor is old fashioned which suits the hotel. The heater was on when we arrived and the welcome from the staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds of this hotel are beautiful, very green and established. It would make a lovely wedding venue. The breakfast the next morning was a bit cold, but the croissants were fresh and made up fo it. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite was lovely. Depending on when you travel ask for a room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

Dear Ali,

Many thanks for your review. We sincerely appreciate feedback and to know what our guests needs are. We have replaced the containers for breakfast and be sure your breakfast will be warm next time. (The plates are warmed up as well) We will contact you sooner to your next anniversary and will treat you all over again. Many Thanks for choosing Riverside to celebrate your special day.

The Riverside Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

we had the good fortune of staying over at Riverside Estates,
what a lovely place, a little hidden gem!
we were treated like very important guests form the moment we arrived, everything was just great, we enjoyed the facilities, the closeness to amenities, and friendly helpfull nature of hosts too
thanks a lot, we will be back

Room Tip: tree house is a great family unit, everything you can think of catered for in one visit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karlsenekal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Dear Karl,

Many Thanks for your review. Please contact me with your next visit to qualify for our discounted rate for return guests. We are also opening our restaurant in October and whenever you drive along the Atlantic seaboard, please come and view our changes.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I highly recommend Riverside Estates. Thanks to all the friendly staff especially Cobus for their hospitality. What a beautiful place....it's just magical.
This has been our second visit and both times it was amazing; we will definately be going back for more!
Compliments to the chef - breakfast was wonderful.
Keep up the great work :)

Kind Regards
Mr & Mrs A Davids

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amiena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Dear Mr & Mrs Davids,

We certainly appreciate your review. Many Thanks for complimenting our chef. We are opening our restaurant soon and will keep you posted. With your next visit you'll be able to have luncheon and dinner! Remember that return guests are entitled to discounted rate.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband and I bought a voucher for one night at guest house. We had a lovely time. The staff were AMAZING and the service was exceptional! We got the idea that there are renevations taking place - we would love to visit again once all the renovations are complete. We loved the lounge are with the fireplace - we spent a lot of time there relaxing with a glass of wine, reading our books with the roaring fire in the background. My only complaint was that the Queen sized bed was in fact twin beds pushed together and they were different heights... which made for an uncomfortable night's sleep. Besides that, the estate is gorgeous and we would love to visit in the summer to make full use of the beautiful grounds and swimming pools.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Dear Craig & Candice,

Thank you very much for the lovely review. We really appreciate this and will never know how to better ourselves if we don't have responses from our guests. You slept in Room 3 where the base and beds have been replaced. We are also opening our restaurant in October and the bar with fireplace even made more cosier. Please contact me on your next visit and remember that you are entitled to a discounted rate.

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We had a wonderful time here. We really enjoyed it very much. The first thing that really impressed me, was the very nice and clean smell in our room.
Everything we needed, and more, was in the room and bathroom. We had a fire place in our room, and they gave us more than enough wood.
The main lights did not work properly in our room, but with breakfast, when the power tripped twice, I realized that there must be a power problem. I am sure they will sort that out. Luckily there were 3 lamps in our room which we used. We did not need more light, the main lights in the room is not really necessary, so our room’s main lights problem did not bother us at all.

We had a very, very nice buffet breakfast and the coffee is great.

Reception staff and breakfast staff were very, very friendly, helpful and nice - thank you for that!

A Summer vacation at Riverside Estates can only be nice, with the lovely swimming pools close to the cottages, and the forest area's and feeling the place have. I am so glad we discovered this lovely place.
Would love to visit in summer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveladvice11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Dear Traveladvice 11,

Many thanks for your review about your stay. Apologies for all your electricity problems you've experienced. We have attended to these and all in order. The garden is absolutely awesome in the summer. We are also opening our restaurant this October and it would be great if you drop by whenever you are in Hout Bay again. Please remember that you are entitled to a return guest discounted rate with your next visit.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We were staying in Orchard cottage and the room was perfect. The staff were very friendly and helpful and there was a great atmosphere. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSW222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Dear Justin,

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. Please note that whenever you visit again that you are entitled to a return guest discounted rate. This summer our restaurant will be open and the gardens are beautiful.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
3.2 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
512 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
157 reviews
2 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 60 in Hout Bay
570 reviews
1 mi away
Tarragona Lodge
Tarragona Lodge
#11 of 60 in Hout Bay
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cap Serein Guest House
Cap Serein Guest House
#15 of 60 in Hout Bay
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Boutique Hotel

Address: Cnr of Valley & Welbevind Road | Opposite World of Birds, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa (Formerly Riverside Estates)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range: $105 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Boutique Hotel, an elegant Conference, Function and Wedding Venue, an established haven, friendship, music and joy. We are located in Cape Town’s jewel – the beautiful valley of Hout bay. Our core values include Eco-sustainability, the upliftment of our staff and the empowerment of our Hout Bay community. We invite you to this place of enlightenment and romance. A place where guests become friends. Experience the magic with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Boutique Hotel Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing